We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cantina Mamma Lucia

Cantina Mamma Lucia
1350 Dorsey Rd Ste M, Hanover, MD 21076
+1 410-684-2900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 104 Restaurants in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Discover an authentic Italian restaurant in Hanover, Maryland. Cantina Mamma Lucia serves up delicious, traditional Italian food that your whole family will love. Founded in 1989 by Francesco, Dominick, and Anthony D'Antona, our family-run restaurant combines down-home Italian cooking with originality and creativity. Those same three brothers still own and operate the restaurant and catering service.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I went there with some co-workers after work one evening. The restaurant is tucked away in what looks like a strip mall but it was only five minutes away from the madness of Arundel Mills and it wasn't overly packed so that was nice.
The setup, as the name implies, is like a cantina. You walk in, place your order, find a table, wait for your number to be called and pick up your food so it's hard to rate the "service" I can say that there was a guy constantly moving around the dining area clearing tables, picking up plates etc.
I shared a plain cheese pizza with a co-worker and it was just okay. Maybe I'm a bit biased because I really like Flippin Pizza. Anyway, the rest of the table ranted and raved about their food (mussels, and I think some sort of pasta with seafood). I'll probably go again and try something else in which case I'll update my review.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    32
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Came here with a party of 22 as a last minute choice, and all of a love it! You go up to the counter to order and they call your number, nice casual atmosphere to sit and eat. Staff was very friendly, they had no problem unexpectedly handling our large group, and food was ready really quickly. Some of us had pizza, pasta, calzones, and everyone loved their food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice Little Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight in a nearby hotel and wanted something other than the usual chain restaurants. Mamma's was recommended by the hotel staff, and it was wonderful! Portions are HUGE, food was really good, location was clean, and staff were very friendly. We even got to have a couple of glasses of wine, which was nice after a full day of travel. If you're not a big eater (or start with a half salad), consider sharing with someone else... We did manage to have dessert (although we both took half of our entrees with us!), and it was great as well! Not fancy, but quality food and reasonable prices. Too bad I don't live closer!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great option to all the Chains in the mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

When I am in another city I really try to avoid all chain restaurants. I love to eat local. I was thrilled to find this place near Arundle Mills. After reading the reviews we were excited to try it. IT WAS DELICIOUS!!!!! You order at the counter but everything is freshly made and brought to your table. Nice selection of beer and wine. The portions are very big. I wished we had a fridge a the hotel for leftovers. Everything we ordered was hot and very tasty!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We happened upon this place for lunch on our drive from Delaware to Ohio. Everything was delicious! We are very sad this wasnt someplace closer to home. Great food! Very clean restautant. Very friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Mamma Lucia also viewed

 

Been to Cantina Mamma Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantina Mamma Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.