We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was pleased with this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   245 Shawan Road, Hunt Valley, MD 21031-1007 (Formerly Hunt Valley Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Hunt Valley
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I was pleased with this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Don't know why all the negative reviews. Front desk staff was efficient and friendly. My room was comfortable and clean. The water pressure in the shower was excellent, the lights by the bed were bright, the room was spacious and bed comfortable. Hot coffee in the lobby and in the rooms. Yes the place is a bit tired but the price is about 25% less than other hotels in the area. My only real complaint is that there is only one size pillow on the beds. Some people like high pillows, others like myself like thin ones. These were medium. Would be nice to have an option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Manager at Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. We appricate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    208
    213
    118
    62
See reviews for
152
77
52
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is not without problems. The room was comfortable, but it had a damp odor. Everything just looks run down and tired. We were a group of about 200, and there were 1 or 2 weddings, but the dining room was closed both Friday and Saturday evenings. We ate in the much smaller Grill/bar where the food was awful and high-priced. Service was spotty.
Meeting room facilities were acceptable, and that part of our experience was very smooth.
I have stayed here when it was a Marriott, and the overall quality has certainly diminished. The room rate was fairly low, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon K, General Manager at Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Greetings,
Thank you for your valuable feedback and giving us the opportunity to correct the issues you have mentioned.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clio, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Avoid at all costs if possible. We stayed at this hotel because the convention we were attending was being hosted here. Unfortunately, what I have listed is nothing compared to what happened to some of the other individuals that were in our group. I will leave it up to them to post their experiences at this hotel. When we booked the hotel, it was a Marriott. We were notified later that on July 1, 2012, the hotel would no longer be associated Marriott. The hotel assured the convention organizers that this change would not affect the registrations. I received an email from our event organizers to call and confirm our reservation. I called around July 7 to confirm our reservation. Instead of the $126 per night with breakfast cost I was quoted from the Marriott, I was informed the room was $149 without breakfast. After many calls to the hotel and speaking to a very unfriendly staff who promised to look into the situation and call me back, which, by the way they did not, I talked to Marriott for some help. Marriott customer service put me in contact with Sarah, the Group Coordinator at the Hunt Valley Inn. Sarah, in my opinion, is the only person there that is friendly, knows her job, and was pleasant to work with on this situation. Sarah, to my delight, was able to ensure that my reservation was correct and email me a confirmation I could present to the front desk to ensure no problems.
Check-in: We checked into the hotel that was pretty uneventful; however very, very slow. The only issue was there was only one bell person with the only cart. In other words, plan on carrying all of your stuff to your room by yourself.
The Room: Upon review of the hotel and room, I would guess that it is not a Marriott anymore based on Marriott’s standards. The rooms have flat screen televisions, which are nice. We had to request a refrigerator, even though it is clear that they were once located inside the dresser in the room. The beds were fine if only one person was sleeping in the bed. If there are two persons in the bed, the middle of the bed sinks in and it is very uncomfortable. The shower goes from scolding hot to freezing cold and then back to scolding hot the entire time you are in the shower. The vent by the shower is caked with dirt and the shower tiles had mildew on them. We returned after the first night and none of the rooms on our floor had fresh towels. The cleaning lady stated it would be 3:30 before towels would be available. We ended up calling the front desk to request towels 4:15. At 5:15 I placed a second call to the front desk and requested towels as we had a dinner function at the hotel at 6:00. Sometime after 6:00 housekeeping delivered two towels to our room. Did I mention there were three of us staying in the room? I called down a third time at 10:15 in the evening to request a third towel.
The Shuttle Service: There is a shuttle that is supposed to run every half hour from the hotel. I asked the front desk about what the shuttle looked like so I could watch for it. The individual working at the front desk could not tell me the color of the shuttle, whether it said Hunt Valley Inn on it, or anything about it. The reason he stated was that the shuttle was in an accident and they had a loaner for the time being and he knew nothing about it.
The Restaurant: The restaurant in the hotel was very good. The food was hot and tasty. The price was very reasonable. The waiter was awesome. Stayed on top of water and beverages during the meal and checked by often. Considering there was only a few other individuals in the restaurant, I expected the service to be good.
The Pool: No towels available at the pool. My 9 year old was informed by the lifeguard on duty that she was too young to swim in the inside pool and she had to use the outside pool. Glad it was not raining. She is a redhead with fair skin. It was 90 degrees and sunny outside. Even with SPF 100, good luck not getting burned.
Housekeeping: See towel comment above. After I called to get towels, there was a knock on the door. Figuring it was housekeeping with the towels, I answered it. The lady asked me if we were checking out today or tomorrow. I informed her that we were schedule to depart 4 days from now. The housekeeping lady asked my wife the same question earlier that day.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon K, General Manager at Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Greetings,

I sincerely apologize for the troubles you encountered. The transition period which began July 1st was challenging. We have addressed the issues and we will continue to make product improvements to enhance the guest experience.
Regards,
Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hunt Valley hotels

Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This place is a dump! Do not stay here. Travelled here for business: One room for our group smelled like rotting garbage. Another room had wet carpet. Another room had ANTS in her bed! ANTS! This place is filthy, run down, dilapidated and smells. The carpets are stained and damp. The whole place smells. The food is mediocre at best and the restaurant service S-L-O-W. Not one place in this hotel looks decent. Chairs are torn and stained. Carpet looks awful. Stairs are broken. Yech!

