We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to take visitors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarke's Landing - CLOSED

Clarke's Landing
24580 Clarke's Landing Lane, Hollywood, MD
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
California, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to take visitors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

After a long day of sightseeing, Clarke's Landing was a great place to take out-of-town guests without having to shower or dress up.
English Muffin crabcake is delicious.
Visibile history, from War of 1812 to WWII is great to point out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    17
    15
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yummy Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

On November 7, my wife and I took our 5 year-old twin granddaughters to Clarke's Landing for lunch. It was NOT crowded at all and we were treated very well by our server. We had the crab balls appetizer, homemade crab soup, crab cake sandwiches, and child's plates of fish & chips and shrimp & chips. They were all delicious. Another reviewer complained about the crab balls, but they were tasty and, yes, did not have jumbo lumps; but these are small balls and would not have held together with large crab pieces. The crab cake in my sandwich DID have big crab lumps and was super - delicately seasoned so you could taste the crab and not Old Bay. The soup was wonderful but very rich. Perhaps the most impressive were the girls' child plates. The fish was grouper and an adult sized portion. The shrimp were large and there was either 5 or 6 o them. We didn't get much of a taste because the girls ate the whole things! They came with home made potato chips that were excellent. The scenery is nice and we even got to see a Navy blimp fly right over the restaurant. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Was hoping to get a nice MD meal. Looking for crab. Got the crab cake app. Which is described as jumbo lump crab meat. Not a chance. Back fin or tail meat at best. It was very shredded not thick chunks. I also had the shrimp stuffed with lobster. Thye cook shrimp, put them in a casarol dish and pour their crab cake imperial sauce on top of it. Not the serving I am use to seeing but at least this has nice pieces of crab. Unfortunately you over cook the shrimp by cooking it twice.

Place is old and a little run down but they are moving to a new location soon. Don't know if that will help the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Been dining here for years...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This local restaurant has been our favorite for many years, accessible to us by car and by boat. Except in the winter, we eat here once a month at least, sometimes more. In my opinion, the crabcakes are tied with another local favorite for best crabcakes purchased at a restaurant. I enjoy the fried shrimp, fish tacos, grouper fingers, grouper stuffed with crabmeat, chicken chesapeake and their rockfish when they have it. Friends say the fried oysters are excellent, but I'm not a big fan of oysters so I can't say for sure. The salads, cole slaw and iced tea are fresh. Our service has almost always been good but it really depends on the waiter/waitress. There is a beautiful view of the patuxent and the Thomas Johnson Bridge--a nice place to see the sunset.
*Note: In January 2014 the restaurant will move to a new location in Solomons, MD called "The Lighthouse Restaurant and Dock Bar"

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just a few months until they move to Solomon's Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Make reservations or arrive early for a porch table. They have outside seating and the bugs win't bother you if there is a good breeze, otherwise you better sit inside. The view overlooking the water is relaxing and the food is delicious! We have enjoyed a variety of meals at Clarke's Landing this summer; fried grouper stuffed with crabmeat, flounder, crab cakes, whatever we have ordered is always excellent. The restaurant will be moving to Solomon's Island, just a few miles away this winter, where the Lighthouse Restaurant was located before the fire.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clarke's Landing also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarke's Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.