We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Score!.... for this Courtyard.....It turned out to be....... a nice Winter wonderland weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 International Circle, Hunt Valley, MD 21030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet + Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Hunt Valley
New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Score!.... for this Courtyard.....It turned out to be....... a nice Winter wonderland weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This past weekend we visited the area for Basketball Holiday Classic.
The hotel lobby was newly renovated! The Marriott group sales person (Ola- corp office) and the Hotel manger on site were very helpful and personable.

When using GPS note that you need to plug in "Cockeysvilles" MD for the address and not Hunt Valley

Checking in... "Sonika" ( I believe her name was) was great, she was quick, professional but warm and welcoming!!!!

Our rooms (3rd floor) ...typical of the courtyards were clean and neat. Hallways and carpet clean.

The ice machine area had a door which made it great for NOT hearing the ice machine in the middle of the night. ( our room was a few doors down....never heard not one ice cube drop....smile).
king size bed overflowing with pillows and Free internet was available in the room.

The pool small but nice, and the fitness room ...OK for 3 people ( all the machines were in working condition)

The New lobby had the large touch screen computer ...large TV area and computer center
and of course the new style Bistro and sitting areas.

The inner courtyard seem to be nice ( due to the snow and cold weather I didn't pay much attention to the details there.)

Our group had a private room for breakfast, which was nice ( a little tight...but OK)...the staff was great and keep everything replenished!
.....One complaint...they failed to cover the tables were we sat to eat, I felt like we were in a grade school cafe with hard brown tables.... but other than that the serving tables were covered and well stocked.

The surrounding area was great..a Large mall and eateries down and the street.
The hotel was set back on a single street, which made it good, not a lot of traffic, but one block away was a very nice mall area that had more than enough stores and places to eat ...that could satisfy everyone ( young and old alike).

Outback was our first stop... then The Green Turtle which was located in the Mall , but had a exterior entrance near Dicks ( back upper parking area of the mall)
The green Trutle also had a great BOGO coupon which came in handy...( buy one get one ) It was a sports bar, family friendly though!

About 10 minutes away was the Townson Mall in Townson Maryland ....another great place if you have the time.

During our stay it started to snow ( for the remaining portion of our stay there).
The hotel was mindful of the wet snow and areas surrounding the hotel.
It actually became rather cozy ...our little Winter wonderland weekend at the Holiday classic!

As a Marriott type family...this hotel was what you should expect from a Courtyard Marriott! I would recommend this area hotel for families and groups.

( Note the pics you may see on the website maybe older pics of Courtyards by Marriott....the bedding is different -upgraded... white and tan and lobby new)

Room Tip: 3rd floor facing inner courtyard....ask for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    48
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
27
17
18
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We traveled through the Towson area one night during a long-distance bike ride to fight childhood cancer, and this location was very accommodating to our group. The hotel was undergoing renovations at the time so no meeting rooms were available, which concerned me at first, but they let us use the breakfast room at night to make up for it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We recently stayed in a king suite and it was a pretty nice stay with some correctable issues.

The good- Newly remodeled rooms are nice, the room was clean the front desk staff was nice.
The bed was super comfortable.

The bad- duvet cover was dirty and although they are remodeling the hotel they seem to be using the old stock of sheets. They look worn and have those black marks on them.
The bathroom is odd and small. The toilet and tub/shower are in a very small space with a door that opens inward making it very awkward.

The really bad- At 8 am the housekeeper and a maintenance worker started having the LOUDEST and longest conversation ever right outside our room. Along with clanking and banging things around This lasted until 10:45 am. So our sleeping in the comfy bed was over. The management should address this. One of the things you look for in a hotel stay is quiet and you shouldn't be disturbed by the hotel staff. They shouldn't be holding conversations in the hallway. This tells me they're distracted and are not doing the job they should.

Room Tip: King suite is spacious and worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

While the carpet and paint were new and the furniture newish I was rather disappointed in the shower tile appearance. Grout cracked and missing and mildew stains on what grout remained. The photo says enough don't you think?

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

HAVE stayed here many times. The staff is wonderful. The beds sleep heavenly. The property is dated and is in the process of being upgraded and updated. They're working hard to minimize the impact of the work being done. We stayed for 2 nights. Its right close to the interstate close to the mall and close to a ton of restaurants. Not too far distance or drive from Baltimore and the price was a very reasonable. The Marriott Residence Inn Hunt Valley that is not but about a half mile away from here is better, it being a newer property but it also carries a much larger price, same type beds to sleep. this is a second best choice add a much better price. If you're looking for a reasonable price great bed to sleep in this is it. If you need a full kitchen suite type room then the Residence Inn would be more up your alley staff is great at both places

Room Tip: Away from construction inner courtyard room. Breakfast is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Outdated older hotel currently under remodel. Had to be buzzed in from side entrance for late check-in, standing outside waiting for someone to open the door. Once checked in (from card table setup in a lounge area), had to drive to other side of the building to access the room, again, due to the remodeling. Room was full of stale cigarette smoke. Requested another room but area Marriotts were sold out. My daughter and I were not sure we could even sleep, with the strong cigarette smell. Needed to hook into ethernet and NO wired internet access was available, even though the card on the desk mentioned Wired AND Wireless internet access. Front desk staff was clueless and not helpful regarding smoky room and lack of wired internet access. NOT up to Marriott hotel or customer service standards.

Room Tip: Residence Inn Hunt Valley (across the street) is supposed to be quite nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hunt Valley hotels

South Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

In town for a large AAU basketball tournament. We normally stay in the Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel, but this one was 10 miles closer to our gym venues so we decided to try it.

PROS: The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a nice (but small) indoor pool. They have a hot tub (but it would not get hot). They have a small Fitness room. The hotel is built around a outside, open area with grass and a gazebo, which is great for outdoor social functions. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby, and in walking distance.

CONS: Fitness room was very hot and the treadmill was broken. Exercise bench broken too. Fitness room was always out of towels. Hot tub would not heat up. A hotel this size only had one washer and dryer. Dryer was broken while we were there. Hotel looks and feels dated. Old carpets, old smells. Front entry way was closed down with yellow caution tape. Housekeeping did not stock our room with TP and other sundries when cleaning our room. Room sliding door was old and very hard to open. Bathroom ceiling paint bubbled and peeling. Bed mattresses were lumpy. Room AC unit didn't work right all the time.

It wasn't up to our normal expectations for a Marriott Couryard and we would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room furthest from Gazebo area as there were late night parties going on and it was quite nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley

Address: 221 International Circle, Hunt Valley, MD 21030
Location: United States > Maryland > Hunt Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Hunt Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley hotel is located in the suburbs, north of downtown Baltimore. Easily accessible via I-83 to Baltimore's downtown, this hotel is in easy reach of the Baltimore Convention Center, Baltimore Inner Harbor, Raven's Stadium and Camden Yards. This hotel has earned the prestigious Energy Star label from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for its efforts to conserve water and energy and protect the environment. In addition, the Courtyard Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley's rural setting is convenient to Oregon Ridge Park, the Maryland Masonic Home/Bonnie Blink, as well as, the Northern Central Railroad Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley Hotel Hunt Valley
Courtyard Hunt Valley
Courtyard Baltimore Hunt Valley
Hunt Valley Marriott
Hunt Valley Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.