We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated hotel, overall OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11200 York Rd, Hunt Valley, MD 21030 (Formerly Comfort Inn Hunt Valley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Hunt Valley
Asia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Updated hotel, overall OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My first impression:  Same as other reviewers, this Holiday Inn appears to be a refurbished older hotel, and it shows in spots. Outside looks like it had a been repainted and freshened up. The lobby is very simple, but looks dated, though. Elevators also felt old and dark. 

The heavy metal doors are the reminders of the original hotel.  Noisey room doors that squeezed and clanked, and voices easily penetrate into the room from the hallway.  Bathrooms were updated nicely with bright taps, new tub with shower, and furnishings.  The room's furniture and paint look fairly fresh and modern.  Carpet was in very good shape too.  There was a queen-size pullout sofa bed.  Large flat screen tv, microwave and mid-sized refrig.  Nice sized wardrobe with iron and ironing board, and a small office desk.  King bed was firm with extra long pillows, and modern headboard with ample lights, but the bedding lacked crispness.  Room was average size with a single window.

We stayed on the top floor, but there was a low humming constantly in our room, so we changed.  Definitely, there was traffic noise at the front of the hotel, but our room was at the back which was quieter, with the exception of occasional barking dogs from the Hunt Valley Animal Hospital right beside the hotel.

Breakfast was complimentary in a nice lounge area on the first floor.  It was actually pretty good with: hot and cold drinks, cereal, bagels, muffins, yummy cinnamon buns, self-serve pancakes, biscuits and gravy (nice), scrambled eggs and sausage, yogurt, and fruit.  No complaints here.

Well, it was overall worth the 5000 Hilton points per night.  But, there are other options for a hotel within very short driving distance, choose wisely. Basically, this was a good average hotel.  Free wireless - the way it should be! Employees were very helpful.  And, oh yes, complimentary bottled water and snacks for Platinum members, of course.

Room Tip: Room towards the back, not on 7th floor though
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear LaoBlue,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I appreciate your compliments regarding our breakfast and staff. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
15
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bladenboro, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Arrived at 2am after riding 8 hrs. Front desk was great and helpful. Parking garage made it very easy to return to my car and get something without going outside. Breakfast was great and breakfast attendant was really helpful and was super with my little girl and the pancake machine. Very clean, comfortable, and a great stopover during our drive!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff and hotel! We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you back during your next trip to Hunt Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

From the front desk staff, to the maid Barbara, everyone went out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. This was so far and above the Crowne Plaza in Timonium it put it to shame! Great breakfast, covered parking, immaculately clean room. Bravo HI Express! Look forward to my next stay with you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about our property! We are delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and can't wait for you to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice this fall. Both times we were please with how clean the hotel was. I will warn you that behind the hotel is a dog kennel and it could get noisy if you are staying on a lower floor. Both times we stayed it was on the top floor, 7th and we weren't really bothered by the dogs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in order to attend a memorial service for a friend that was being held in Sparks. The location was convenient to the memorial service location, and it's closes to a number of restaurants and fast food choices. We had a king room, which was small (just enough room to get around the bed) but obviously recently updated. The bathroom was also small, and you couldn't shut the door until you were all the way in it. The toilet paper holder, as others have noted, was behind the door; you kind of had to stretch to reach it if you were sitting on the toilet. The room was very clean, there were plenty of towels, and the choice of toiletries was good. I doubt I'll need to visit the area again, but would recommend this hotel.

Adon (spelling?) at the front desk was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I arrived at midnight and my room had been given away. The night manager didn't know what's had happened but he promptly gave me another room. The key didn't work for that room so he upgraded me. No complaints. The room was very clean and modern. The king bed was firm and nicely padded on top. The shower and towels were first class. The 32in tv and wifi worked fine. Breakfast was not special, but free. I'd go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAFret
Level Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had stayed at this property before when it was operated by another major chain and there was much room for improvement. Holiday Inn has really turned the place around! The lobby, elevators, breakfast area, and most importantly the rooms were all remodeled. The room was spotless and comfortable with a couch that was a nice alternative to laying on the bed to watch TV or read. The Wall Street Journal was provided in the morning. The breakfast was typical for a Holiday Inn but very nice and put out promptly at 7:00. The staff was very accommodating. It is not an inexpensive stay but it is the best price available in the area for a comparable property. There are several nice restaurants in a mall just a few blocks away and several other options in the hotel's immediate area. If you are coming to Hunt Valley or the Baltimore area this is an excellent place to stop.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We are very glad to hear you enjoyed our accomadations and hope to see you back during your next trip to the Hunt Valley area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunt Valley
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore - North/Hunt Valley
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley
0.8 mi away
Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore North / Timonium
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Timonium
Holiday Inn Timonium
#2 of 3 in Timonium
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley

Address: 11200 York Rd, Hunt Valley, MD 21030 (Formerly Comfort Inn Hunt Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hunt Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Hunt Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hunt Valley Hotel Hunt Valley
Hampton Inn Baltimore
Hunt Valley Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Hunt Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.