We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad - Had to take away 2 stars because of the bad room service experience.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn Wyndham Affiliate

Save Saved
You added Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn Wyndham Affiliate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn Wyndham Affiliate
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   245 Shawan Road, I-83, Hunt Valley, MD 21031 (Formerly Hunt Valley Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Hunt Valley
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not Bad - Had to take away 2 stars because of the bad room service experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I visited the Hunt Valley Inn for a yearly convention a go to at different hotels with my younger sister and friend. For what we were there for its not a bad hotel.

Checking in was fine, rooms were ready right away, hotel was clean and rooms were neat and clean. We had a standard double bed non smoking room. Bathrooms were clean as well with plenty of towels. The rooms werent big but they did the trick. Again we were there for a convention so we didnt plan on spending much time in the room anyway.

We were there for a convention going on inside the hotel so obviously that was very convenient. And we enjoyed the convention like we always do.

If you want good food I suggest traveling to the inner harbor like we did at night time for dinners. The food in Baltimore is to die for, the views of the inner harbor, were breathtaking, and the nightlife was awesome.

But back to the hotel - we ate in the hotel once for breakfast on Saturday morning room service. And boy was that a mistake. The breakfast was awful. Came up cold. Gross eggs that had to be powdered, burnt toast, unedible bacon, and the bill was outragously high for the very low quality of the food.

I was also very annoyed because I asked for 2 - 2 liter bottles of seltzer they said they had them and i saw a charge on our bill for 12 dollars just for water, yet I got no seltzer and 2 tiny bottles of poland spring water instead. i called up to say "um what the hell?" and they apologized and sent me up again 2 tiny bottles but of this time seltzer, so I still never got my 12 dollars worth of seltzer that I paid for.

The coffee and hot chocolate we ordered was decent. And we also ordered this signature stuffed french toast dish to share and that was decent as well. The rest of the food we took one bite and couldnt touch again.

We were smart on Sunday morning we grabbed breakfast on the way back to NY at the broadway diner and it was delicious! it made up for the awful breakfast we the morning before at the hotel for sure.

I do want to commend the hotel security for their help during an unpleasant experience my sister, friend and I had on Saturday night. There was a wedding going on in the hotel and there were some drunk men acting up in the hallways and lobby, one guy inparticular was very drunk and was harassing my sister, friend and I to the point where we had to run from him down the hall while he was following us down to the lobby. We let hotel security know of the matter right away and they cornered the guy in the lobby in seconds and delt with the matter accordingly. We were very pleased with that.

All and all the hotel wasnt bad to stay at for the convention and also as long as you go elsewhere to eat its not a bad visit. But if you are planning on visiting Baltimore and the inner harbor, I believe there are much better hotels to choose from then the hunt valley inn.

I plan on returning to Baltimore this coming March for a weekend getaway with my honey but we will be staying at a very nice hotel in the inner harbor. i look forward to sharing that review with you all as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    138
    157
    94
    54
See reviews for
116
57
35
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

i could not reserve at other hotels in the area. was disappointed as i stayed here twice prior. I must say, the hotel has been improved since my last stay. i found the help pleasant, the rates cheaper than other hotels and more appointments than my last visit here. i can say that the internet / wireless service was very poor in my room, there was a lack of power outlets and found a bit of dirt searching for power behind the bed!!!! Improved, but, will continue to stay as a last resort.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

As you enter the hotel, you appreciate the 1960's style architecture. Unfortunately you might never see it. That is because this property is IMPOSSIBLE to get to. Oh, I saw the sign and the building plenty of times, but due to inferior and non-existent signage, I couldn't get there. No wonder Marriott pulled the franchise.
If you approach the property from eastbound Shawan Road, you must cross two lanes of busy traffic coming off of Interstate 83. If traffic is heavy, it is impossible to get over in time. If you miss the poorly lit and small sign, there is NOTHING past it that will direct you to the hotel. There are many other directional signs, even to other hotels, but there is nothing directing you to the back entrance. The property owner's must have really ticked off someone...

If you approach the property form west bound Shawan Road, don't bother. You can not turn left in to the property. OK, I get that, but at the next possible place to attempt a U-turn, the sign says left turn ONLY and indicates you may not make a U-turn. Like I said, forget it.

The only easy access to the hotel is if you are exiting northbound Interstate 83 and are going very slowly. Otherwise you might miss then poorly lit and very small sign.

Once you are in the hotel, it's not awfull. Well, there are no grab or safety rails in the slippery bath tub/showers. Oh, and don't go out one of the many exits that require a card room key to get back in, as they don't work. At first I thought my card was de-magnetized, but it did work in the room door. Yup, I had to walk from the very back to the very front of the hotel. The place is sprawling so it cost me 20+ minutes. Too bad I didn't notice one of the other security doors that had been blocked open...

