We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for a conference!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3501 University Blvd E, Hyattsville, MD 20783 (Formerly The Marriott Inn & Conference Center, University of Maryland University College)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast + Free WiFi
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hyattsville
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great venue for a conference!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great place for a conference in Maryland or near Washington, D.C.!
Located in the splendid College Park of Maryland University, this new hotel is a LEED-certified green venue, designed to minimize its footprint, the rooms are cozy with a big TV, modern bathroom, and WiFi with good speed.
Well equipped gym, comfortable Chesterfield style sofas on the living room for informal meetings, spacious conference rooms and meeting rooms, restaurant and bar with very good food, beautiful green areas for a walk, convenient free shuttle service, and free transportation to the Metro station where you can be at Washington, D.C. in no time.
But the talk of the conference I went was the excellent banquet that we ate every day: the pan seared salmon filet, the Waldorf salad, the ravioli, the juicy steak, the cookies, the cupcakes, and the water with fruits were delicious.

Room Tip: Rooms on the conference building are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCamp1, Manager at College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review! I am so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud of our LEED Certification, so thank you for mentioning that. The Conference Center just had a major “face lift/renovation” and so many of our guests are enjoying the new facility – the guest rooms, meeting and banquet space, fitness center, The Common restaurant/pub, etc. I have passed along the wonderful things you said about the banquet food – our hosts will love hearing that you loved it! I hope that you have an opportunity to stay with us again in the not too distant future. If you are local, perhaps just stop by for lunch or dinner in The Common, attend one of our tailgates prior to going to a University of Maryland football game, or just come and relax for the weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    46
    31
    19
    5
See reviews for
33
11
11
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was at a conference at the University and it was the only place within walking distance. One problem is that there isn't anything within walking distance of it. The hotel has a restaurant which is OK but expensive. Otherwise there is the food court at the student union--during the summer on the weekend, it was mostly closed. I needed some ibuprofen- the hotel had packets of 2 tabs for $2.(!). The student union had some small overpriced bottles of it and I also bought something from their limited snack food supply. No other shops of any kind are nearby. So if you don't have a car and don't want to pay for a taxi, be sure to bring everything you need and plan to eat at the restaurant there. (or McDonalds at the student union if you find it open).

The room was spacious and pleasant. The wi-fi in the room was good and at no charge. Service wasn't great. I wanted to rest in my room one afternoon and found it hadn't been made up- around 3:00. . I called the service number and the person breezily told me that housekeeping worked until 5:30 and she was sure they'd get to me, which they did, around 5.

All in all, I'd say that if you have to be on campus for something, it's an OK place to stay, but I'm not sure why you'd want to stay there otherwise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCamp1, Manager at College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on our hotel. Your comment regarding your room and housekeeping is not the type of service we strive to provide. Please be assured this information was directed to the department head for follow-up. I apologize this happened and can understand the inconvenience, especially since you wanted to rest. We have had many great reviews on our new restaurant, The Common; I am sorry that it was not satisfactory for you. You are correct in saying that there are no other restaurants within walking distance of the hotel; however, we do have shuttle service that will take our guests to any establishment within a five-mile radius of the hotel. Shops, restaurants, etc. are close by so if you do not have a vehicle, we can still get you there. Again, thank you and we do hope you come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late (10PM) Thursday evening for a 3 day conference/3 night stay.
No one offered to help with our bags.
There were 20-somethings running around the lobby, drunk, in 80s get-up and diapers?! (Seriously, I couldn't make this stuff up if I wanted to)
We were quickly given a room, in the new wing, which I had read was better than the old. The room (433) was quiet, and that is about all it had going for it.
The room is VERY small. One king bed. No more than 3 feet on any side. The bedding seemed to be covered in plastic beneath the sheets, making for a strange experience. The bathroom is a glass room in the bedroom. There is a sliding glass door separating the bed from the toilet. The door is very loud when it slides. The shower drian runs the length of the shower and is also very loud. The whole thing is very strange for America... The only thing I know to compare it to is a friends place in Singapore.
Perhaps OK for one person attending a conference, but absolutely a disaster for two people (evening significant others, or married couples) and especially if you're on different schedules. The bathroom light luminates the whole room. It created tensions where there were/are none. Overall the lighting is terrible for doing makeup.
The closet was too small for hanging clothes and closing the doors -- suit shoulders on standard hangers rubbed and got slammed in closet.
A very poorly constructed layout of a room.
Rooms have coffee, iron, minibar, hairdryer, and standard Marriott toiletries. The room was well cleaned daily.
There is a shuttle to the metro that is convenient.
The gym is well-equipped and offers individual tvs (though you need your own headphones) and fruit, though I didn't observe water in the gym.
Again, on checkout, no one offered to help with my bags, even as many staff observed me struggling with four suitcases and 3 large umbrellas.
I was not at all satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCamp1, Manager at College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to submit a review on our property. We like to hear from our guests; all comments, whether good, bad or indifferent, are taken seriously. I am truly sorry that your experience was not satisfactory. Please be assured that the information you provided to us has been passed on to the department head in each area. We constantly strive for the best customer satisfaction, but in your case, we did not succeed. If you would like to speak with me to provide any additional information or comments, please call the hotel’s main number, 301-985-7300. Again, I apologize for your experience and we certainly do hope you return some future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

