We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Meets expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Only stayed one night for early departure from BWI. Super convenient and close to the airport.

Check In- Quick but the lady was not really friendly and could use hospitality refresh course. No smiles but I assume she was already on the defense because the King I had booked was oversold. Which honestly I didn't care since it was just a one night stay.

Rooms - very comfortable rooms! Personally, I found the beds uber comfortable. I slept well and no airport noise, which was my initial concern. Loved it! Amenities were great, microwave and fridge and most importantly, clean.

Wifi - not the best but not the worst.

Overall - for the purpose of my stay, it was good enough. I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

Did not have breakfast due to super early departure. They do offer round the clock coffee/tea at front desk.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    49
    18
    12
    3
See reviews for
39
29
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a decent, reasonably priced airport hotel. We were there for 3 nights and while satisfactory decided to move to a little more nicer hotel for the 4th night. Hotel has all the amenities you would need for a decent stay. Nice size room, comfortable beds (doubles not queens), microwave, minifridge, coffee maker, hair dryer. Free wifi internet worked great. Very roomy with lots of machines in workout room. They offer a free airport shuttle 24 hours a day that I noticed (we had a car rental). But there were things that after 3 nights that just generally annoyed me... 1. limited channels on TV 2. A/C worked fine and while not super noisy was the kind that every time it switched on, you had to increase the TV volume. 3. there were 2 computers with 1 printer in the lobby for guest use...there's no privacy and the couple times we needed to print out a map or info, there was always other guests on there looking at their Facebook pages...they all felt compelled to get off because others were not only waiting to use them but we could see their private pages. 4. While free breakfast is good offering alot of variety, it wasn't great. Eggs were that pre-made stuff and while there was always someone running around cleaning and refreshing supplies, it might be because they need more help, but a few times the canisters were out of coffee and pancake mix ran out. 5. And I always get annoyed when at 9 am you can hear housekeeping banging on the doors as they come down the hall. 6. Not that we used it but there was a washer and dryer placed oddly at the stairwell in the hall, right next to the exit door...no secure laundry room...would hate to be the room next to those machines if they were running.

While these things would not prevent me from staying here again....by the 4th night, I was just willing to pay more for a more quiet room and nicer facilities. The staff overall was nice and there's a Dennys right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on a business trip. Waited at the airport for over an hour for the shuttle to pick us up. Called several times and was assured each time that the shuttle would be there in 10 minutes. Finally took a cab, which only took 9 minutes to get to the hotel. Other than that, the amenities were fine - typical of a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this motel because we had stayed at the one in Ranson, West Va..
which we were very pleased with.
We went to the motel to make sure where it was at before going over to the Casino.
Kevin who was going to help us check in was super nice but the women who was there, RUDE !!
I think it was the manager,( don't know her name) told us we couldn't check in early (it was around 1:00 p.m.) which was okay since we weren't going to check in early anyway.
We asked her if there was a shuttle to the casino, she said yes but we would have to call when we were ready to come back to the motel later that night.
I took my friend to the casino and came back to the inn around 10 p.m. and wanting to make sure that the shuttle ran all night I asked her again if the shuttle ran all night.
Was told that the airport got first priority and that my friend would probably have to call a taxi cab at her own expense if she needed a ride back to the inn.
I asked her why they advertise they have around the clock shuttle if it doesn't pick up at certain times and she replied that is the was it is.
My friend called for a shuttle around 2:p.m. and had to wait for about an hour before being picked up.
So don't advertise something you don't provide.
Other then this women being RUDE !! everything else was very nice. room clean, good value for money, Breakfast was good and , eggs, cereal, toast, gravy and biscuits and more.
Kevin gave us directions to the Holiday Inn Express in Baltimore, Md. the next morning.
The young man was so polite and so helpful he deserves a lot of praise.