As to service, the front desk staff at 9:30 AM on 01/06/2013 did not know where the nearest ice machine was located. Unfortunately, she she told me where she thought it was. Wow, was she wrong.

At 9:45 the night before, the waitress serving tables in the bar area of the Cinnamon Tree restaurant was friendly, but instead of charging us for two burgers (very tasty, btw) charged us for a burger and a crab cake, an extra $6.00. She then promptly disappeared.

This place needs a date with a bulldozer and if the lack of cars in the parking lot is any indication, that may happen soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade W, Manager at Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn Wyndham Affiliate, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Greetings CorvairGuy,

It is true that building can be a challenge to get to and we apologize for that. There is a second entrance on the right a few hundred yards after the main entrance in case you are unable to get over in time and our parking lot is connected with the Executive Plaza located next door. When approaching from east, make the left on McCormick and then a right into the Executive Plaza. There is a bit of winding around required but you can easily make it to our front door from their main entrance as well.

Thank you for providing your feedback and providing me with an opportunity to post these directions on TripAdvisor.

Please feel free to contact me directly at 410-785-3945 if I can be of any further assistance.

Sincerely,

Wade Weistreich
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hunt Valley hotels

Harrisburg, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a sprawling inn with dark, well-appointed hallways, lots of wood and brick and leaf and grass motifs, very attractive and updated. There are many conference rooms, and the campus is very pretty, and well secured. You need a card key everywhere. There is a full service restaurant, bar, but apparently no room service as there is no menu in the rooms. Nor is there any stationery. The room was luxurious: fancy hangers, an iron and ironing board in the closets, a huge 50" TV with lots of channels, some kind of high tech setup with a thing for ipads, a spacious desk, with fancy chair, fancy drapes, a chair with ottoman, and a comfy bed with down comforter, the square european pillows as well as smaller comfy pillows. The bathroom had fancy toiletries and granite counters. The bathtub appears not to have been updated, or else it was dirty. The rest of the room was clean and upscale. I felt treated. I used priceline and the value was fantastic. There is a little automat with sandwiches, apples, and such. I felt the staff were bad--slow, attitudinal, unhelpful.

Room Tip: breakfast is not included, the buffet is offered at $15
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

This property is located 20 minutes north if Baltimore in a great suburban center. It is close to where I live and work, across the street from a mall, many restaurants, shipping and movie theater.
The rooms are very spacious and clean. Bathrooms are large and well lite with amenities.
Service and staff are very nice.
Pool and fitness center, along with large bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I received my reservations through Priceline at a great price but was a bit worried about this property because of some of the negative reviews. As always, I took them with a grain of salt and expected just an okay stay.

We checked in painlessly and got a non-smoking room with a huge king bed...just what we wanted! The room was excellent and everything worked as designed. In older hotels I'm always worried they may still use tube-type televisions but the Hunt Valley has modern electronics so no worries!

I lived in this area while in high school and realized the Hunt Valley Inn was old but if the facilities are kept up it really shouldn't be an issue. The Inn has been beautifully kept over the years and it really is a gem. There is an Embassy Suites across the street (my favorite brand) but I would pick the Hunt Valley Inn over them when we visit this area again in the future. The only possible downside would be the size of the property. It is huge...organized into several different buildings and until you get the "lay of the land" you might find yourself wandering in circles trying to find your room or the front desk. I am directionally challenged so this might not be a problem for others. Also, the huge parking lot is in need of re-stripping (if that's the correct term). The "lines" for the parking slots are faded to the extent you really can't see them any longer.

Bottom line...I will stay here again. It is a beautiful property, great staff members, super clean and quiet. The owners and the management of this hotel can be proud of themselves!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterville, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The room was spacious, well maintained, clean. Bed comfortable/had a good night's sleep. Complimentary breakfast was disappointing for me-- Although they had a good selection, they didn't have what I wanted, so I'll say that's because I was being entirely too fussy. There were, however, too many fruit flies!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn Wyndham Affiliate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn Wyndham Affiliate

Address: 245 Shawan Road, I-83, Hunt Valley, MD 21031 (Formerly Hunt Valley Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hunt Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Hunt Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn Wyndham Affiliate 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business or pleasure, this Hunt Valley Inn is in the heart of the business district located across from Hunt Valley Towne Center outdoor mall. Multiple golf courses, Oregon Ridge park, Boordy Vineyards, and Basignani Winery are also nearby. Set amid 18 acres, the Marriott Hunt Valley Inn offers a newly renovated fitness center, indoor-outdoor pool, tennis courts, restaurant, cafe, and lounge. The Hunt Valley Inn guestrooms feature mahogany-style furniture, a work desk and ergonomic chair, wireless internet access, premium cable TV, pay per view movies, two phones, and individual climate control. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn Wyndham Affiliate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltimore Marriott Hunt Valley Hotel Hunt Valley
Marriott Hunt Valley
Hunt Valley Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baltimore Hunt Valley Inn Wyndham Affiliate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.