the hotel is on the university of Maryland campus. there are two buildings- one has been redone, the other has not. Our room was on the 4th floor of the main building...it had access to the concierge floor upstairs. Our room was old, tired, stained carpets and drapes. the concierge floor is not worth the money. the eggs were inedible in the morning. the room itself was dreary, dilapidated and washed out. the whole thing needs a remake
there are NO washers and dryers there, even though the website says there are. they took it away in the other building. the onsite gym does not have individual tvs and as a woman I felt very unsafe there at night or early am. the locks to the side door and the gym door were not installed yet. can you say creepy???

Room Tip: maybe in the renovated building but the rooms are smaller than the old building. there is no pool b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCamp1, Manager at College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to submit a review on the Marriott Inn and Conference Center, UMUC. As you mentioned, there are two buildings; the Conference Center and the Hotel. It sounds like your room was in the Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the Concierge Lounge; typically guests rave about the hosts servicing the lounge, the menu selection, etc.
I have passed your comments on to our Rooms Operations Manager. No washer/dryer – we did have one in the Conference Center, but it was removed during renovation; these will be reinstalled very soon for guest use. This can be a nice amenity and I can certainly understand you missing it. Our new Fitness Center is state of the art, although it seems it did not come up to what you prefer. The entrance to the side of the building = you are correct, those doors are not locked as it is a public entrance. The doors on the fitness center can only be unlocked by using a guest room key. The Conference Center’s renovation is 90% complete. The Hotel will undergo renovation beginning early next year. We do hope you return to our hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My family stayed for a wedding and overall the stay was very nice and pleasant. Staff was warm and friendly (always greeted with a smile) and when it came to room locations preferences they were incredibly accommodating. The room rate was more than reasonable and the rooms were fairly nice considering we were in the older, not yet renovated building.
We came back to our room one night to find our AC had shut down. An engineer was in our room within minutes. He made a solid effort to fix it but after 10 minutes and no success he offered to have us switch rooms. Five minutes later we were completely moved into a new room located just a few doors down from our original room.
The shuttle driver, Lawrence, was funny, smiley and incredibly personable. He made a point to say hello, wave and ask if there was anything he could do for us throughout the rest of our stay every time we saw him.
However, there are some basic service fails that the hotel could really benefit from working on with their staff.
Front Desk: (1) My husband and I approached the front desk to inquire about some hotel amenities and local shopping options. While we were speaking with the front desk agent, a woman with a clip board approached the desk. Instead of acknowledging this woman and advising that she (the desk agent) would be able to assist her in a moment, the desk agent stopped helping us and proceed to assist this other women without even excusing herself from our conversation. The desk agent spent about five to ten minutes assisting this other woman - the desk agent also took and made phone calls during this time - while we stood by patiently. I don't care who this other woman was, the way the desk agent conducted herself was completely unacceptable. (2) We approached the desk on a separate occasion to find the front desk agent (a different girl from the last encounter) with her mouth full of food! This is a basic rule, food and drink should never be consumed in the front of the house by staff!
Restaurant: We went to the restaurant for breakfast, our server was actually over-attentive. I'm sure it came from a good place, but he came over to our table and asked me three different times if I wanted my plate removed. Every time I paused to sit back and sip my tea for a minute, there he was assuming I was done eating. The third time he came over (even though I was planning on eating the half a sausage and a couple pieces of potato left on my plate) I let him take the plate because I was so annoyed with having to tell him no, again. It should also be said that plates should never be removed from a table unless everyone has finished eating - my husband was still working on his omelet. It's considered to be rude and can make those that are still eating feel rushed.