Room Tip: This is a great motel for the a clean, quite Inn close to the casino except don't relay on shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, 6 days ago
I would like to start off by apologizing for rude behavior you've experienced during your stay at our hotel. We will definitely address this issue to ensure that it doesn't happen again. However, shuttle service for our guest to and from the airport is our 1st priority and we must accommodate our airport guest before any other request. Every request within a 5 mile radius outside of the airport is a courtesy. Therefore we try to explain to our guest at the time of check-in or at the time of any shuttle request that we may not be able to pick you up in a timely manner if we have a high volume of shuttle request for the airport. Guest may sometimes need to take a cab at their own expense to and from the hotel. I apologize again for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We really appreciate your comments and feedback and we hope to see again soon. Thanks for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West and we appreciate your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is about 7 minutes from the BWI Airport. Complimentary shuttle service to/from the airport and Amtrak train station, and more. Rooms are not the quietest but very comfortable. Staff was very accommodating. Breakfast is complimentary but not exactly fine dining. Eggs are liquid/powdered and salty. Everything else is pre-cooked and heated in the kitchen. There is a Denny's right next door if you want cooked-to-order. Overall, good, basic, clean hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. It's a pleasure to be able to accommodate all of your lodging needs with the exception of breakfast. We really apologize for any inconvenience you've experienced with our breakfast bar selections. Unfortunately our breakfast items are a brand standard. However, I will be glad to forward your comments and feedback to the proper department for review. Again we thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been there 1 night so far amid 3-night stay. New or newish, clean, attractive decor all pluses. Breakfast bar perfect HIE style, with courteous, prompt attendants. Bathroom & bedroom mini suite very nice. Great water pressure even on high floor and plenty of hot water. Plenty of outlets. Excellent bed. Quiet despite being near airport. Got IHG Platinum upgrade. I'd even give it a 5 based on expectations scaled to type of property. But too many little things were or are wrong.

Pre-stay email to management for very small, routine requests got odd, unsatisfactory reply, and my followup got no reply. At midafternoon checkin front desk clerk left me hanging a long time while he handled a phone call; nobody backed him up and no asking caller to hold. So much for Platinum checkin.

Room was clean but looked like chambermaid had left in a hurry b4 finishing. Seat cushion was upright. Toilet seat was up. Shower curtain was half in, half out.

Tissues are cheap/scratchy. Minimal toiletries. Bare-bones TV selection.

I'd still give it a 4 based on reasonable expectations except this morning the alarm woke me at 5:15! Leftover white-noise setting from previous guest, apparently. Didn't know it was my job to check. Why? Because it isn't. Couldn't figure out in a hurry how to shut it off. Finally unplugged it but too much commotion to be able to get back to sleep.

Told desk clerk. Minimal "sorry."

AC noisy but that's normal.

I like this place but their sign says "Tell us how we're doing on TripAdvisor," so I have.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited Baltimore for the weekend to attend an Orioles game. Chose this hotel due to it being 10 minutes from the stadium, and free breakfast. First of all, this hotel does not offer the channel that carries the Orioles games, found it weird, had to visit a local bar to catch the evening game, before our game the next day.

Here comes the major fail. Complimentary breakfast was a complete disaster. There were six cases, pans for food offerings. Only ONE had anything in them, eggs.... The sausage, cinnamon buns, bagels, and fruit were all EMPTY. And to top it off, No Coffee at all...The trash can was overflowing on the top and the floor. This episode appeared to be a total failure of preparation and professionalism. The employees seemed absent and unavailable. We couldn't check out fast enough.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you've experienced during your stay with us. It was extremely busy at breakfast the weekend of your stay and we were trying to replenish the breakfast items as quickly as possible. However, we would like to make this matter right by you. If you would please give us a call at the hotel directly at 410-684-3388 so that we may resolve this issue. As far as the TV selection we have put in request to upgrade our TV selection to better accommodate our guest. Thanks for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Address: 7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hanover
#9 Business Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express BWI has heard your comments about the need to upgrade our hotel and are happy to report that we have just completed a 100% total renovation. From walls and cielings to carpet and furniture you will find we have thought of all your comments and needs. We eagerly look forward to your comments as you visit our location and see for yourself what a great product we have to compliment our staff that is eager to make your stay a great one. Hotel offers free shuttle service to BWI Airport & local attractions within 5 miles. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express BWI Airport Hotel West! Conveniently located just 7 minutes from BWI Airport; and 3 minutes from Arundel Mills Mall featuring over 200 stores, Dave & Buster's and Medieval Times Dinner Theatre. The hotel is an 18 minute drive to the Baltimore Inner Harbor, Baltimore Orioles at Camden Yards, and the home of the Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium. Other attractions include the Baltimore National Aquarium, Annapolis Naval Academy and Historic Annapolis, Six Flags, Timonium Fairgrounds and Washington DC points of interest. The hotel is minutes to Northrop Grumman, Daimler Chrysler, Siemens, John Hopkins, Ft. Meade and NSA. Enjoy the comfort and services you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express, including the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar with our signature Cinnamon Rolls and Simply Smart bedding and bath initiative. The hotel offers free local phone calls, high-speed Internet and shuttle 24/7 to BWI Airport, MARC Commuter Train, MTA Light Rail, and Amtrak Station. Tired of paying expensive parking fees at BWI Airport? Our park and fly package is the perfect solution! Make the Smart Choice for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - Bwi Airport West Hotel Hanover
Holiday Inn Hanover
Hanover Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.