We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad shuttle experience….” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Bad shuttle experience….”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here on a business trip. Waited at the airport for over an hour for the shuttle to pick us up. Called several times and was assured each time that the shuttle would be there in 10 minutes. Finally took a cab, which only took 9 minutes to get to the hotel. Other than that, the amenities were fine - typical of a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    48
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
39
27
12
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at this motel because we had stayed at the one in Ranson, West Va..
which we were very pleased with.
We went to the motel to make sure where it was at before going over to the Casino.
Kevin who was going to help us check in was super nice but the women who was there, RUDE !!
I think it was the manager,( don't know her name) told us we couldn't check in early (it was around 1:00 p.m.) which was okay since we weren't going to check in early anyway.
We asked her if there was a shuttle to the casino, she said yes but we would have to call when we were ready to come back to the motel later that night.
I took my friend to the casino and came back to the inn around 10 p.m. and wanting to make sure that the shuttle ran all night I asked her again if the shuttle ran all night.
Was told that the airport got first priority and that my friend would probably have to call a taxi cab at her own expense if she needed a ride back to the inn.
I asked her why they advertise they have around the clock shuttle if it doesn't pick up at certain times and she replied that is the was it is.
My friend called for a shuttle around 2:p.m. and had to wait for about an hour before being picked up.
So don't advertise something you don't provide.
Other then this women being RUDE !! everything else was very nice. room clean, good value for money, Breakfast was good and , eggs, cereal, toast, gravy and biscuits and more.
Kevin gave us directions to the Holiday Inn Express in Baltimore, Md. the next morning.
The young man was so polite and so helpful he deserves a lot of praise.

Room Tip: This is a great motel for the a clean, quite Inn close to the casino except don't relay on shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is about 7 minutes from the BWI Airport. Complimentary shuttle service to/from the airport and Amtrak train station, and more. Rooms are not the quietest but very comfortable. Staff was very accommodating. Breakfast is complimentary but not exactly fine dining. Eggs are liquid/powdered and salty. Everything else is pre-cooked and heated in the kitchen. There is a Denny's right next door if you want cooked-to-order. Overall, good, basic, clean hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Been there 1 night so far amid 3-night stay. New or newish, clean, attractive decor all pluses. Breakfast bar perfect HIE style, with courteous, prompt attendants. Bathroom & bedroom mini suite very nice. Great water pressure even on high floor and plenty of hot water. Plenty of outlets. Excellent bed. Quiet despite being near airport. Got IHG Platinum upgrade. I'd even give it a 5 based on expectations scaled to type of property. But too many little things were or are wrong.

Pre-stay email to management for very small, routine requests got odd, unsatisfactory reply, and my followup got no reply. At midafternoon checkin front desk clerk left me hanging a long time while he handled a phone call; nobody backed him up and no asking caller to hold. So much for Platinum checkin.

Room was clean but looked like chambermaid had left in a hurry b4 finishing. Seat cushion was upright. Toilet seat was up. Shower curtain was half in, half out.

Tissues are cheap/scratchy. Minimal toiletries. Bare-bones TV selection.

I'd still give it a 4 based on reasonable expectations except this morning the alarm woke me at 5:15! Leftover white-noise setting from previous guest, apparently. Didn't know it was my job to check. Why? Because it isn't. Couldn't figure out in a hurry how to shut it off. Finally unplugged it but too much commotion to be able to get back to sleep.

Told desk clerk. Minimal "sorry."

AC noisy but that's normal.

I like this place but their sign says "Tell us how we're doing on TripAdvisor," so I have.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited Baltimore for the weekend to attend an Orioles game. Chose this hotel due to it being 10 minutes from the stadium, and free breakfast. First of all, this hotel does not offer the channel that carries the Orioles games, found it weird, had to visit a local bar to catch the evening game, before our game the next day.

Here comes the major fail. Complimentary breakfast was a complete disaster. There were six cases, pans for food offerings. Only ONE had anything in them, eggs.... The sausage, cinnamon buns, bagels, and fruit were all EMPTY. And to top it off, No Coffee at all...The trash can was overflowing on the top and the floor. This episode appeared to be a total failure of preparation and professionalism. The employees seemed absent and unavailable. We couldn't check out fast enough.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am sorry but my husband and I thought this place had it all until.... BREAKFAST. We did the park, fly and sleep package before we traveled to our destination. Now to set the scene Id like you to imagine hearing the Bates motel music before the scary shower scene.... Enter, BREAKFAST. First of all we paid EXTRA for this hotel for a free , hot breakfast , When we arrived downstairs there was about 1 tablespoon of scrambled eggs, the pancake server was broken and the sausage looked like something out of the dark ages. We waited for about 20 minutes along with the other poor souls of the free breakfast betrayal for more scrambled eggs... Finally, we hoped, the eggs had finally arrived.. to everyone's horror they were unidentifiable yellow tacos called eggs with puke colored cheese wiz on the inside.... I took one and starred at it and decided Id rather not eat it. My husband in his bravery gobbled one down. His description will linger in my ears forever.. he called it, tasteless Styrofoam and I chuckled as he scraped the puke colored cheese wiz from the inside of this egg taco. Folks. if you want I nice place that's close to the airport with a free shuttle and free parking .. this is your place ! However, take our advise and warning... Go next door and pay a few bucks for a nice Denny's breakfast !

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Of course I read the bad reviews--I always do before choosing a place to stay or eat. This hotel had a few bad reviews, but the location was right so we spent a night there. Our experience was great. None of the problems other reviewers cited. Friendly service, immaculate lobby and rooms, quiet, good hot water supply, nice bed, complete free breakfast. Good price too.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks PJ Maxim, we really appreciate your wonderful comments and feedback. I'm glad we were able to accommodate all of your lodging needs. As we strive to provide our guest with the best customer service it is our pleasure to make you feel like you're home away from home. Thanks for choosing us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Address: 7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hanover
#9 Business Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express BWI has heard your comments about the need to upgrade our hotel and are happy to report that we have just completed a 100% total renovation. From walls and cielings to carpet and furniture you will find we have thought of all your comments and needs. We eagerly look forward to your comments as you visit our location and see for yourself what a great product we have to compliment our staff that is eager to make your stay a great one. Hotel offers free shuttle service to BWI Airport & local attractions within 5 miles. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express BWI Airport Hotel West! Conveniently located just 7 minutes from BWI Airport; and 3 minutes from Arundel Mills Mall featuring over 200 stores, Dave & Buster's and Medieval Times Dinner Theatre. The hotel is an 18 minute drive to the Baltimore Inner Harbor, Baltimore Orioles at Camden Yards, and the home of the Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium. Other attractions include the Baltimore National Aquarium, Annapolis Naval Academy and Historic Annapolis, Six Flags, Timonium Fairgrounds and Washington DC points of interest. The hotel is minutes to Northrop Grumman, Daimler Chrysler, Siemens, John Hopkins, Ft. Meade and NSA. Enjoy the comfort and services you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express, including the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar with our signature Cinnamon Rolls and Simply Smart bedding and bath initiative. The hotel offers free local phone calls, high-speed Internet and shuttle 24/7 to BWI Airport, MARC Commuter Train, MTA Light Rail, and Amtrak Station. Tired of paying expensive parking fees at BWI Airport? Our park and fly package is the perfect solution! Make the Smart Choice for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - Bwi Airport West Hotel Hanover
Holiday Inn Hanover
Hanover Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.