We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly suprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   245 Shawan Road, Hunt Valley, MD 21031 (Formerly Hunt Valley Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Hunt Valley
Commerce Township, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pleasantly suprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was very surprised by the excellent accommodations. Spacious clean rooms. Fridge on demand. Location to nearby shops.
The bar menu was scant and pricey though. Other than that, a great bargain for several nights stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Rwwestlake,
We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Hunt Valley Inn. It’s great to hear we exceeded your expectations with our clean and spacious accommodations. We’re excited to inform you that our owners are deep in the design stages to execute a multi-million dollar renovation. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon to see our improvements and renovation progress. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Shannon Keaney, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    187
    201
    116
    62
See reviews for
150
76
45
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clifton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was amazing! We were there for a banquet/event and everything was terrific. The buffet breakfast was very good, lots of options available including and omelette bar. The staff was so helpful - always smiling and ready to assist.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Linda P,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us at Hunt Valley Inn Baltimore. It’s wonderful to receive your kind comments about our helpful staff, friendly service, as well as our clean and comfortable accommodations. I am excited to inform you that our owners are deep in the design stages to execute a multi-million dollar renovation. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon to see our renovation progress and improvements. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Shannon Keaney, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthicum, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff is always friendly and helpful, and have gone out of their way to help make our stays more enjoyable. We stay there at least twice a year for major conventions, and it's always pleasant. On the rare occasions we've had any problems, they've been quick to fix things to our satisfaction.

Room Tip: Ask for something close to the elevators. Try to avoid the furthest wing (doors E and F) if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Don S,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Hunt Valley Inn. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us twice a year for conventions. I’m pleased to hear we’ve consistently provided a pleasant stay. We’re excited to announce that we are currently in the early design stages to complete a significant renovation and refresh to the hotel. We look forward to seeing you next time and sharing our improvements. Thank you again for your patronage and review.

Sincerely,
Shannon Keaney, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I am giving it average because the managment/ owners. But the beds were not comfy. And the rooms need to be updated. The staff is very nice and seem to want to help. The restruant is over priced and not great. But hunt valley is right across the street and has a lot of eating options.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
NicoleH1,
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your kind words about our comfortable accommodations and friendly staff. We agree that it’s time for the Hunt Valley Inn to get a refresh and you will be happy to know that the hotels ownership has committed to a multi-million dollar renovation which is being designed as we speak. We hope you’ll visit us again soon to see our improvements. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Shannon Keaney, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Was at this hotel over Preakness weekend - a huge facility and packed with racegoers. They were going for incredibly good prices on sites like Priceline. Check in was painless and quick, and a room snafu (king instead of two doubles) was quickly rectified and we were moved without incident to the proper accommodations. Staff was extremely welcoming and friendly and quick to offer service as needed. The beds in the rooms were probably the most comfortable I've been in outside of the Marriott Cleveland downtown. The pillows were exceptional - slept like a log every night. Everything was very clean and welcoming.

Only thing that holds this hotel back from higher ratings is the dated carpets, equipment and furnishings. It looks like what it is - an 80s convention-style hotel on the outskirts of a big city. They are kind of dinosaurs because the size isn't really warranted by the guest numbers most days - but on major weekends like the Preakness - they probably were pretty close to capacity. Some money spent on updating the physical plant would be about the only thing that's needed. They have a very good handle on everything else in the hospitality game. I'd recommend to anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
AlumniGCC,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Hunt Valley Inn. It’s wonderful to receive your kind comments about our friendly staff and their excellence in service. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and found our accommodations clean and comfortable. We agree that it’s time for the Hunt Valley Inn to get a refresh and you will be happy to know that the hotels ownership has committed to a multi-million dollar renovation which is being designed as we speak. Thank you again for writing. We hope you’ll return soon to see our renovation progress.

Sincerely,
Shannon Keaney, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, GA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days. Priced as though it was still an upscale hotel, but it's a bit older and needs updating to be at that level. All was clean. Very spread out hotel -- you'll get lots of exercise trying to get anywhere in this place. Equipment was not in repair. Four ice machines in the same area were all non-working, the desk knew nothing about the problem (and would "have an engineer check them") - but if you pulled off the front cover, they were tagged several weeks earlier as "do not turn on, compressor broke" etc.) Hallways a bit too warm and humid. Bellhop staff very pleasant, helpful. Typical of this level hotel, higher prices means no free breakfast; was pleasantly surprised to find the wi-fi was free. When I booked, they had lost the Marriott franchise and were up in the air; the weekend we stayed there, Wyndham took over. I hope Wyndham puts a bit of $$ into repairs, and trains the front desk staff in hospitality. That will be a bigger upgrade for this hotel than lots of carpet and paint.

Room Tip: Hotel is quite spread out horizontally; if you travel with others, be sure they know to put you clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
South_Georgia_boy,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words about our clean hotel and pleasant staff. We agree that it’s time for the Hunt Valley Inn to get a refresh and you will be happy to know that the hotels ownership has committed to a multi-million dollar renovation which is being designed as we speak. Your feedback is valuable on both positive and opportunities for improvement. We hope you’ll visit us again soon to see our progress. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Shannon Keaney, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

THE GOOD: Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely location. Clean, average sized room. Decent furnishings. Large, flat screen TV. Cable. Free wireless Internet. Free, nice parking. Quiet. Plenty of pillows, down comforters. Clean, nice bathroom. Complimentary coffee/tea. Hair dryer. Ironing board/iron. Desk/chair. Plenty of outlets.

THE FAIR: Room keys lose programming easily, even if near cell phone. Some areas of the complex a LONG way from front desk. Patio area outside sliding door to courtyard dirty and lots of trash. No vent fan in bathroom, just useless vent. $25/day hold on credit card for "incidentals" that no one can explain, but removed at checkout (bad if you use a debit card.....)

THE BAD: Climate control system is central with a thermostat in each room. Despite setting thermostat on 66 degrees, room never got very cool with system running continuously. Outside air temp 73, so not hot days. Mattresses are hard with little padding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
BKB40383,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Hunt Valley Inn. We appreciate our guests taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback both positive and opportunities for improvement. We apologize for the areas that we fell short in meeting your expectations. I am excited to inform you that our owners are deep in the design stages to execute a multi-million dollar renovation. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again to see our improvements. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Shannon Keaney, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 245 Shawan Road, Hunt Valley, MD 21031 (Formerly Hunt Valley Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hunt Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Hunt Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally suited for business or pleasure, Hunt Valley Inn is in the heart of the business district located across from Hunt Valley Towne Center outdoor mall. Multiple golf courses, Oregon Ridge park, Boordy Vineyards and Basignani Winery are also nearby. Set amid 18 acres, Hunt Valley Inn offers a newly renovated fitness center, indoor-outdoor pool, restaurant, cafe, and lounge. Hunt Valley Inn guestrooms feature Beautyrest(R) Recharge luxury bedding, Cape Breton™pillow tops and WynRest(R) hypoallergenic, gel fiber queen-size pillows (both medium and firm)...all from the Simmons(R) Hospitality Group's Wyndham Worldwide Hospitality Collection. Other room amenities include a 42-inch HDTV, free Wi-Fi, ergonomic desk chair, free bottled water, Wolfgang Puck Coffee selections, in-closet pedestal laptop safe and one plush 100% cotton terry bath robe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltimore Marriott Hunt Valley Hotel Hunt Valley
Marriott Hunt Valley
Hunt Valley Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.