We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Columbia East - Jessup

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Columbia East - Jessup to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Columbia East - Jessup
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7900 Washington Boulevard, Jessup, MD 20794   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Jessup
Cleveland, Tennessee
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

all great here from staff to rooms to food,good value, restaurant bar excellant, will stay here anytime in area, clean comfortable, quiet, rooms,modern rooms and furniture,lots of free parking big flat screen tvs,

Room Tip: rooms on backside quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicolumbia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East - Jessup, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thanks for the great feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you our way!

Regards,

Jack Warner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    27
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
17
10
3
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Va Beach, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I travel to Columbia a couple weeks per month. I've stayed in all of the comparably priced hotels in the area and the Holiday Inn Colubia is the best. The front desk staff are always friendly and professional. Carmen is wonderful! The hotel renovations have added a lot to the property. I will return!

P.S. The Keurig Coffee Makers are a great addition!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicolumbia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East - Jessup, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words. I am glad you enjoyed the changes made during renovation as we are excited that we are able to share them.

Be sure to ask for a 4th floor room to continue to enjoy the Keurig coffee makers and let us know your favorite flavor so we can have it waiting for you next time!

Regards,

Jack Warner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was the third Holiday Inn on a week-long trip to look at colleges for my oldest. It was, by far, the most outstanding chain hotel suite I have ever stayed in. The suite was once connecting rooms, one of which had been converted to a living room. Two doors to the hallway, two bathrooms(!), two independent A/C units, a pull out sofa bed, two chairs in the living room, a lounge type chair for two in the bedroom, a king sized bed, and a refrigerator. The best part is that the connecting room doors were still there, so the rooms could be completely separated. All this for only slightly more than a standard room.

The room, and the entire hotel for that matter, was very clean. The gym was very well laid out with up-to-date equipment. There was some road noise noticeable (but not objectionable). After the first night we set the A/C so that the fan stayed on and it effectively hid the traffic noise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicolumbia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East - Jessup, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for the kind words regarding the suite and our property. We recently added these suites earlier this year in our renovation and I am glad to hear that it lives up to your expectations! Thanks again for the great feedback.

Regards,

Jack Warner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I was in Columbia on business and chose to stay at the Holiday Inn.
Room service was excellent, and the breakfast buffet was delicious!
Mu room was newly renovated, nicely decorated, and priced affordably.
I didn't want to lug my laptop along, so I used one of the computers in their business center.
The week before my stay we had a lot of power outages. I work for an Agency that provides group homes for intellectually disabled persons. The power was out in all three homes, so everyone stayed at Holiday Inn. The staff treated our individuals with respect and patience.
Say hello to Mike at the front desk. He's very nice! :)

Room Tip: Note - there wasn't a spa at the hotel but I could not indicate N/A in my rating. I was on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicolumbia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East - Jessup, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words! I am so happy we could take care of you and your other visitors. Please come back at any time.

Regards,

Jack Warner
General Manager

P.S. I will make sure Mike hears your hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Newly renovated. Our room was squeaky clean. Bedding very comfortable. Staff was very friendly and polite, responded quickly to our every need. Highly recommend the new jacuzzi suite. Worth every penny. Great TV, large bathroom with plenty of counter space, Keurig coffee maker was a big plus for me (especially with the provided disposable travel cup with lid!), iHome w/ alarm. Truly a pleasant stay. We didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Honestly, there isn't a bad room at this hotel. Being that it was recently renovated, everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicolumbia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East - Jessup, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Wow! Thank you for such kind words! We really appreciate you taking the time to let everyone know about your stay. I hope to see you again when you travel to the area.

Regards,

Jack Warner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westville nj
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

VERY nice room.. VERY clean. Staff was okay. However, I was disappointed that the breakfast was not included in our room stay. For $108 for 1 night - I think that the breakfast should have been thrown in. However, not here. However, the re-do was very nice. Definitely stay here if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicolumbia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East - Jessup, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you were able to enjoy our newly renovated rooms. We do have packaged room rates that do include breakfast, but unfortunately our standard rate does not. However, as always, kids do eat free.

I do hope to see you again in the near future!

Regards,

Jack Warner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Moriches, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband, son and I stayed here for 2 nights (actually checking out this morning).

