We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8000 Washington Boulevard, Jessup, MD 20794   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Jessup
Perry, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A great night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here just one night but will return if ever in the area. Great beds, great tv, great staff on site. Rooms were clean and ready when we got there, they welcomed us and overall, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI187MGR, Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay and experience here with the Red Roof, in Jessup, MD. It is not only our job but most of all our pleasure to insure that you have a pleasant, comfortable stay, with friendly helpful people to serve you.

It is customers like you that make it so easy for us to do our jobs! We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.

Thank you,
Raneeka B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    11
    10
    6
    14
See reviews for
9
10
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fruitland, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel rates well below terrible.. No A/C, no towels in room, dirty everywhere, room phone unusable, clock broken, fan hummed louder than a Mack Truck, and no service from staff! Told room not changable! Last trip here.... and the shame is that this was, once upon a time, a great Red Roof. Red Roof needs to employ "Undercover Boss" at this one or change this location to a
"hourly rental" location which seemed to be the case anyway given the "all night" activity. Definately not a businessman's location or anywhere you would want to spend with family along!

Room Tip: I have spent many nights at Red Roofs.. usually always a good stay. Just NOT this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI187MGR, Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to express your feelings about your stay at our hotel. Please know that was not the typical service at our hotel, I certainly apologize for the inconvenience’s you experienced during your stay with us.

Please know that I have addressed every single one of your concerns and they have been corrected, I would like to invite you back to stay with us again.

Please reach out to me at the property directly, I will be happy to make the reservation for you.

Thank you,


Raneeka B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jessup hotels

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Once in room we noticed cigarette hole in bed spread. When we tried to close bathroom door the metal molding on the carpet was bent up off floor so much door wouldn't close. Only ice machine in 3 story motel was next to office on 1st floor. No coffee machine.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I booked my stay at the Red Roof Inn Columbia, MD location on line, I was apprehensive at first because I have heard such horror stories. But I gave it a shot ... and boy was I on the money!! My reason was due to relocation to MD from Nashville, TN and needed a temporary place until my house was complete for move in..We stayed for 6 weeks !!!!. I nor my spouse can say anything negative about our stay!!..... The staff ( all of the maids, maintenance, well just let me say the entire staff day and night ), were friendly, helpful and so accommodating to our every need, anything extra we needed was provided. We were always greeted with a smile!!!
The room was spacious and clean, it was non smoking and it DID NOT smell like an ashtray !!! plenty of lighting and the linens were fresh and very clean. We had a King bed and it was very comfortable and the pillows were new and firm not stained or out of shape. The TV was a bit outdated but it served it's purpose. Free HBO !!
I had a Fridge and Micro in my room, had plenty of work space and the Internet was FREE a plus in my book!!!

Ms. R. Boulhassane has a wonderful staff working in her hotel and I would stay here again if the need were to arise, I would recommend the facility to anyone visiting or staying in the Baltimore area, the location is easily accessible to the I- 95 corridor, there are plenty of nearby attractions and restaurants including Dave's Diner right next door. The Columbia Mall is also nearby, all in all, a great location.

Kudos to Red Roof Inn,
Sincerely,
Mr and Mrs Velez-Lorenzo

Room Tip: Back rooms are non smoking and no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Very good location for work reasons getting back and forth in the Balt/ Wash DC area. RRI is a standard class hotel, but the one bed and work desk was perfectly functional for my needs. Easy in and out to the freeway. Great service by the front desk attendants. Cleaning staff was very good too. Hotel is old and showing wear, but a good value overall

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI187MGR, Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you for your response, We look forward to you returning and hope that we will be able to better serve you on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This Red Roof is convenient to I-95, Baltimore/DC expressway, US1 and military/DOD locations, We needed a place untilour new home was ready and this suited our needs well. Close to several reasonable restaurants and a washer dryer on site. The fridge/microwave worked really well for a hotel. Rooms were clean but hotel is a bit older and not fancy.

Room Tip: 5 day rates are a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI187MGR, Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
I would like to take the time to thank you for your response about our property, We look forward to your return and hope you remain a customer of ours, so that you may see some of the great changes we will be making in the up coming year.

Thanks for you remarks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011 via mobile

This hotel, or perhaps I should say motel as the doors to the rooms are all on exterior hallways, was ok to sleep. It isn't the best neighborhood and quite often there were empty beer bottles in the walkways and stairways. The ladies at the front desk seemed annoyed at our presence and were rude when we had to "disturb" them yet again bc there was no power to our room. The room itself was semi clean, as the sheets had stains and the fridge did not look to have been cleaned out after the last guest left. Would not stay again, this hotel makes me realize you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade

Address: 8000 Washington Boulevard, Jessup, MD 20794
Location: United States > Maryland > Jessup
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Jessup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Jessup
Jessup Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.