We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Steakhouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Outback Steakhouse
134 Shawan Road, Hunt Valley, MD 21031
(410) 527-1540 ‎
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 20 Restaurants in Hunt Valley
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Reliably mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

It's an Outback. I have eaten here a number of times on business trips. It's fast and reliable and, when I am alone, I usually want to eat and get back to the hotel fast. This restaurant does the job.

Don't expect great food but you will get prompt and pleasant service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Right On Ya!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Even during what I'd consider prime-time for dining we got seated immediately. The wait staff made recommendations of where to sit - which I thought was wonderful. They were quick and courteous, and knew the menu. Not unusual for Outback. The best service I ever got was in an Outback steak house - but that was years ago. This service wasn't top-10, but about on par with the expectation. The food value - Great! Had a great time, and the place wasn't packed to the gills.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“This chain use to be good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

I traveled frequently for work and we would go to this outback a lot. And I have been to many others. I find the food has gone down in quality and the portions have gotten smaller. I no longer go to any of them because they are a waste of money.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Standard Outback, nothing better nothing Worse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Not much to say Standard Outback fare. Reliable. Kids Mac and cheese is a little different, just a warning if you have picky kids.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good beer selection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Good grub with a good selection of draft beer.

The barman addressed customers by first name

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.