The hotel was recently renovated with the exception of the lobby, which is the next phase. Having said that, the lobby is clean and doesn't show any huge signs of wear. We would never know it was in need of updating.

One night was in a room with two double beds. It was a good size, larger than your average hotel room. Certainly enough space for three people to move about easily. Had a mini fridge which and coffee maker both of which are great to have when traveling. The alarm clock was an iHome which has a dock for your iPod. The bathroom had plenty of space for toiletries, tub/shower combo and was very spacious well lit and nicely decorated. Second night we were upgraded to a king suite which was fabulous. One room has a king bed, bathroom, desk, 46" flat screen TV, mini fridge, small sofa, and Keurig coffee maker. The other room has a second bathroom, pull out sofa (very comfy) coffee table, two chairs, flat screen TV and a desk. By far one of the nicest, roomiest and comfortable accommodations we've seen in a hotel of this class. I'm a very light sleeper and we heard no noise from adjoining rooms or hallways.

The hotel has a small work out room, enough to get a decent cardio workout and a pretty good size outdoor pool. There is a small area in the front of the breakfast room where you can purchase snacks, coffee and cold drinks. They also have a bar, which we didn't patronize.

Huge kudos to the hotel staff. Everyone, from the General Manager, Jack Warner to the maintenance crew was a top notch professional. It's clear they understand what excellent customer service is about. We had a few minor issues and not only were they dealt with immediately, the general manager, Jack Warner stepped in personally to do whatever it took to make us happy. Christy at the front desk went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. Upon check in, the night manager, Lynn was especially helpful accommodating our request for a quiet room. She blocked one room, but after seeing that a large bus tour was checking in for that area, she changed us to another room. She also gave us a long list of local restaurants and suggested a place, Timbuctu, that had one of the best pina coladas I've ever had and amazing crab cakes. When we changed rooms we noticed there was no alarm clock. Asked for one and someone was up here in minutes not only to deliver it, put took the time to plug it in and set the time for us. There was a very minor issue with the air conditioning unit in the first room and again, the technicians were there within minutes to make it right. When we passed the guy who did the repair in the hallway, he stopped to ask if the problem was fixed to our satisfaction. They really go out of their way to be sure the guests are happy.

Breakfast was decent, with fresh fruit, cereals, eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, assorted muffins and danish, yogurt, oatmeal juice and coffee - enough selection that everyone could find something they liked.

I would say the only downsides are no air conditioning in the elevators or hallways (I"m sure that's to conserve energy) and it's not easy to get out of the parking lot. You have to turn left and u turn to go into Columbia or anywhere else. If you miss the main entrance you have to u turn and come all the way around again.

I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I didn't think the double beds were large enough to comfortably sleep two adults so go for a kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicolumbia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East - Jessup, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for such kind words. We take great pride in our service and I am glad you were able to see us at our best. I hope your radio station kicks off in the area - we all need some positivity on the airwaves! Hope to see you again when you are in the area.

Regards,

Jack Warner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Columbia East - Jessup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Columbia East - Jessup

Address: 7900 Washington Boulevard, Jessup, MD 20794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Jessup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Jessup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Columbia East - Jessup 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-time recipient of the prestigious TORCHBEARER AWARD and honored 17 times with the QUALITY EXCELLENCE AWARD, HOLIDAY INN COLUMBIA is a premier full-service Hotel located centrally in the Baltimore-Washington Corridor. Columbia Mall is 5 miles away, Arundel Mills is just 3 miles east. We are a central suburban hotel choice for the Baltimore Convention Center, National Aquarium, Camden Yards, Ravens Field and Science Center--just 10 non-stop miles away. Historic Savage Mill, Ellicott City, Elkridge, Laurel and Columbia are nearby. The Hotel serves the area's largest companies for lodging, conference and catering. Columbia Gateway Office Park is 2 miles west. Leisure guests enjoy the many shopping centers (including Snowden Square and the new Gateway Overlook) and cultural attractions. All rooms feature free high speed wireless Internet access, 2-line speakerphones, iHome ipod/mp3 clock-radios, upgraded amenities, coffeemaker and satellite TV. The combination of a location right in the middle of all regional activities and award-winning quality and service makes HOLIDAY INN COLUMBIA the right choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Columbia East - Jessup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Columbia Hotel Jessup
Columbia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Columbia East - Jessup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.