We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating and pleasant staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Hanover
Euclid, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very accommodating and pleasant staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for our family reunion. The staff was exceptional. Very accommodating and pleasant. Group rate was very good. Only setbacks: front desk could have had more staff for check in. There was another family reunion and other groups checking it at same time. Also took too long for rooms to be cleaned. However, when cleaned they were very clean. Thanks to Shawn, Towana, Terrell, Pauline, Kevin and especially Erica who took very good care of me through the many changes of confirmations. Excellent customer service which is very important. I would recommend the HIE BWI Airport to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. It's wonderful to see that our staff took great care of you as well as being able to accommodate all of your lodging needs. We really want to apologize for the delay in checking in and for all of your patience during that process. It is always a pleasure hosting wonderful families for their family reunions. Everyone was very nice and a pleasure to be of service to. We also want to thank you for taking the time to give us your comments and feedback as it helps us to improve and provide our guest with the best customer service. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    40
    11
    11
    3
See reviews for
34
20
10
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you stay a night here you can park you car for free for up to 30 days, possibly more if you make direct arrangements. It is a good HI Express, rooms are clean, linens are clean, beds comfortable, everything was in working order. If you are doing park and fly you won't get discounted rates, like military, senior and such but the cost is reasonable and much less than paying daily parking if you stay longer than a few days. So if you live locally and are flying out of BWI and need to park your car for a week or more, this is the place to stay. Only place I could find that allowed 30 days free parking near BWI. There is a Denny's on the property; but nothing else within walking distance. Lots of options within driving distance.

Room Tip: Higher floors away from the Denny's side are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad you've had the chance to take advantage of our Park Stay and Go Package which is a great savings on parking. I really apologize if there were any miscommunication as far as the details of the package. The package includes parking your car up to 14 days only and each additional day $5.00 per day there after. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We held our 2014 Family Reunion at your facility and it could not have been a better choice. The staff at the front desk were professional, kind, courteous. The management staff (particularly Tawanna, Kim and Shawn) were excellent ... very professional but also very personable. There was not one request that we made (and we made many!!!) that they did not go out of their way to make it happen and accommodate us. With over 97 attendees over this past weekend, I don't know of any venue that would have been able to handle us so well. Thank you HE BWI AIR!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We really appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to give us your comments and feedback as it helps us to provide the best customer service that we can for our guest. We would like to thank you for allowing us to host your special event and we hope to be of service to you for your next one. It was a great pleasure to have had such great people here at our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels. Thanks again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was there for 3 nites for a family reunion. the staff and managers were all extremely helpful, professional, and accomodating. i definitely will recommend to others.

(thanks Sean/Shawn///i forget how he spells his name!)

The room was comfortable and clean. the hallways were kept up and brightly lit. the room we used for our events was clean and in a great spot. a bit too small to comfortably sit "9-10 to round tables,10 tables"...perhaps 6 to 8 MAX (total of 70-80 maybe). but otherwise it served its purpose

FOOD option hint:
Although Dennys is 'attached' to the hotel, "hidden" behind the hotel is a plaza that offers Pakistani, Indian, Mexican, Thai and even dunkin donuts/baskin robbins! Dennys is not 'the only' option within walking distance.

i was slightly disappointed that despite arriving at noon (yes, i know check in isnt until 3pm) My room was still not available till after 5p. "fortunately" i was able to stay busy organizing family stuff, however, had i been 'doing nothing', i would imagine i would have been pretty perturbed sitting and waiting the extra 2hrs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. It was a pleasure having you here at our hotel for your family reunion. We would like to sincerely apologize for the delayed check-in and we really thank you for your patience during your wait. It great to know that we were able to accommodate all of your lodging needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback as it helps us to ensure the best customer service that we can provide for our guest. We hope to see you again next year for your special event. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we really appreciate your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

First and foremost, the smoking station is right by the entrance. I mean seriously, the last thing I want walking into a hotel is walk through a cloud of someone's cigarette smoke. Not cool. The room was pretty comfortable and at least the coffee pot clean, however the shower had mold in the grout and on the caulking. I don't allow mold in my home, let alone do I want to see it in the hotel. Breakfast was the standard HIE setup, but the carpet and area dirty with crumbs - and I was one of the first people at breakfast as it opened. The front desk check in and checkout process was pretty slow. All in all... I'll look for a different place next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Becky K,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Again, thank you for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The front office staff was incredibly rude and very inexperienced. Was charged $50 a day incidental fee without being notified of this. Upon checkout, they charged me an addditional $178.54 completely unauthorized, and refuse to refund my money. Tried contacting hotel and was told management would not get back to me for at least 2 days. They won't even provide the general manager's name to contact for a complaint. I will NEVER utilize this hotel again, and hope every other customer will STAY AWAY!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We would like to apologize for your unpleasant experienced during your stay at our hotel. Our hotel as well as many other hotels authorizes room and tax for your entire stay along with a $50 authorization for incidentals, which is a one time authorization not per night. When using a debit card it automatically places the total of your stay plus incidentals on hold therefore removing the funds from your bank account. The room and tax is then actually charged at the time of check out in which the $50 for incidental will fall back into the account within 7-10 business days depending on your financial institution. This policy is explained at the time of check in as well as a sign that is placed at the front desk. As a courtesy we issued a credit back to your account for the half day rate that you were charged for leaving late on the day of your departure as well contacting your financial institution to have any funds that we were not using to be released back into your account. Again we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that this matter may have caused you and we hope that you'll give us another chance to make your stay with us a great experience. Thanks again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West and we forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stay here for Maryland live the hotel was nice and clean shutter service was excellent the staff was friendly and helpful we will stay again . Pool attendant was very friendly . I can't say enough about the great service we received while we thier we check in Friday after midnight and took shutter to casino then on Saturday we went shopping and next door to the hilton for happy hour had a ball

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad to see that you've had a wonderful experience here at our hotel as well as enjoying our great local attractions. It was our pleasure to be able to accommodate all of your lodging needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback. It helps us to improve and provide our guest with the best customer service. Thanks again for choosing us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Address: 7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hanover
#7 Business Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express BWI has heard your comments about the need to upgrade our hotel and are happy to report that we have just completed a 100% total renovation. From walls and cielings to carpet and furniture you will find we have thought of all your comments and needs. We eagerly look forward to your comments as you visit our location and see for yourself what a great product we have to compliment our staff that is eager to make your stay a great one. Hotel offers free shuttle service to BWI Airport & local attractions within 5 miles. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express BWI Airport Hotel West! Conveniently located just 7 minutes from BWI Airport; and 3 minutes from Arundel Mills Mall featuring over 200 stores, Dave & Buster's and Medieval Times Dinner Theatre. The hotel is an 18 minute drive to the Baltimore Inner Harbor, Baltimore Orioles at Camden Yards, and the home of the Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium. Other attractions include the Baltimore National Aquarium, Annapolis Naval Academy and Historic Annapolis, Six Flags, Timonium Fairgrounds and Washington DC points of interest. The hotel is minutes to Northrop Grumman, Daimler Chrysler, Siemens, John Hopkins, Ft. Meade and NSA. Enjoy the comfort and services you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express, including the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar with our signature Cinnamon Rolls and Simply Smart bedding and bath initiative. The hotel offers free local phone calls, high-speed Internet and shuttle 24/7 to BWI Airport, MARC Commuter Train, MTA Light Rail, and Amtrak Station. Tired of paying expensive parking fees at BWI Airport? Our park and fly package is the perfect solution! Make the Smart Choice for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - Bwi Airport West Hotel Hanover
Holiday Inn Hanover
Hanover Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.