We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel; communication needs work.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Hanover
York, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel; communication needs work.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

The hotel was fine. The room was clean and comfortable and it was just as promised. I would definitely stay here again.

The only snag was the shuttle. Since we stayed Christmas night, planning to fly out at 6:30 a.m., I called the hotel specifically to find out if the shuttle was running on a holiday. The desk person assured me it was. When we checked in, we were informed that they would have to call us a cab since it was a holiday, but that they would pay for it. In the morning, we called the desk just to make sure we had a cab. Nothing had been said to the person on duty. She did call us a cab and gave us $12.00 to cover it. However, the cabfare was $20.00.

So, our experience wasn't awful or anything--just a bit stressful worrying about getting to the airport in the morning. The hotel is still very nice, and definitely it was a good value.

  • Liked — Location, available park, sleep, fly service
  • Disliked — Shuttle difficulties
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    61
    25
    16
    10
See reviews for
38
36
22
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Shore, MD
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

We got a great rate on this Holiday Inn Express through Priceline.com and would feel lucky to get it again if we were staying in the area. The front desk staff were very helpful and welcoming. and there were fresh baked cookies at the front desk. The hotel is also located near Arundel Mills Mall that has many options for dining. The room, facilities, and breakfast are typical Holiday Inn Express: clean, bright, many channels on cable, decent breakfast, comfortable beds. This hotel also has a great exercise room with lots of equipment. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

This stay was our second at this Holiday Inn Express since it's very convenient to our son's apartment. This time we were a little worried because when we were checking in, it appeared that many members of a family were there for a wedding. Our room was also quite near the elevator. We didn't hear a thing all night! They provide a variety of pillows with labels embroidered on the cases to tell you which ones are firm and which are soft. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room was clean and attractive. The cable even had ESPN 2 so we could watch our favorite team. We will stay here whenever we are in the area.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

Hotels get pricy in the city center so it was cheaper to stay here and drive into the city daily to tour. The hotel is away from the flight path of the airport so there was no noise. Everything you come to depend upon from a Holiday Inn Express was there - great bedding, wi-fi, free breakfast buffet, etc. In addition, the staff was helpful and went beyond expectations by having a 3-page list of clear instructions on how to drive to and from Baltimore, Annapolis, the airport, and even the nearby mall. The only negative was a sign that said there was a $50 additional charge put on your credit card and removed within ten days to pay for any damage caused to the room. We suspected that the hotel was used by sports fans at times and they might have had problems post-gametime. We're not sure the temporary charge was ever made but the sign was prominent.

  • Liked — Free wi-fi and convenient location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

Had free shuttle pick us up at the BWI Marc/Amtrak station - just called hotel when we arrived and the shuttle was there 15 minutes later.

Very nice people working at this hotel - all front desk staff, breakfast person and both shuttle drivers.

Good value for room - only staying long enough to sleep and eat a quick breakfast. Room was clean - but the beds were small - we were sure they were not Queen size - must have been Full size beds.

Free hotel shuttle to BWI Airport in morning - upon checking in, staff asks if you want a wake up call next morning and the shuttle service - very impressive.

  • Liked — close to airport
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

Check in: Toilet had urine had to clean my self! Floor was filthy in room. Check in had us wait till 4pm to check in and we were the first people to arrive. Slow (---) service. Expensive! seeing the red roof is right next door for half the price and is nicer! :)

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2007

The staff were very friendly, changing our room for a room with a pull-out bed, since our daughter was joining us. When we asked for pillows and a blanket, the staff brought them fast and with a smile. The rooms were clean, the air conditioner worked well, and the room was a decent size. We were quite satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - Bwi Airport West Hotel Hanover
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - Bwi Airport West Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore
Holiday Inn Hanover
Hanover Holiday Inn
Address: 7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hanover
#7 Business Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express BWI has heard your comments about the need to upgrade our hotel and are happy to report that we have just completed a 100% total renovation. From walls and cielings to carpet and furniture you will find we have thought of all your comments and needs. We eagerly look forward to your comments as you visit our location and see for yourself what a great product we have to compliment our staff that is eager to make your stay a great one. Hotel offers free shuttle service to BWI Airport & local attractions within 5 miles. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express BWI Airport Hotel West! Conveniently located just 7 minutes from BWI Airport; and 3 minutes from Arundel Mills Mall featuring over 200 stores, Dave & Buster's and Medieval Times Dinner Theatre. The hotel is an 18 minute drive to the Baltimore Inner Harbor, Baltimore Orioles at Camden Yards, and the home of the Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium. Other attractions include the Baltimore National Aquarium, Annapolis Naval Academy and Historic Annapolis, Six Flags, Timonium Fairgrounds and Washington DC points of interest. The hotel is minutes to Northrop Grumman, Daimler Chrysler, Siemens, John Hopkins, Ft. Meade and NSA. Enjoy the comfort and services you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express, including the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar with our signature Cinnamon Rolls and Simply Smart bedding and bath initiative. The hotel offers free local phone calls, high-speed Internet and shuttle 24/7 to BWI Airport, MARC Commuter Train, MTA Light Rail, and Amtrak Station. Tired of paying expensive parking fees at BWI Airport? Our park and fly package is the perfect solution! Make the Smart Choice for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.