Banquets: On our last day there was a buffet breakfast for all the wedding hotel guests. The banquet server overseeing the hosted breakfast was dis-organized and a bit rude. When we arrived, half of the tables didn't have napkins or silverware on them. When we sat down with our plates there was one new set of silverware on the table. My husband went to reach for it and the server took the silverware from him and told him that he couldn't use that set as it was not placed there for him. The server then proceed to take place settings off other tables (which were also only partially set) and gave them to us and a couple other guests that joined our table. The server continued to take place settings from other tables instead of just resetting tables completely as people finished their breakfast and left. Also during the breakfast, a friend of ours went to buffet line and grabbed a small box of cereal. As she was about to pick up a cereal bowl the banquet server rushed to her side and proceeded to tell her that she needed to use a bowl for the cereal and that "those there" (as she pointed to coffee mugs that were on the OTHER SIDE of the table) were for coffee and tea... thank you captain obvious. She also disappeared for about 20 minutes during the breakfast leaving tables dirty and unset. And when she finally reappeared, she pushed her way through a group of wedding guests standing by the doorway without even an "excuse me". It should be said that she also could have walked around them as there was room to do so. Wish I knew her name because she was awful and is in serious need of retraining or just needs to be let go.
With all that said, if we ever find ourselves in Hyattsville again, we would consider staying there again. But we do hope that the hotel takes the above into consideration as it will help to improve the overall guest experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCamp1, Manager at College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. I am happy to hear that the problem with the AC in your room was taken care of quickly (even though you had to move to another room). Thank you for the nice comment about Lawrence, one of our shuttle drivers. Yes, he is a personable host here at the hotel, all guests love him and we receive many great comments about Lawrence. I noted the three areas of the hotel (front desk, The Common restaurant, and banquets) that you critiqued. Please be assured that I immediately passed on all these comments to the department head of each area, and everything is being looked into. Again, thank you for taking time to provide me with much valuable information/comments. I appreciate it and hope you return to stay with us again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is essentially on the University of Maryland campus, with no other businesses in the area, and is comprised of two separate buildings. We were there for a wedding, and half of our group stayed in the lobby side building, with the rest in the conference center side. The conference center side features small, but very nice modern European style amenities. The other rooms were nicely appointed standard double, or king rooms. It rained during our stay, so not having conne Ted buildings meant occasional jaunts in the rain, but if that was the worst thing that we experienced, we did well. Parking was free, and the biggest plus for me was Starbucks coffee served in the dining area. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCamp1, Manager at College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back with us very soon! Enjoy the remainder of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed for conference with husband. Room was renovated but very small, probably part blocked for group. Bed and sheets need the updating, bathroom accommodating. Management needs to step up training at bar and resturant to handle conference crowds. Meals were good and priced for DC area. Location probably best for the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCamp1, Manager at College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time to submit a review on our property. I appreciate your observations both on the room accommodation and our staff in The Common Restaurant/Pub. Please be assured that this information has already been passed on to the department head in each area. We hope you come back to stay with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 3501 University Blvd E, Hyattsville, MD 20783 (Formerly The Marriott Inn & Conference Center, University of Maryland University College)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hyattsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hyattsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Setting the standard for Maryland hotels, the College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center maintains a strong position for its Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) as the first LEED-certified lodging in the United States and welcomes guests with opulent accommodations that include VIP suites and 40,000 square feet of high-tech event space. Whether traveling for business or leisure, guests will find the eco-friendly College Park, Maryland hotel's attentive service and lavish amenities a reflection of its dedication to provide travelers with a remarkable hotel experience. Luxury bedding ensembles, Plug-In technology, complimentary wireless Internet access and room service are standard in all guest rooms and suites with Concierge Level accommodations available for even greater comfort. Guests are also pampered with easy access to the University of Maryland, the FDA's White Oak campus, downtown Washington, D.C. And some of the country's most treasured monuments and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn & Conference Center, University Of Maryland University College Hotel
The Inn And Conference Center, University Of Maryland University College
Marriott Conference Center Hyattsville
College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center Maryland/Hyattsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.