We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRAVO, Kevin!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Hanover
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BRAVO, Kevin!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We used the stay-park-ride pkg, and arrived back to 9 degree temperatures at 9 p.m. We were quite frozen standing on the curb when the van arrived beyond the advised time. However, while we were scrapping the snow and ice off the car, KEVIN arrived - scraper in hand, and proceeded to clean the car. He's the hotel engineer, and surely cleaning ice off cars is not part of his job description. But, he was ever so kind to two very cold people. We stay at this HIE when we have an early flight, and have always been more than satisfied. However, I do suggest a more accurate estimate of the van arrival time would be appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We would like to start off by apologizing for any inconvenience we may have cause with our shuttle service. We inform our guest of a 20 minute time frame for all arrivals and departures. We really value your loyalty and was very glad that Kevin was able to take care you with clearing your vehicle of the snow. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback as it helps us to provide the best customer service for our guest. We look forward to seeing you again during your future travels and as always we thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    38
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
31
16
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cordova, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

coming from California we had had a long day. Check in went so easy and the front desk staff were so nice. our room was great. Not just clean and big, but quiet and just relaxing to be in.
We were a little worried because our room backed up to the elevator, but no it was quiet.. We had a suite... a living room and a bedroom. it was nice because we were there for a couple of days. It was not a far drive to downtown Baltimore, but there were a lot of nice restaurants by the hotel. I walked to the mall... not a bad walk.. will we stay there again..absolutely yes

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad that you've had a great experience here at our hotel as it is our pleasure to be able to accomodate all of your lodging needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback. We hope you enjoyed some of our local attractions in the area. We look forward to seeing you again very soon during your future travels. As always we thank you for choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Spent the night of 1/18/2014 here and could not have been more pleased with the front desk staff (very welcoming, accommodating lady) who was able to let us check in at 12 noon. She even welcomed and thanked us as IHG Priority Club members. (no goody bag though)

This hotel was previously a Comfort Inn and since becoming a Holiday Inn has REALLY changed! Our room was huge, light & airy; very warm feeling yet is an upscale contemporary design. EXCELLENT mattresses to begin with! Lots of pillows per bed and high end linens. Even my husband commented on how light yet warm the duvet was. The bathroom was large and had a long granite counter top. The only thing I think they should have done while renovating? Go with a "comfort height" toilet! The toilet in Rm. 408 looked so tiny & out of place in that huge bathroom. You had to basically almost "squat" down to it. (Not good in the middle of the night when you are half asleep!) The lobby area was very nice also; this Holiday Inn has a restaurant adjacent to the check in area but we did not eat there so I cannot comment on the food. There was plenty of room, but I thought prices were a bit high and I don't think I would like to be enjoying a $15 crab cake sandwich with a bunch of people checking into the hotel so close. (Just my opinion, understand).

Oh! I must comment on their shuttle service! We only had to wait about 8 minutes once the Holiday Inn was notified we were waiting at Island 2 Zone 14. The driver was cheerful and friendly and drove safely which is more than I can say for some hotel shuttle drivers!

We will definitely return to this hotel on our next stay to the Baltimore area to visit family. It is a win-win hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad we were able to accomodate you on all of your lodging needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback as it helps us to provide the best customer service for our guest. We hope you we're able to enjoy some of our local attractions during your stay such as The Maryland Live Casino, The Arundell Mills Mall, Dave and Busters, etc. We thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We recently held a sales meeting for 50 people at the hotel, where they spent 2 nights.. The attendees commented on the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff at the front desk and the hotel shuttle drivers. We also use this hotel for our customers and they have commented that the hotel is great and the staff is very attentive. Our office is less than a mile from the hotel and this past Saturday we needed to get 9 people to BWI airport in early afternoon. Not only did the hotel shuttle driver pick them up on time, he stopped back at our office afterwards to see if anyone else needed a ride. Great service and very friendly staff!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We're glad that your business meeting was a success and that we were able to accomodate all of your lodging needs. We hope that we will be able to be of service to you in the future. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your comments and feedback, we really appreciate it. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel goes one better than the routine Holiday Inn Express brand hotel. We knew something was different the moment we walked into the lobby. As an IHG member we routinely receive a welcome package, (cookies and bottled water), upon checking in. However, this hotel did one better and you got to spin a "wheel of fortune". You could "win" snacks, drinks, or IHG member points. I enjoyed this much more than the normal welcome package. While checking in we were invited to the "manager's reception" taking place that evening. Staff and management were very professional and attentive to everyone's needs. The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. The only downside to our stay was poor internet reception in our room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad we were able to accomodate all of your lodging needs. I do apologize for poor internet service you received during your stay. We have definately reported this issue to the proper departure to be resolve. I'm glad you enjoyed the spinning of the wheel during check-in. A lot of our seem to enjoy the wheel as it makes your check-in process more fun and exciting especially our guest with children. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback. Again we thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West and we look forward to seeing you again during your furture travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I've stayed at many Holiday Inn Expresses around the country, and this one certainly fits the brand! Nice, contemporary look, good rates, and friendly staff. Rooms are comfortable, and it's one of the few BWI hotels with a restaurant in walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad we were able to accomodate all of your lodging needs. Hope you had the chance to visit some of our wonderful local attractions. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback as it helps us to improve and provide our guest with the best customer sevice. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here last minute to limit our morning commute to the airport and it was great. Beautiful hotel and the staff are great. They drove us to the airport which is minutes away and also let us park our car there for MUCH cheaper than the airport. Cost of the hotel was very affordable too and the room was great. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad we were able to accomodate your loding needs during your stay with us. We hope the next time you'll be able to enjoy some of our great local attractions. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback; as it gives us the opportunity to provide our guest with great customer service. Thanks again for choosing our hotel; we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Address: 7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express BWI has heard your comments about the need to upgrade our hotel and are happy to report that we have just completed a 100% total renovation. From walls and cielings to carpet and furniture you will find we have thought of all your comments and needs. We eagerly look forward to your comments as you visit our location and see for yourself what a great product we have to compliment our staff that is eager to make your stay a great one. Hotel offers free shuttle service to BWI Airport & local attractions within 5 miles. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express BWI Airport Hotel West! Conveniently located just 7 minutes from BWI Airport; and 3 minutes from Arundel Mills Mall featuring over 200 stores, Dave & Buster's and Medieval Times Dinner Theatre. The hotel is an 18 minute drive to the Baltimore Inner Harbor, Baltimore Orioles at Camden Yards, and the home of the Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium. Other attractions include the Baltimore National Aquarium, Annapolis Naval Academy and Historic Annapolis, Six Flags, Timonium Fairgrounds and Washington DC points of interest. The hotel is minutes to Northrop Grumman, Daimler Chrysler, Siemens, John Hopkins, Ft. Meade and NSA. Enjoy the comfort and services you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express, including the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar with our signature Cinnamon Rolls and Simply Smart bedding and bath initiative. The hotel offers free local phone calls, high-speed Internet and shuttle 24/7 to BWI Airport, MARC Commuter Train, MTA Light Rail, and Amtrak Station. Tired of paying expensive parking fees at BWI Airport? Our park and fly package is the perfect solution! Make the Smart Choice for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - Bwi Airport West Hotel Hanover
Holiday Inn Hanover
Hanover Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.