We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time I've been disappointed at a Courtyard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 International Circle, Hunt Valley, MD 21030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Hunt Valley
Westchester County, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First time I've been disappointed at a Courtyard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had stayed at this Courtyard several years and found it very satisfactory. This time, one a quick overnight stay, it was average at best. The room was OK -- I had asked for a king bed but only two bedded rooms (queen-sized) were available, I much prefer the design of the king-bedded room.The beds were comfortable, and the room was not the problem although it could use some updating (and I agree that the towels were thin). First, there is no longer complimentary coffee in the lobby. I always found that a nice welcoming feature of Courtyards. Next, the restaurant has been redesigned. In this case, it meant ordering from the service bar, then having the food brought to a table where you wait with your order flag displayed. Coffee (Starbucks) is served in paper cup, not a mug. And there no longer seems to be a buffet option. Last, I found a long hair on my French toast. When I took it over to the service person at the food bar, it turned out the young man was the hotel manager. At first he did not seem to know what to do, but then he rallied to apologize and offer a refund. When I mentioned that my wife had ordered French toast, he seemed flustered until I pointed out that she had lost her appetite too. So he refunded both orders but not the cost of the tea my wife left behind or my coffee. I hope he realized he needed to head to the kitchen to make sure the cook had put on a hairnet. Since I had been told the hotel was nearly sold out, I was surprised that it was not better staffed and that the earnest young man who was the manager had not been trained to handle this sort of situation more smoothly. While I will continue to stay at Courtyards, I will not been using the Hunt Valley one again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LKyle221, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Good Afternoon Jack800,
I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay especially the faux pas with the French Toast. I do apologize. Please note that my staff and I have used your candid feedback to reiterate the importance of following the standard procedures plus have additional training. While the Bistro is still relatively new to us and we continue to learn, we understand that comfort and a great product is still most important to our valued guests. It is my sincere wish that you do return and find that we have made tremendous improvements. Thank you for your time and comments. Laura Kyle, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    37
    9
    4
See reviews for
23
11
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just fine - easy parking and proximity to strip mall with restaurants. Welcoming, clean, functional, gym, pool, WiFi, good fast breakfast service and usual Courtyard arrangments for food and snacks. Internally-facing rooms face directly onto others across a courtyard; balcony probably quite nice in summer. Room well-equipped, comfortable and well -equipped...except no room safes. Nothing otherwise to complain about, and really just does the job well without being memorable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LKyle221, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Good Day TheRollingM....
Thank you for your nice comments about the hotel and the area. It pleases me that you were satisfied with your stay while here. Just to let you know, we do have safety deposit boxes available at the front desk for your use, next time....
Have a wonderful day,
LKyle221
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our second stay here and it was, as before, comfortable and affordable. The redisigned lobby was very nice and the staff both at the hotel restuarant and front desk very friendly and accomodating.
The rooms need a makeover. The towels are pretty flimsy for a Marriott and the bathtub had rust around the drain. The room itself seemed tired and the mattress not the firm comfortable mattress we are used to at Marriotts. This seemed to be a foam type and was soft, especially on the edges.
They obviously spent time and money on the lobby and restauarant-we had breakfast and it was very good, nice service and good price. They now need to extend the refurbishing to the rooms themselves.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Have stayed here many times but this was the first trip since the renovations. Lobby is much more modern with new cafe. Nice to be able to get meals throughout the day. Good breakfast, prices moderate. Rooms basically the same, very nice and clean.
The staff is excellent! It's always been pleasant but it seemed to me that since the renovations, all had be asked to go out of their way for their customers. From the front desk to the cafe to the housekeeping staff, all were friendly, outgoing, very accommodating. A+!
The only negative I've ever had here is that you can hear people in the next room, even if they are just speaking at normal volume. The heating/ac system is quiet, which is nice, but can't be used to drown out noise.
Great location. Have stayed in several different hotels in the area but this is so nice because it's off the beaten path yet close to everything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This past weekend we visited the area for Basketball Holiday Classic.
The hotel lobby was newly renovated! The Marriott group sales person (Ola- corp office) and the Hotel manger on site were very helpful and personable.

