We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have to significantly lower my score...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley to your Saves list
Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Schilling Road, Hunt Valley, MD 21031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hunt Valley
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“I have to significantly lower my score...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

It appears this hotel is doing some sort of overnight backup to offsite location using same Internet pipe as hotel room guests. As a result latency is sometimes in neighborhood of 1 second or worse. Throughput is limited to 1.5Mb/s download. This makes any work using VPN to workplace almost impossible, or at least highly irritating (imagine typing something and seeing echo 1 or 2 seconds later). Other than that, everything else is still perfect, but my need for dependability of the Internet lowered the score to "Average".
I stayed in this hotel also few months ago, performance of Internet (right at 11PM) was even worse. It is better than 2 months ago, but still unacceptable. BTW: forget about streaming from youtube.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory C, General Manager at Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear 607TomP,

We appreciate your time to review our hotel. I apologize that our internet speed was not up to the standards you expect. The evening and late evening hours typically see the most demand for internet bandwidth. Our hotel systems operate on a seperate pipeline as required by Marriott. The guestroom internet bandwidth has been a project that we have been working on for several months. We have recently upgraded all the equipment in the building to better manage the network availablity. We also recommend that the wired connection in the guestroom offers greater access and stability. For each wireless access point the connection gets divided for the number of users pulling from that point. We have also contracted to triple the bandwidth that we currently have available to our guests and are awaiting the installation of a new fiber line into the building. With the number of devices that each guest has in use nowadays, we recognize the need to expand our infrastructure, and we are working as fast as possible to complete these upgrades. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    22
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
46
26
7
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Friday Harbor, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Hunt Valley Residence Inn gave us the perfect location to visit family and friends in Baltimore County. About 45 min from BWI airport. Their hospitality at the hotel was great. Some things when we checked in were missing (towels) but were quickly delivered to the room Have a mini kitchen and separate living room was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory C, General Manager at Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Chance E.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We apologize that some of the towels were missing when you arrived and I am pleased to hear that our team got them to you immediately. We hope that you enjoyed your time visiting with your family and friends. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit them again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I as well as my sister and her husband all stayed here earlier this month. We were all very pleased with the quality of the rooms as well as ample parking. The breakfast included in the price of the room was first rate in quality and variety.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory C, General Manager at Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Nessim L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate your comments and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We wish you and your family a great summer and look forward to seing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, VA
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This Marriott is very conveniently located close to I-83 and offered a good jumping off point for our weekend activities. I liked the bedroom that was separate from the living room, and the compact kitchen was great for chilling wine and preparing simple snacks. My only complaint about the bedroom is that there is hardly room for laying out a small suitcase or two (and no suitcase rack in the closet either). The bed was very comfortable.

Staff was friendly, and the late afternoon cookies were certainly a nice touch! The free breakfast offered a good mix of hot and cold items, all very fresh-tasting.

There's a good-sized mall less than a mile away, with a wonderful liquor/wine store and many restaurants.

Green Features: I didn't notice any, other than reusing towels. Would have been nice to have a recycling bin in the room for newspapers and bottles.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory C, General Manager at Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear CBW47,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Residence Inn Hunt Valley. We are please to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. We welcome your feedback regarding your room and our Green Features. Currently we provide recycling cans in each guest room for single stream recycling and we participate in Marriott's linen reuse program. We also work with a local autism school who collects all of our newspapers for recycling.
We are very interested in preserving our environment and we are actively researching new energy conservation techniques as well.

We sincerely hope you enjoy your summer and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel is hidden in an office park, so you might not know that it is even in the area..........but that is what makes it even more appealing. It's very quiet here.....not much noise going on at all. It is located close to Baltimore sights, but yet a world away, if you know what I mean.

The grounds were very well-maintained and the hotel was just as great. Our room was spacious...........we love having the separate living/kitchen areas. Everything that we have come to expect of Mariott Residence Inns was found here.......clean rooms with well-supplied amenities. A special touch to be able to have a newspaper each morning!

The staff was exceptionally friendly & helpful. They offered dining suggestions, printed directions to local sights, and we LOVE those cookies they offer each afternoon.

The complimentary breakfast is also a nice touch. Being able to have both hot foods and fresh fruit, in addition to cereals, pastries, etc. ensures a great start to our day.

We will definitely return to this hotel when we visit the area in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory C, General Manager at Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear LivinglifeinPA,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay. We take pride in providing exceptional service and terrific accommodations and I can see that w did not let you down. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I recently put up 15 out-of-town wedding guests at this hotel - they all raved about the accommodations. The units come with refrigerator and microwave and a nice sitting area that is separate from the bedroom(s). In addition to wonderful and clean rooms, the hotel is just off a main road so that while there's great access to freeway, restaurants, and shopping, the location is quiet with minimal traffic. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory C, General Manager at Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Andrea Z,

We are thrilled to hear that your wedding guests were pleased with their accommodations. I am grateful that you chose our hotel to host your out of town guests and we appreciate your business. Congratulations on the Wedding and we look forward to your family visiting in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel because it was close to our daughter's sports tournament. The next time we're in Baltimore, we will definitely do so again. The hotel was very clean and and maintained. The staff was very friendly/ The complimentary breakfast was very good. Overall, an A++ experience.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to the two-bedroom suite if traveling with a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory C, General Manager at Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for posting a review of your trip and stay at our hotel. We hope that your daughter and her team had a successful tournament. I am pleased to hear that our staff was friendly and that you enjoyed our amenities. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and good luck to your daughter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley

Address: 45 Schilling Road, Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Location: United States > Maryland > Hunt Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hunt Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley Hotel Hunt Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.