We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Broderick, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Checked in to allow myself one more little day of exploring. Decided at 3pm to head to Baltimore Inner Harbor for dinner and super fast sightseeing. The shuttle driver took me to the light rail, gave me explicit instructions on what to do and reminded me to be back before the light rail stopped running. While I made it back it was an hour after I told him I would. I called hotel and the dispatched him to the train station, not the light rail. Rather than simply following the instruction, he decided to check for me first and if I wasn't me, then go to the train station. He picked me up in a very timely manner and said, "I remembered you were alone and wanted to make sure you got back safely." I love that he didn't forget about me. All the staff were attentive and I'm glad I stayed there.

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, 2 days ago
I'm glad our staff took great care of you and provided outstanding customer service during your stay with us. We hope that you've enjoyed your time sight seeing at the beautiful Baltimore Inner Harbor. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback as we strive to provide our guest with the best customer service. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    44
    13
    11
    3
See reviews for
36
24
11
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Needed a hotel to stay at before an early am flight. They have a shuttle and allow you to leave your car for up to 14 days. The room was nice, clean, and exactly what I would expect from a HIE. The front desk staff was friendly and the shuttle was prompt. Won't have to look around again, know exactly where I will stay next time I need a BWI hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We really appreciate your loyalty to our brand and that we were able to provide you with excellent customer service during your stay with us. We hope you've had the chance to enjoy our nice hot breakfast along with our delicious signature cinnamon rolls before your departure. Thanks for taking the time to give us your comments and feedback and we hope to see you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wife and I arrived just before 10:30 on Wednesday 3/12 (today) and even though the hotel had been sold out the night before, Front Desk Terrell contact Housekeeping to find when first room would be ready. Was in room just after 11:00. This allowed me to take a short nap before going to my nephew's Air Force Retirement Social this afternoon. Was told could go get bite from Breakfast Bar while we waited for room.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your comments and feedback. We're glad to be able to accommodate and provide you with great customer service during your stay. Congrats to your nephew's retirement in the Air Force! We hope his ceremony was a huge success! We really appreciate your loyalty to our brand and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Waited 45 minutes for shuttle to takes us to Maryland Live! Driver arrived stated no shuttle to that location on this night. Front desk advised driver yes he was to provide shuttle. The driver told us we would have to wait another hour to be taken to that location!!!! It is less than a 5 minute drive. After wasting an hour of our 24 hour get away we decided to drive instead of wasting another hour. Never again!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you've experienced regarding our shuttle service during your stay with us. We offer free shuttle service anywhere within a five mile radius on availability status only. Due to our property being a airport property, the airport shuttle request are our first priority. We really apologize for the miscommunication on our part and hope that you'll give us another opportunity to turn your experience with us into a great one. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI West and we hope to see again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

After researching, frowning at prices, and cursing at location, we finally settled on the Holiday Inn Express. It was a good life decision. Tawanna and Kevin helped us check in and they could not have been more down to earth and nice.

The room was standard. There wasn't anything special about it. The beds were comfortable and they had pillows with different firmness on it. The television was lacking channels, but that could be that there was nothing on that day. We weren't staying in the hotel that long. We had to go watch people jousting while feasting at Medieval Times.

We definitely utilized the shuttle service. We went down to the lobby and hung out with Tawanna and Kevin at the front desk. They were my favorite people there, by far! We weren't just guests there, we were family! The shuttle was late due to traffic at the mall, but they kept us posted and also said that they could give us a call to our room when it arrived. We were having too much fun in the lobby chatting with people that we stayed.

Now, when we were done with our romantic getaway, we called for a shuttle pick up. They were very honest with us saying that it would take some time for us to get picked up due to the snow and crowds. About 30 minutes later, we were crammed in the van with the coolest shuttle driver! Though it was cold and there was a good amount of waiting, we still ended up having fun.
My boyfriend and I will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Hello Haillie, glad we were your choice for your romantic getaway. Hope you had a great time at Medieval Times. I've been and it's a great show! I'm glad Kevin and Tawanna took great care of you during your stay with us. I'll be sure to pass your positive comments and feedback along to them both. We do apologize for the wait times you've encountered from our shuttle service. The mall can be very congested from time to time especially during inclement weather. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback. I'm glad we were able to accommodate all of your lodging needs. Again we thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

got to the hotel around 4 and the room wasn't ready. Marlo and Tawana (sp?) were great and put a rush in to get the room ready. room was nice and clean. breakfast was super crowded but again, the staff did a great job keeping everything filled. and there was bacon! would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Hi Michelle, we really apologize for the delay at check-in. I'm glad to see that Marlo and Tawanna were able to assist you in a timely manner. I hope your overall stay with us was very enjoyable. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us you comments and feedback. Glad you've had the chance to enjoy our complementary hot breakfast, especially the bacon! I hope you didn't forget to try one of delicious signature cinnamon rolls, there're a big hit at out breakfast bar! Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West we value your loyalty and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

My daughter and I located this hotel after a rather long search. We needed a place with easy access to the airport but also easy access from local highways. We drove up from NC to meet her as she flew up from FL. It was a very nice facility and very comfortable. The breakfast was great and just what we needed. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
We would like start by apologizing for the slamming exit doors. Hopefully your next visit with us will be a more pleasant stay regarding the location of your room. We hope you were able to enjoy our hot breakfast featuring our delicious signature cinnamon rolls during your stay with us. We also offer free shuttle service based on availability anywhere within a 5 mile radius. Which we have several restaurants in the local area as well as the Arundel Mills Mall and Maryland Live Casino within a mile of our hotel. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI West we really appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Address: 7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hanover
#9 Business Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express BWI has heard your comments about the need to upgrade our hotel and are happy to report that we have just completed a 100% total renovation. From walls and cielings to carpet and furniture you will find we have thought of all your comments and needs. We eagerly look forward to your comments as you visit our location and see for yourself what a great product we have to compliment our staff that is eager to make your stay a great one. Hotel offers free shuttle service to BWI Airport & local attractions within 5 miles. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express BWI Airport Hotel West! Conveniently located just 7 minutes from BWI Airport; and 3 minutes from Arundel Mills Mall featuring over 200 stores, Dave & Buster's and Medieval Times Dinner Theatre. The hotel is an 18 minute drive to the Baltimore Inner Harbor, Baltimore Orioles at Camden Yards, and the home of the Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium. Other attractions include the Baltimore National Aquarium, Annapolis Naval Academy and Historic Annapolis, Six Flags, Timonium Fairgrounds and Washington DC points of interest. The hotel is minutes to Northrop Grumman, Daimler Chrysler, Siemens, John Hopkins, Ft. Meade and NSA. Enjoy the comfort and services you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express, including the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar with our signature Cinnamon Rolls and Simply Smart bedding and bath initiative. The hotel offers free local phone calls, high-speed Internet and shuttle 24/7 to BWI Airport, MARC Commuter Train, MTA Light Rail, and Amtrak Station. Tired of paying expensive parking fees at BWI Airport? Our park and fly package is the perfect solution! Make the Smart Choice for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - Bwi Airport West Hotel Hanover
Holiday Inn Hanover
Hanover Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.