We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A miserable brunch” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Oregon Grille

The Oregon Grille
1201 Shawan Rd., Hunt Valley, MD 21030
410.771.0505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Oregon Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Hunt Valley
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Beaver Dam Road
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A miserable brunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Oregon Grille has always been known for its excellent food and its impeccable service. Four of us went there for brunch on Sunday, June 22nd. We were seated promptly. No waiter/ waitress approached our table to take our order for one solid hour. We requested the waitress to bring some bread/rolls and butter three times before any was brought to our table. The manager wrote that “the chef has instructed the staff not to serve bread and butter until the first course arrives”. However, he wrote that “if bread and butter is requested, that they are to serve it immediately”.
Two of us ordered sautéed soft crabs for an appetizer. Those were served raw. This is inexcusable. Our entrees were adequate. The waitress cleared the table and left the check; she didn’t bother to ask if we wanted dessert, tea or coffee. We ordered coffee and it was served to me super lukewarm. Yes, she brought me a warm cup of coffee, but it was an afterthought. Also, the stall in the ladies room for the handicapped was unusable. The handle for flushing was broken and the toilet had not been flushed. Again, inexcusable.
With all the things that went wrong,, I wrote a letter that evening to inform the manager that we were very disappointed. I had no reply for three weeks, and that came only after I had written to the owner. In that letter, the manager wrote about the raw crabs, as “soft crabs that were undercooked” It is terribly dangerous to serve a raw soft crab.
The reply from the manager was also lukewarm. He offered no recompense. His best deal was to “make a reservation and I will personally assure that everything is perfect.” I, nor my friends, have any intention of returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    30
    23
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Rock
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow - What Happened to Oregon Grill :(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

What was always a special place to get dressed up, spend a lot of money, but be assured that the meal would be special - turned into a real nightmare last night. Sometimes a few things can go wrong and they can be overlooked, but we had bad food, bad drink, and slow and apologetic service - and a tab of $470 for the 4 of us out on the patio - to boot.

It all started with a hostess who sat us at a table facing a blinding sun with a multitude of open tables in the shade around us with the comment "the sun should shift here shortly". Then after a few minutes a waitress came upon us apologizing that she would be with us shortly (maybe too many tables? or?), but then took 15 minutes to get back with us. Then drink orders then took another 15 minutes to be delivered - and once arrived - 3 out of 4 "special featured" cocktails had obviously been sitting for a while with all the iced melted and watery. One of the drinks was garnished with a clearly visible rotten strawberry. The 4th drink, a simple glass of chardonnay (mine), wasn't delivered cause "someone else must have taken it" from the bar - again more apologies. The wine finally arrived about 8 minutes later. So just to get drinks before dinner it took over a half hour. It was a good thing we really enjoyed the company. The waitress took another 10 minutes to get back to us to order anything. As you might imagine, having some bread delivered to the table might have really helped us as we tackled the special cocktails and the long delay. The timing on appetizers and meals did get better once ordered - however the food was very disappointing. Not real fresh - or local as far as we could tell - but worse: the gazpacho was watery almost like it had been frozen and thawed with not much taste; the featured 3 year old aged goat cheese and tomato salad was prepared amateurish with poorly selected unripened tomatoes stacked with a layer of just ordinary goat cheese with too much olive oil that was nothing special; the crab cakes were tasteless with no seasoning; the rock fish smelled fishy and was chewy and over cooked (the accompanying Crab hash and Delmarva salsa was delicious) - the waitress again apologized but volunteered no corrections or adjustments; the soft shell crabs were all legs; the refills on coffee to heat it up were ice cold; and we were lucky that the waitress could find two copies of the dessert menu (and a copy of the wine list a few hours before).

