We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access to UMD.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3501 University Blvd E, Hyattsville, MD 20783 (Formerly The Marriott Inn & Conference Center, University of Maryland University College)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hyattsville
Downers Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Easy access to UMD.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from a stay and visit at the university. Hotel is the most convenient to the university. It is clean and comfortable,not a lot of flair. Restaurant is a bit overpriced for what you get. Very limited menu. Room service would have been better. Staff is polite but not overly accommodating.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    49
    32
    19
    5
See reviews for
34
11
11
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branchport, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I go to this Inn three times a year for school obligations. I have never had a bad experience. Some of the older rooms are small, but adequate (I'm only one person). I have found the beds to be very comfortable. There are two "sides" to the conference center. Try to get a room in the main section (where you check-in). This side seems to have newer, more updated and a little more spacious rooms. Also, ask for an inside room (courtyard) the street side can be quite noisy at night. The lounge is nice to hang out, chat and grab a burger.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentone, Alabama
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is a good place to stay but it is typical of a large hotel where everything costs. The beds are great but the rooms are small. You have to pay to park but the internet is free. Nice 42 inch TV.

Room Tip: Beware the rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The "cozy" room are very cramped. My room (211) had an exhaust fan for the kitchen in the roof directly outside my window. In house restaurant had limited menu. Mostly used for conferences and no other hotels or restaurants are within walking distance. On the plus side, it is on a bus line and in a quieter area than the hotels along Hwy 1 and has more character than the ones in Greenbelt.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This hotel gives a nice impression from the outside and foyer. It is a little odd in the fact that there are two buildings and I stayed in the one opposite the one with the check-in desk (with the Starbucks which was a nice touch) so can only comment on rooms on that side.

The room was small with a small double bed. It was dark and smelt funny (not in a good way). I ended up spraying it with perfume to try and make it tolerable. The bathroom was small, clean and functional but the air vent emitted an odd intermittent buzzing noise throughout our stay which was very irritating.

Another member of our party, staying in a different room, woke up to find a large bug staring at him on the pillow. This completely freaked me out and resulted in very poor sleep the next night. The icing on the cake was being woken up at 8am on Easter Sunday by the sound of the driveway (between the two buildings) being water blasted clean. Was this really necessary first thing in the morning on Easter Sunday???? We were furious and complained to the front desk staff who didn't care and even found our anger vaguely amusing.

Other members of our party stayed in larger rooms and some suites in the other building and appeared to have had a good stay.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel. If you must stay, pick a larger room in the building with the check-in de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The facility itself is lovely! Very clean and well kept. It even has an Art Gallery in the lower level which I enjoyed in my spare time. There is a Starbucks and a small restaurant that looks pleasant, although we did not eat there. The rooms are clean and well maintained, but very small. We had gotten spoiled by the Holiday Inn Expresses on the way here (large rooms, full breakfast included in the price of the room, etc.), so we had expected a little more since we paid a lot more. We stayed here since others in our NATS group were also staying here. It's conveniently located on the university campus, although its a bit tricky to get to the hotel entrance. You have a little walk to the Parking Garage, which may be unpleasant on a rainy day. There is no free breakfast here, but you can order breakfast through Room Service. The only real complaint I have is that there is a strange sound coming from underneath our room (Room 517). At first I thought it was the maid turning a vacuum cleaner on and off, but it's been going non-stop all day. We aren't near the elevator, so I have no clue what this noise is. I am certain we will be hearing it rumble all night. I don't know if the other rooms in this corridor can hear this, but if you book a room here, and you're sensitive to noises, then don't bother with Room 517 (or possibly any room on the left side of the building)! A steady hum would have been much less noticeable than a surging pitch that rumbles on and off. The bathrooms are also very small and have very little counter space, so you won't be able to spread out your toiletries or makeup! But if you hate driving in the crazy city traffic to get to UMUC, then this certainly is the place to stay if you're willing to give up a few amenities for the convenience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We just stayed at this hotel while visiting the University for a campus visit. It was adequate, as the title of this review states. It is located right on the border of the University. As other reviews state, you can walk to campus, but it is not thru a pedestrian friendly area--- across parking lots and it is not well marked with signage.

Staff was fine-- pleasant enough when checking in but not real forthcoming with information about nearby amenities. No complimentary breakfst was offered, so I inquired about what was available-- the restaurant onsite had a $20pp breakfast buffet I was told. We ran out and bought donuts for morning instead. The room was clean. We had to request more toiletries and towels as a family of 5 was staying in the room. We got them without a problem. Loved the toiletries-- Bath and Body Works Aromatherapy Orange Ginger. We had also ordered a rollaway bed. This was not there when we arrived and we had to call to get it brought up. The room was quiet. We got our wake up call as requested.

2 odd things we noticed: 1.) when we arrived back to our floor (3rd) on Sunday evening after doing some sightseeing at about 10:30 pm, an overwhelming stench of onions was everywhere. It was not just a little bit onion-y. It was crazy onion-y, as if some onion processing plant was exhausting into the hallway. Really gross. and 2.) the lounge at the facility (Oracle, I think), which advertised "late night bites and drinks," turned my husband and I away at the door at 11-ish pm on Sunday night when we went over to share a cocktail without the kids. There was a large group still seated in the lounge that was showing no signs of departure, but we were still told rather abruptly that we would not be served.

Overall, we would stay again when visiting campus. That would be the only reason.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCamp1, Manager at College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
We appreciate you taking time out of your schedule to review our property. Yes, we are very close to and within walking distance to the University of Maryland campus and as such there is not a residential area around or between us; the only way to walk there is through the campus. We do not advertise or offer a complimentary breakfast, however, we do have Starbucks for something quick and light or our Garden Restaurant. We don’t offer a breakfast buffet every morning, but will do so if our occupancy is high and also if we know that there is something going on at the Campus. We realize that folks will want to get in and out quickly and a buffet is the best way to accommodate. Very unusual, the onion-y smell you detected. You did not mention whether or not you reported it to anyone; if that were the case, perhaps someone from our Security Department would have been able to try to identify where the odor was coming from. Please accept my apology. I am very sorry that you were not able to enjoy a cocktail in our Oracle Lounge and were turned away around 11:00 p.m. As this is not our standard, we are looking into some recent Sundays to determine when this may have happened and will take corrective action. Thank you, again, for taking the time to send us your comments, observations and concerns. We do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 3501 University Blvd E, Hyattsville, MD 20783 (Formerly The Marriott Inn & Conference Center, University of Maryland University College)
Location: United States > Maryland > Hyattsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hyattsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Setting the standard for Maryland hotels, the College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center maintains a strong position for its Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) as the first LEED-certified lodging in the United States and welcomes guests with opulent accommodations that include VIP suites and 40,000 square feet of high-tech event space. Whether traveling for business or leisure, guests will find the eco-friendly College Park, Maryland hotel's attentive service and lavish amenities a reflection of its dedication to provide travelers with a remarkable hotel experience. Luxury bedding ensembles, Plug-In technology, complimentary wireless Internet access and room service are standard in all guest rooms and suites with Concierge Level accommodations available for even greater comfort. Guests are also pampered with easy access to the University of Maryland, the FDA's White Oak campus, downtown Washington, D.C. And some of the country's most treasured monuments and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn And Conference Center, University Of Maryland University College
The Inn & Conference Center, University Of Maryland University College Hotel
Marriott Conference Center Hyattsville
College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center Maryland/Hyattsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.