When using GPS note that you need to plug in "Cockeysvilles" MD for the address and not Hunt Valley

Checking in... "Sonika" ( I believe her name was) was great, she was quick, professional but warm and welcoming!!!!

Our rooms (3rd floor) ...typical of the courtyards were clean and neat. Hallways and carpet clean.

The ice machine area had a door which made it great for NOT hearing the ice machine in the middle of the night. ( our room was a few doors down....never heard not one ice cube drop....smile).
king size bed overflowing with pillows and Free internet was available in the room.

The pool small but nice, and the fitness room ...OK for 3 people ( all the machines were in working condition)

The New lobby had the large touch screen computer ...large TV area and computer center
and of course the new style Bistro and sitting areas.

The inner courtyard seem to be nice ( due to the snow and cold weather I didn't pay much attention to the details there.)

Our group had a private room for breakfast, which was nice ( a little tight...but OK)...the staff was great and keep everything replenished!
.....One complaint...they failed to cover the tables were we sat to eat, I felt like we were in a grade school cafe with hard brown tables.... but other than that the serving tables were covered and well stocked.

The surrounding area was great..a Large mall and eateries down and the street.
The hotel was set back on a single street, which made it good, not a lot of traffic, but one block away was a very nice mall area that had more than enough stores and places to eat ...that could satisfy everyone ( young and old alike).

Outback was our first stop... then The Green Turtle which was located in the Mall , but had a exterior entrance near Dicks ( back upper parking area of the mall)
The green Trutle also had a great BOGO coupon which came in handy...( buy one get one ) It was a sports bar, family friendly though!

About 10 minutes away was the Townson Mall in Townson Maryland ....another great place if you have the time.

During our stay it started to snow ( for the remaining portion of our stay there).
The hotel was mindful of the wet snow and areas surrounding the hotel.
It actually became rather cozy ...our little Winter wonderland weekend at the Holiday classic!

As a Marriott type family...this hotel was what you should expect from a Courtyard Marriott! I would recommend this area hotel for families and groups.

( Note the pics you may see on the website maybe older pics of Courtyards by Marriott....the bedding is different -upgraded... white and tan and lobby new)

Room Tip: 3rd floor facing inner courtyard....ask for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We traveled through the Towson area one night during a long-distance bike ride to fight childhood cancer, and this location was very accommodating to our group. The hotel was undergoing renovations at the time so no meeting rooms were available, which concerned me at first, but they let us use the breakfast room at night to make up for it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We recently stayed in a king suite and it was a pretty nice stay with some correctable issues.

The good- Newly remodeled rooms are nice, the room was clean the front desk staff was nice.
The bed was super comfortable.

The bad- duvet cover was dirty and although they are remodeling the hotel they seem to be using the old stock of sheets. They look worn and have those black marks on them.
The bathroom is odd and small. The toilet and tub/shower are in a very small space with a door that opens inward making it very awkward.

The really bad- At 8 am the housekeeper and a maintenance worker started having the LOUDEST and longest conversation ever right outside our room. Along with clanking and banging things around This lasted until 10:45 am. So our sleeping in the comfy bed was over. The management should address this. One of the things you look for in a hotel stay is quiet and you shouldn't be disturbed by the hotel staff. They shouldn't be holding conversations in the hallway. This tells me they're distracted and are not doing the job they should.

Room Tip: King suite is spacious and worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley

Address: 221 International Circle, Hunt Valley, MD 21030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hunt Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Hunt Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley hotel is located in the suburbs, north of downtown Baltimore. Easily accessible via I-83 to Baltimore's downtown, this hotel is in easy reach of the Baltimore Convention Center, Baltimore Inner Harbor, Raven's Stadium and Camden Yards. This hotel has earned the prestigious Energy Star label from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for its efforts to conserve water and energy and protect the environment. In addition, the Courtyard Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley's rural setting is convenient to Oregon Ridge Park, the Maryland Masonic Home/Bonnie Blink, as well as, the Northern Central Railroad Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley Hotel Hunt Valley
Courtyard Hunt Valley
Courtyard Baltimore Hunt Valley
Hunt Valley Courtyard
Hunt Valley Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.