We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay before a flight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Hanover
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay before a flight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel's park and fly program lets us start our vacation relaxed and stress free.The room is comfortable and spacious and the staff is friendly and helpful. The shuttle service is quick and efficient-both to and from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad we could accomodate all of your lodging needs here at our hotel. It's our pleasure to provide you with the best customer service. As always we thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels. We hope you had a wonderful vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    33
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
16
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel unexpectedly due to a flight cancellation. It was very clean, quiet, and smelled good :) The breakfast was very impressive - lots of options, and they even provided to-go bags to pack our own breakfast options to take to the airport. I was very impressed as it has been a while since we've stayed in a "chain" hotel, and this exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Asst. Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We are very pleased that you've had a wonderful experience here at our hotel. We really appreciate your comments and feedback as we strive to provide the best customer for our guest. We hope to see you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Staying one night at this establishment due to its proximity to the business I conducting the following day, I was pleased with my selection and would stay here again. This is Holiday Inn Express is typical of the chain and had facilities that met my needs very well. although I didn't use it, the Fitness Center was much better than average, had very good equipment, and looked appealing. Although it wasn't a disappointment, the breakfast wasn't impressive either. It didn't offer anything to make it stand out from other establishments. All-in-all, I would recommend this establishment for a short stay for anyone conducting business along the Baltimore-Washington Cooridor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad we could accomodate your lodging needs. We're sorry our breakfast wasn't very appetizing for you. We really appreciate your comments and feedback as it helps us to make our establishment better for our guest. We will definiately forward your feedback to the proper department. We look forward to seeing you during your future travels. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here before our departure from BWI in late October 2012. While away Hurricane Sandy hit the east coast, altering our return from Denver. I called prior to our return and asked if someone could check my car right after the storm. The report was my car was fine. Once back we were picked up at BWI by Joel. What a delightful staff member he was, informative, conversant, also someone who appreciated classical music in the van. My thanks to all, including check in. It was class all the way. Bob (bizfreak)

Room Tip: This locale only a few short miles from BWI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We are very happy that you were safe during the storm. Its was our pleasure to assist you regarding your vehicle. We're glad to have given you a great report about your vehicle and that you were able to enjoy your stay here with us even under the circumstances. Our goal is to insure that you are completely satisfied throughout the duration of your stay. Thank you so much for choosing us and we hope to see you again in your furture travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I can't actually comment on the standard of this hotel as we didn't get to stay here. I booked this hotel six weeks in advance for one (Thursday) night & paid in full an advance non-refundable rate. I specified on booking that we would be arriving around 9.30p.m. We were arriving after an 8 hour flight from the UK & after picking up a hire car. We didn't want to travel far in a strange car in a strange city at night when jet-lagged, so this hotel seemed perfect for us. However on arrival at 9.30p.m. we were told that the hotel was full, along with all the other hotels in the local area. They had therefore booked us in to a Holiday Inn in Laurel which is 18 miles away & in the wrong direction for where we had to be the following morning. The staff were as helpful as they could be in this situation. We were given a formula letter with our names hand-written in explaining the situation, so we got the impression that this overbooking happens quite often. The room rate at this hotel included breakfast but the room we were given at the Laurel hotel didn't & there was no offer to cover this cost for us, despite the inconvenience we had suffered. The hotel in Laurel was fine when we got there but we really felt we were put into the dangerous situation that we had hoped to avoid, in having to drive so far at night in an unfamiliar car & location when exhausted from travelling. We have stayed in a number of Holiday Inn's, Express's & Crown Plaza's all around the world & have always been happy with the service & accommodation provided. I have also been a Priority Club member for over 20 years. We will not be staying again with this hotel group as we will always be afraid that this will happen again. I'm not a serial complainer (see my other reviews) but I do want to make people aware that even if they have booked & paid in advance in full, they are not guaranteed a room!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Asst. Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor. We sincerely apologize for any inconvience we may have caused you regarding this matter. This is not typical of our hotel. Unfortuniately due to the high occupancy of our hotel and the area being sold out, we had to relocate some of our guest to a comparable location. We would like for you to please contact us so that we may make this matter right by you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel was awesome. The room was nice and clean. The location was easy to get to. The customer service was top notch. I had questions about the shuttle service, and Atalaya, was extremely helpful! I would love to stay here again when I fly out of BWI.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Asst. Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We are very pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay. We are very happy to know that our staff portrayed the best customer service and were responsive to all of your your lodging needs here at the hotel. Please continue to think of us in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

First, this hotel is about 1.3 miles from the central car rental location which makes is very convenient for an overnight after a long trip or if you arrive late.
There is also a Denny's restaurant attached to the hotel for a quick bite. The front desk could have been a bit friendly and welcoming specially for a priority club member. I typically get acknowledge by a free upgrade or just a welcoming bag with a warm cookie and a fruit. None of that there.
My room is spacious, clean, and quiet. i was able to get a good night sleep after a long day.
In the morning during breakfast, the choice were slim and they ran of coffee may be because There was a convention or a large meeting going that day. This suggestion is for the management : "Please plan ahead and make sure your guests get coffee next time". I heard a lot of complaints for some of the guests because of that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Asst. Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We sincerely apologize for all the inconvience that you've experienced at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback as we strive to make sure our guest have great customer service and overall guest satisfaction before they leave our hotel.

As appreciation for being a Priority Club Member, we try to upgrade our members as availability permits. Sometimes we are unable to provide the upgrades due to high in house occupency. At our property our cookies are only available on Tuesdays and Thursdays, but we do have the option of our wheel of fortune on a daily basis so all of our Priority Club Members are instant winners.

We value your opinion and feedback and we are taking the proper measures in making sure we are better prepared for breakfast when we have groups in house. We will also forward all your comments and suggestions to the proper departments. We hope you continue to choose us for your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Address: 7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express BWI has heard your comments about the need to upgrade our hotel and are happy to report that we have just completed a 100% total renovation. From walls and cielings to carpet and furniture you will find we have thought of all your comments and needs. We eagerly look forward to your comments as you visit our location and see for yourself what a great product we have to compliment our staff that is eager to make your stay a great one. Hotel offers free shuttle service to BWI Airport & local attractions within 5 miles. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express BWI Airport Hotel West! Conveniently located just 7 minutes from BWI Airport; and 3 minutes from Arundel Mills Mall featuring over 200 stores, Dave & Buster's and Medieval Times Dinner Theatre. The hotel is an 18 minute drive to the Baltimore Inner Harbor, Baltimore Orioles at Camden Yards, and the home of the Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium. Other attractions include the Baltimore National Aquarium, Annapolis Naval Academy and Historic Annapolis, Six Flags, Timonium Fairgrounds and Washington DC points of interest. The hotel is minutes to Northrop Grumman, Daimler Chrysler, Siemens, John Hopkins, Ft. Meade and NSA. Enjoy the comfort and services you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express, including the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar with our signature Cinnamon Rolls and Simply Smart bedding and bath initiative. The hotel offers free local phone calls, high-speed Internet and shuttle 24/7 to BWI Airport, MARC Commuter Train, MTA Light Rail, and Amtrak Station. Tired of paying expensive parking fees at BWI Airport? Our park and fly package is the perfect solution! Make the Smart Choice for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - Bwi Airport West Hotel Hanover
Holiday Inn Hanover
Hanover Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.