We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to BWI airport service needs improvements” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Hanover
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great location to BWI airport service needs improvements”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

First, this hotel is about 1.3 miles from the central car rental location which makes is very convenient for an overnight after a long trip or if you arrive late.
There is also a Denny's restaurant attached to the hotel for a quick bite. The front desk could have been a bit friendly and welcoming specially for a priority club member. I typically get acknowledge by a free upgrade or just a welcoming bag with a warm cookie and a fruit. None of that there.
My room is spacious, clean, and quiet. i was able to get a good night sleep after a long day.
In the morning during breakfast, the choice were slim and they ran of coffee may be because There was a convention or a large meeting going that day. This suggestion is for the management : "Please plan ahead and make sure your guests get coffee next time". I heard a lot of complaints for some of the guests because of that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Asst. Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We sincerely apologize for all the inconvience that you've experienced at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback as we strive to make sure our guest have great customer service and overall guest satisfaction before they leave our hotel.

As appreciation for being a Priority Club Member, we try to upgrade our members as availability permits. Sometimes we are unable to provide the upgrades due to high in house occupency. At our property our cookies are only available on Tuesdays and Thursdays, but we do have the option of our wheel of fortune on a daily basis so all of our Priority Club Members are instant winners.

We value your opinion and feedback and we are taking the proper measures in making sure we are better prepared for breakfast when we have groups in house. We will also forward all your comments and suggestions to the proper departments. We hope you continue to choose us for your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    38
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
33
17
10
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indialantic
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stay at a lot of hotels every year and it’s always appreciated for staff to go beyond the basics. They were helpful at check in and offered to get my Rewards number and had a nice treat to take to your room. On this trip, I did not have a vehicle and they offered free service to the Mall and train station. Staff was helpful on all counts and the room was a basic HI room, but clean and had free internet. Breakfast was done well also.

Room Tip: Stop by the Mall and Casino for dinner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Asst. Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We are very pleased to see that you've enjoyed your stay with us. We strive very hard to provide our guest with excellent customer service and be responsive to all of their needs. We hope you continue to choose us the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West for all your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Check in was challenging. I arrived in the evening after an exhausting flight across the International Date Line. I needed to extend my stay one night, and as a Priority Club member, I thought this would be easy as long as they had a room available. The attendant was an older woman with a British accent who kept fiddling with the keyboard and telling me that in order to do this I would have to physically move to another room. This made no sense to me, and I told her to just book me in any room where I could stay two consecutive nights. I was so tired I slumped over the counter and put my head down for a while until she finally agreed to let me stay in the same room for two nights. She made it seem like a huge favor. Huge pain in asparagus. Breakfast service and coffee excellent, however dining room and lobby TVs have CNN news all the time which is obnoxious. I saw a desk clerk change from sports to CNN so he could watch from the front desk. But it is clean and the stuff works.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We sincerely apologize for any inconvience you've experienced. We strive to make sure our guest are completely satisfied and all of their needs are met before leaving our hotel. We are taking the proper measures in making sure this matter never occurs again. Please give us a call so that we may make this matter right by you. Again thanks for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI and we hope to see you in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in room 105 at this hotel in Hanover, MD recently, to visit nearby relatives. It's not the Inner Harbor or a fancy hotel but the Holiday Inn Express model worked quite well for us.

We had a room with two queen beds. Very spacious and clean room, with a bathroom large enough for two people --- decent towels and a very nice large adjustable shower head.

Plenty of standard amenities were available, like an iron and hair dryer and flat screen TV --- and the added pluses of a microwave and fridge. Also a desk, ergonomic office chair and side chair. VERY comfortable beds and numerous pillows labelled *soft* and *firm* so you can take your choice. It was a relatively quiet sleep --- the one exception being our first night when a family next door (there was a connecting door) had a crying baby. Easy to hear but didn't wake us in the middle of the night (thank you, baby).

The free wireless worked well --- always important for us. For those who need to print a boarding pass, there are two super-fast computers near the lobby which have a printer.

For snackoholics, there is a little store next to the front desk where you can buy candy (and a variety of snacks such as one would find in a vending machine), drinks and things to heat up in the microwave.

