We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Hanover
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Skip it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First and foremost, the smoking station is right by the entrance. I mean seriously, the last thing I want walking into a hotel is walk through a cloud of someone's cigarette smoke. Not cool. The room was pretty comfortable and at least the coffee pot clean, however the shower had mold in the grout and on the caulking. I don't allow mold in my home, let alone do I want to see it in the hotel. Breakfast was the standard HIE setup, but the carpet and area dirty with crumbs - and I was one of the first people at breakfast as it opened. The front desk check in and checkout process was pretty slow. All in all... I'll look for a different place next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    33
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
26
16
7
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The front office staff was incredibly rude and very inexperienced. Was charged $50 a day incidental fee without being notified of this. Upon checkout, they charged me an addditional $178.54 completely unauthorized, and refuse to refund my money. Tried contacting hotel and was told management would not get back to me for at least 2 days. They won't even provide the general manager's name to contact for a complaint. I will NEVER utilize this hotel again, and hope every other customer will STAY AWAY!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We would like to apologize for your unpleasant experienced during your stay at our hotel. Our hotel as well as many other hotels authorizes room and tax for your entire stay along with a $50 authorization for incidentals, which is a one time authorization not per night. When using a debit card it automatically places the total of your stay plus incidentals on hold therefore removing the funds from your bank account. The room and tax is then actually charged at the time of check out in which the $50 for incidental will fall back into the account within 7-10 business days depending on your financial institution. This policy is explained at the time of check in as well as a sign that is placed at the front desk. As a courtesy we issued a credit back to your account for the half day rate that you were charged for leaving late on the day of your departure as well contacting your financial institution to have any funds that we were not using to be released back into your account. Again we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that this matter may have caused you and we hope that you'll give us another chance to make your stay with us a great experience. Thanks again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West and we forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stay here for Maryland live the hotel was nice and clean shutter service was excellent the staff was friendly and helpful we will stay again . Pool attendant was very friendly . I can't say enough about the great service we received while we thier we check in Friday after midnight and took shutter to casino then on Saturday we went shopping and next door to the hilton for happy hour had a ball

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad to see that you've had a wonderful experience here at our hotel as well as enjoying our great local attractions. It was our pleasure to be able to accommodate all of your lodging needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback. It helps us to improve and provide our guest with the best customer service. Thanks again for choosing us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed overnight to fly out early in the morning. Great room. We were in a King Suite (small upcharge for a wonderful room). Loved the separate bedroom. Huge bathroom. Room was really quiet. Had an early flight - had to leave before breakfast but we were told that we could get "To Go Bags" in the morning to take with us. Ok, it wasn't breakfast, but it was nice and held us over. Shuttle driver was great. Very personable. Upon our return (after 11PM) we called for the shuttle. They were there to get us in around 15 minutes - which is about how long it takes to get from the hotel to the terminal. Will definitely stay here again in the fall on our next trip out of BWI.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad that we were able to accommodate all of your lodging needs. It's wonderful to see that you had the chance to enjoy one of our luxurious king suites. It's a wonderful room especially for a families with children. Too bad you didn't have the chance to experience our lovely complimentary breakfast. Maybe on your next visit you'll have the chance to do so as well as visiting some of our wonderful local attractions. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback. As it help us to improve and provide our guest with the best customer service. Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Not sure if it's just the location(area in general) or close to airport, but I paid $416 for a 2 night stay at this hotel. I did not have a choice..needed because of the shuttle. The shuttle driver was excellent (Stacy) and the front desk staff, Derek? was warm and friendly. But the price, the loud clientele, the folks hanging out in the parking lot next to Denny's made me feel a little unsafe. The shuttle was ready to go early in the morning and I appreciate the very early wake up call. Seemed well organized. Will I stay again? Yes, if I can negotiate the price. The friendly staff made the stay bearable. The room was clean and had a refrigerator and microwave which proved very useful..but a little expensive for a Holiday Inn Express. Should not have been more than $149/night max.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience due to the rate of your stay with us. Our prices sometimes vary based on certain events in the area. We're glad to see outside of the price that we were able to make your stay a pleasant one. It's our pleasure to be able to accommodate all of your lodging needs and that our staff made you feel very welcoming. We really appreciate you choosing our hotel and taking the time to give us your comments and feedback. It helps us to provide our guest with the best customer service than we can. Thanks again for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We value your loyalty and look forward to seeing again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Find somewhere else to stay! After a 4 hour flight delay flying into BWI, the only thing I wanted to do was to take a shower and fall into bed for an early AM meeting. Unfortunately that was not the case as I had to wait over an hour for the shuttle to pick me up at the airport. After making 4 calls into the front desk, Manager Vicki finally got the driver to pick me up at the curb. She was able to help me on the room rate and gave me a free breakfast and drink voucher. The room was clean and comfortable, however, the whole shuttle fiasco gave me a very poor first impression of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear ZWERGLDAD,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate issues with the shuttle prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I arrived after midnight and went straight to my room to get some sleep before my 8AM flight from BWI. There was a party in a room nearby, and the noise level was unbearable. I called the front desk but they didn't do anything. I could not sleep until after 2AM, and had to wake up at 6AM to go to the airport. The shuttle driver was a very nice man, but he would just not stop talking loudly, even if I barely replied to his remarks and made it clear that I was not in the mood for a chat (it was early, and I had not slept more than a few hours). Overall, the place was clean and comfortable, but everybody I dealt with was extremely unprofessional.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear M L,

Thank you for staying with us during your business trip and for writing a candid review. We’re glad that our location was suitable to your business travel. On the other hand, we are sorry for the challenges you had with the noise. Your feedback regarding this is highly appreciated as this is our best resource for improvements and achieving superior guest satisfaction. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Address: 7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express BWI has heard your comments about the need to upgrade our hotel and are happy to report that we have just completed a 100% total renovation. From walls and cielings to carpet and furniture you will find we have thought of all your comments and needs. We eagerly look forward to your comments as you visit our location and see for yourself what a great product we have to compliment our staff that is eager to make your stay a great one. Hotel offers free shuttle service to BWI Airport & local attractions within 5 miles. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express BWI Airport Hotel West! Conveniently located just 7 minutes from BWI Airport; and 3 minutes from Arundel Mills Mall featuring over 200 stores, Dave & Buster's and Medieval Times Dinner Theatre. The hotel is an 18 minute drive to the Baltimore Inner Harbor, Baltimore Orioles at Camden Yards, and the home of the Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium. Other attractions include the Baltimore National Aquarium, Annapolis Naval Academy and Historic Annapolis, Six Flags, Timonium Fairgrounds and Washington DC points of interest. The hotel is minutes to Northrop Grumman, Daimler Chrysler, Siemens, John Hopkins, Ft. Meade and NSA. Enjoy the comfort and services you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express, including the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar with our signature Cinnamon Rolls and Simply Smart bedding and bath initiative. The hotel offers free local phone calls, high-speed Internet and shuttle 24/7 to BWI Airport, MARC Commuter Train, MTA Light Rail, and Amtrak Station. Tired of paying expensive parking fees at BWI Airport? Our park and fly package is the perfect solution! Make the Smart Choice for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - Bwi Airport West Hotel Hanover
Holiday Inn Hanover
Hanover Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.