We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Hanover
Albany NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights -- Saturday and Sunday. While we had previously stayed numerous times at this hotel, this was the first in a while for us. We were very pleased with the stay and would recommend it to others.

Our flight arrived at 7 in the morning. We picked up the rental car and went to the hotel to see how early we could check in. The person working at the front desk asked us to check back around noon. When we returned, we had been upgraded, but that room was not ready. However, it we wanted a regular room, they had one available. The upgrade was not important, but a nap was (we had woken up at 3:00 a.m. to catch our flight).

Our room was a standard king on the first floor. Of all the times we had stayed at this hotel, this was our the first time we had been given a first floor room. I was a little concerned about noise, since we faced the parking lot and our room was the first after you walked through the doors. While we did hear some things, the noise did not affect our sleep.

The room was nice, very clean. Of course, having a fridge and a microwave is always nice. The free wi-fi worked just fine for us. Breakfast is the morning was the standard HIExpress breakfast. The area is a little crowded, but we didn't run into any issues. It was nice that they had the flight times up on the screen in the hotel lobby.

This is not a five-star hotel, but is perfect for a place to sleep. The hotel was very clean and the staff we encountered were friendly. We will definitely stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. Glad to see that we were able to accommodate all of your lodging needs and that your stay was a pleasant one. We really appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and our brand. We also appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback as it helps us to provide our guest with the best customer service. Again we thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    40
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
33
18
10
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here last weekend for a family event. While it was used pretty much as a place to shower and sleep only, they did a good job. The room was clean and contained a dorm sized fridge and microwave that came in handy for our sandwich stuff we had packed for our 7 hr drive over. The lobby had fresh fruit infused water which was so refreshing after the drive. The breakfast was excellent as well. They offered a small selection of eggs/sausage/biscuits and warm cinnamon rolls, it was all very good. It was our first time staying at a holiday inn express. I would stay with this brand again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're that we were able to fulfill all of your lodging needs. We're sorry you didn't have the chance to enjoy some of our local attractions. Maybe on your next visit with us you will have the time to visit some of our great local attractions such as; Maryland Live Casino, Medevil Times, Arundel Mills Outlet Mall, Dave N Busters and more. At least you had the opportunity to enjoy our wonderful hot breakfast with our signature cinnamon rolls. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback as it helps us to ensure great customer service for our guest. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We checked into this hotel over the weekend to have a place to sleep during a family event. It was perfect for that. Everywhere we needed to be it was less than a 15 minute drive. There is a larger sized dorm room fridge and a microwave in each room. They serve infused water in the lobby at all times which after a 7 hour drive tastes so refreshing. The rooms were very clean. I didn't care for the pillows provided. I just couldn't get comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. It was not your typical bagels and cereal place. They had sausage biscuits and gravy as well as eggs. I had never stayed at a holiday in express before. If they are all like this I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad we were able to accomodate all of your lodging needs, We hope your family events was a success and that your next visit with us you'll get the chance to enjoy some of our local attractions. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback as it helps us to provide great customer service to our guest. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My family and I used the park and stay option.The shuttle service was great and the hotel and staff were great! Rooms were clean and the Dennys restaurant next door is a nice touch.Overall there's nothing truly bad to say about anything.If your flying out of B.W.I. this is the place to stay.Do the park and stay package it saves time and hassle.I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad we were able to accomodate all of your lodging needs. We hope you had a wonderful time on your vacation and maybe during your next visit with us you'll have the chance to visit some of our great local attractions as well. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback as it helps us to provide our guest with the best customer service. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a one night stay before an early morning flight. The room was nice and clean as well we had a good breakfast.

The front staff when we checked was really rude. We had to go back down to the front desk three times to initially into the room as the front desk clerk could not correctly get our keys to work. Each time the front desk staff yelled at us because they keys did not work. We were also not acknowledged as a IHG Rewards Platinum member which never happens at all the IHG hotels I stay at in a year.

The elevatosr are really slow and it takes a while for one to show up.

I will stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Stay on a low floor so you do not have rely on the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience you've experienced during your stay at our hotel regarding the issues with your keys and the rudeness of the Guest Service Agent. We will definately forward your comments and feedback to the proper departments for review to ensure that this issue does not occur again. We will also like to apologize for not acknowledging your status as a IHG Rewards Platinum Member as we value your loyalty with the IHG Brand. If there anything we can do to make this matter right by you please contact us directly at the hotel at 410-684-3388. As always we thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels to make your next stay a great one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Used this hotel to spend one night prior to vacation and to leave the car. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The rooms and entire hotel were very clean. The breakfast was fresh and plenty to choose from. Shuttle service was timely and drivers helpful. The only reason I didn't rate it excellent was the walls were really thin and you could hear everything in the hallway and in the rooms next door. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay here at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the noise level of the hotel regarding the thin walls. I hope you're having a wonderful time on your vaction! It's our pleasure to be able to secure your vehicle while you're away. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback. As always we thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We look forward to seeing when you return. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

No worries about how to get to my hotel! I called the hotel and they sent someone to pick me up. This was great for me because my daughter and I were coming from different states to meet in Baltimore. She arrived early in the morning (1:05am) arrived at 1:30pm. A relief to me was that they were picking up my daughter early in the morning (even though she is 26, I still worry about her). And when she was ready to go back to the airport area and pick up a rental car, HIE staff took care of her again.
Room was great, breakfast was great! Overall the hotel is in a great location and staff are very friendly. I plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. Glad to see that you've really enjoyed your stay here at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to be able to accomodate all of our guest needs. We hope you had the chance to enjoy some of local attractions in the area such as Casino Live, Medevil Times the big outlet mall (Arundel Mills) etc. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback as it helps us to provide better customer service for our guest. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Address: 7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express BWI has heard your comments about the need to upgrade our hotel and are happy to report that we have just completed a 100% total renovation. From walls and cielings to carpet and furniture you will find we have thought of all your comments and needs. We eagerly look forward to your comments as you visit our location and see for yourself what a great product we have to compliment our staff that is eager to make your stay a great one. Hotel offers free shuttle service to BWI Airport & local attractions within 5 miles. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express BWI Airport Hotel West! Conveniently located just 7 minutes from BWI Airport; and 3 minutes from Arundel Mills Mall featuring over 200 stores, Dave & Buster's and Medieval Times Dinner Theatre. The hotel is an 18 minute drive to the Baltimore Inner Harbor, Baltimore Orioles at Camden Yards, and the home of the Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium. Other attractions include the Baltimore National Aquarium, Annapolis Naval Academy and Historic Annapolis, Six Flags, Timonium Fairgrounds and Washington DC points of interest. The hotel is minutes to Northrop Grumman, Daimler Chrysler, Siemens, John Hopkins, Ft. Meade and NSA. Enjoy the comfort and services you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express, including the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar with our signature Cinnamon Rolls and Simply Smart bedding and bath initiative. The hotel offers free local phone calls, high-speed Internet and shuttle 24/7 to BWI Airport, MARC Commuter Train, MTA Light Rail, and Amtrak Station. Tired of paying expensive parking fees at BWI Airport? Our park and fly package is the perfect solution! Make the Smart Choice for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - Bwi Airport West Hotel Hanover
Holiday Inn Hanover
Hanover Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.