As always, we prefer interior corridors and an elevator, but were pleased to be on the first floor to not need the available elevator.

There is a healthy continental breakfast each morning, until 10am, with the possibility of pancakes made by a new-fangled machine. Pancake-lovers will enjoy it. Also, for those who get hungry later in the day, the hotel shares a parking lot with Denny's. We also appreciated the free, secure parking.

What was lacking for us ( might be anecdotal -- a one-time only occurrence, I hope) was the staff. They either seemed aloof or inefficient (several examples) and the worst part of it was when we needed the shuttle to pick us up and it took forever, due to (supposedly) their radio in the shuttle not working. We did have a car but depended on the shuttle just one day (which they claim runs reguarly each half hour) as we thought it would be easier. It was ineffective. We didn't depend on their shuttle again.

Other than that ---- we had a pleasant, comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn Express and if someone doesn't need to be in the middle of action downtown (or totally depend on the shuttle), it is a very nice place. Near the Arundel Mills Mall and a number of restaurants, by car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Assistant Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
We here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West would like to thank you for staying with us. We are very pleased to have met your lodging needs, with the exception of our shuttle service. We sincerely apologize for the inconvience that you experienced with regard to our shuttle service. We will be sure to share your comments with our shuttle team to insure that this type of occurence doesn't happen again. We hope that you choose us for your lodging needs during your future travels and that your next stay with us will be an excellent one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Knox, KY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Staff is sloppy and apathetic. Room was clean, comfortable and pretty nice. Walls are thin and you can hear the neighbors. Location is excellent, just a couple of miles from the airport, Arundel Mills, gambling and Fort Meade. If only the service matched the location...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear wadd003,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is nice to know that you have noticed the cleanliness of our rooms. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. However, I would like to for the difficulties you had experienced with the hotel staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Spent two nights and we were delighted. Business trip and did not spent too much time in the hotel. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Heat pump turned on and off frequently but that is expected in hotels. I would rather stay at comfortable temperature.
Breakfast was good, business center was adequate. Did not use fitness room but it looked great. Bathroom was clean and spacious. Shower was fuctional and adequate.
Staff was friendly and attentive. Parking area was clean. Hotel offer shuttle but we did not use it. It displayed airline departure and arrival in lobby which was great for travelling people. Over all good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Asst. Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback in order for us to insure that our guests have the best customer service. We're very happy that you've had a wonderful stay here with us and that you will think of us in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Only spent one night here before my flight out of BWI but was very happy. Shuttle to and from airport plus local attractions. Great mall right down the road with many good resturaunts and bars. Staff was very friendly and rooms were modern and clean. Really very happy with my stay

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Address: 7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hanover
#8 Business Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express BWI has heard your comments about the need to upgrade our hotel and are happy to report that we have just completed a 100% total renovation. From walls and cielings to carpet and furniture you will find we have thought of all your comments and needs. We eagerly look forward to your comments as you visit our location and see for yourself what a great product we have to compliment our staff that is eager to make your stay a great one. Hotel offers free shuttle service to BWI Airport & local attractions within 5 miles. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express BWI Airport Hotel West! Conveniently located just 7 minutes from BWI Airport; and 3 minutes from Arundel Mills Mall featuring over 200 stores, Dave & Buster's and Medieval Times Dinner Theatre. The hotel is an 18 minute drive to the Baltimore Inner Harbor, Baltimore Orioles at Camden Yards, and the home of the Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium. Other attractions include the Baltimore National Aquarium, Annapolis Naval Academy and Historic Annapolis, Six Flags, Timonium Fairgrounds and Washington DC points of interest. The hotel is minutes to Northrop Grumman, Daimler Chrysler, Siemens, John Hopkins, Ft. Meade and NSA. Enjoy the comfort and services you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express, including the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar with our signature Cinnamon Rolls and Simply Smart bedding and bath initiative. The hotel offers free local phone calls, high-speed Internet and shuttle 24/7 to BWI Airport, MARC Commuter Train, MTA Light Rail, and Amtrak Station. Tired of paying expensive parking fees at BWI Airport? Our park and fly package is the perfect solution! Make the Smart Choice for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - Bwi Airport West Hotel Hanover
Holiday Inn Hanover
Hanover Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.