Like the other reviewer said: Sleep in your car.

And go across the street to the shopping ctr and eat at Wegman's. The food is 200% better.

Room Tip: Do not stay in 1069. This is the rotting garbage room. 1072 had ants. If walking is a problem, check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon K, General Manager at Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for your feedback. Upon investigation of your issues we have corrected a plumbling issue in the section of 1069. We have also contacted our pest control company to investigate and service the south wing of our building.

We will continue to improve our products and services to enhance the guest experience.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgemere, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

after arriving at hotel had to wait in lobby for a half hour while they looked for my reservation from expedia. while i was waiting there was 2 other guests that had trouble with their reservations. one guy made his reservation 2 weeks early and they mistakenly gave his room to someone else. and another ladys reservations also were not there. after they finally got the reservation straightened out the place looked nice at first sight until i noticed black fuzzy mold on the ceiling in the bathroom and the room was infested with stink bugs. the place really needs a better group of people running it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon K, General Manager at Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Greetings,

I sincerely apolgize for your troubles with your reservations during check-in. I will follow up with the front office team to insure that we correct the issues you and your colleagues encountered.
I would also like to follow up on your room issues. Can you please provide me with the room number that you stayed in?

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

It is now the Hunt Valley Hotel . To be short and to the point it is not up to Marriot standards , I'm guessing that's why they are not affiliated any longer. This hotel is way to larger for me, it reminded me of a Hospital . The bed & pillows were to soft , the sheet nice. The A/C worked but not great. Shower and bathroom were fine , Room was clean ... I got a nice run in the Gym and did go in the pool but it could be cleaner . The staff were friendly but not very knowledgeable about a number of things . I would look else where but if stuck I would go back .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon K, General Manager at Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I will work directly with the team to improve their knowledge of the hotel and general area. Thank you for your business.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I've stayed at the Hunt Valley Inn twice now while in the area for business. My most recent stay being just last night. The rate that I've paid each stay ($84+ tax AAA rate) seems to be reasonable compared to other hotels in the area. Obviously the higher end hotels come with a higher price tag. For me the Hunt Valley Inn provides a clean, comfortable bed and a nice hot shower for an overnight stay so it's good enough for me. I agree with other reviews that have said the place could use a facelift although I'm sure higher rates will follow. The carpets are a bit aged but nothing like what you'd find in a lot of older hotel properties. The place is pretty expansive with an on-site restaurant/bar as well as a decent sized indoor pool, a social room (Cafe), and a workout room. There are many other conference rooms and such that I have yet to see for myself. The staff has been friendly and prompt with my check-in. The beds have been very soft and the bedding feels fresh with plenty of pillows! I've slept rather well both times that I've been there. I have no experience with dining at the hotel so there's no comment however there is a Wegmans grocery store across the street that I go to instead. If you've never been to a Wegmans, you must visit! I wish wish wish they would expand further south in to NC!

As I'd said before, don't expect this place to be an upscale convention center. With my experience however, the rate that rooms go for is very fair for this place. Until something catastrophic occurs with one of my stays, this place will be my new 'go to' hotel when in the Cockeysville area from now on.

Room Tip: I've slept on both the second and third floor with no noticeable difference between the two room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon K, General Manager at Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We appriciate your positive comments and I look forward to meeting you in the future.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 245 Shawan Road, Hunt Valley, MD 21031-1007 (Formerly Hunt Valley Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hunt Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Hunt Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally suited for business or pleasure, Hunt Valley Inn is in the heart of the business district located across from Hunt Valley Towne Center outdoor mall. Multiple golf courses, Oregon Ridge park, Boordy Vineyards and Basignani Winery are also nearby. Set amid 18 acres, Hunt Valley Inn offers a newly renovated fitness center, indoor-outdoor pool, restaurant, cafe, and lounge. Hunt Valley Inn guestrooms feature Beautyrest(R) Recharge luxury bedding, Cape Breton™pillow tops and WynRest(R) hypoallergenic, gel fiber queen-size pillows (both medium and firm)...All from the Simmons(R) Hospitality Group's Wyndham Worldwide Hospitality Collection. Other room amenities include a 42-inch HDTV, free Wi-Fi, ergonomic desk chair, free bottled water, Starbucks Coffee selections, in-closet pedestal laptop safe and one plush 100% cotton terry bath robe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Wyndham so you can book your Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltimore Marriott Hunt Valley Hotel Hunt Valley
Marriott Hunt Valley
Hunt Valley Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunt Valley Inn, a Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.