So can you tell? We were extremely very disappointed - and probably will be very hard pressed to go back - to what was once one of our favorite spots (we live in PA and always thought it was worth the trip). Hope this review somehow get's in front of the right management / ownership and they make some very serious corrections. Looking at the reviews here - I think it's not just us who have had a less than favorable experience at the current Oregon Grill. Unfortunately, I could not recommend this restaurant again - unless somehow someone could convince us to take a deep breath and take another expensive risk.

Oh yeah, another thing that just topped the cake showing a lack of management class was surrounding an old gift certificate. Our guests had remembered to bring an old gift certificate that admittedly had been purchased back in 2008. Well of course - that could not be honored. Because why? Book keeping? Policy? I know. It would be well beyond the expected - but... it would have showed a lot of management class to honor they loyal customers in my humble opinion...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Work Dinner Program Upstairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had a dinner program upstairs. Overall, dinner programs are a totally different experience than normal dining, so take this review for what it's worth.
Our waitress was great... The only problem is, we had 20 people and 1 server & 1 bread/water guy! Half of our table got their meal, 20 minutes later, the other half got theirs. Filets came out, and those who got salmon had to wait... In an effort to be polite, we tried waiting, but then after about 8 minutes, we ate our "lukewarm" steak (still tasted amazing).
Not the servers fault at all, but if there is a set menu for a large group, the entrées should be relatively easy to make in bulk.

I didn't see the bill, but I could only imagine that it was pretty pricey, so my perception of "value" was a guess.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taneytown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The last time we were here maybe about 10 years ago, it was an excellent if pricey special occasion restaurant. It is still has the same atmosphere, men need to wear a jacket to dinner, there was a live piano player down stairs, and the prices rival any high end celebrity chef restaurant anywhere. Unfortunately the food was just so-so and the service average. Very disappointing given the price tag. If you decide to go, stick with the tried and true - they can still cook a delicious steak, even if they over broiled their lobster tail on the surf & turf. The soft shell crab was also well prepared and delicious, and the garlic mashed potatoes spot on. The Brussels sprouts were good to but overdone with the smoked bacon. Everything else was lacking. The veal medallion special was a gloppy take on a veal Marsala, not bad, but not worth it. The veal was well cooked but the dish lacked balance, overpowered by the mozzarella and Italian comfort food flavor palate. The rockfish was questionable at best. It was over cooked, mushy, and oddly over spiced with cumin. It did not tie in to the crab hash although that was the idea. The clams casino was good but certainly not the best, the oysters rockefeller was overpowered by creamed spinach and lacked the garlicky bacon goodness the dish calls for. The creamed spinach was fine if you like the heavy cream dominating the dish. Desserts were ho-hum except the raspberry sorbet which was fresh and smooth. Too bad for a place that was once outstanding. Many better options out there now.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisberry, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I used to love this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I have been going to this place since it opened either with family or friends. It used to be so nice service was first rate, Food always arrived at proper temperature. The only problem I ever had was the guy who seats you and greets you. Unless I was with my family I never got a respectful greeting from this man. Living up in the Harrisburg PA area we don'tget down as often as we used to but still up until now we were eating there 4 - 6 times a year.

We were there for dinner on May 3rd. and this was the last straw, I think for all of us. We were supposed to be celebrating two Birthdays and we ended up celebrating finally getting out of the place. The cocktails were small the staff atitude was take it or leave it and the food was generally horrendous. We kept thinking it would get better and it did not.

We were seated at 7:40 after a very rude experience with the Bar, and the timeline just fell apart. It took 10 minutes to get menues, 20 minutes for drinks, an hour and a half to get salads and another 30 minutes before the main course showed up. To add to this 4 of the 6 in our party were served cold food. needless to say there was no apology and no effort was made to remedy the situation.

If we were going to be in the area of the Oregon Grille This was our go to place for a great meal. This last experience sealed the deal for us They SHould Not Expect To See Us Back.!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oregon Grille also viewed

 
Hunt Valley, MD
Hunt Valley, MD
 

Been to The Oregon Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oregon Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.