We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cantina Mamma Lucia

Cantina Mamma Lucia
1350 Dorsey Rd Ste M, Hanover, MD 21076
+1 410-684-2900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 103 Restaurants in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Discover an authentic Italian restaurant in Hanover, Maryland. Cantina Mamma Lucia serves up delicious, traditional Italian food that your whole family will love. Founded in 1989 by Francesco, Dominick, and Anthony D'Antona, our family-run restaurant combines down-home Italian cooking with originality and creativity. Those same three brothers still own and operate the restaurant and catering service.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

always visit this place when we come to this area. It has been remodeled to accomodate the amount of patrons!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    32
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for Italian and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The restaurant provides very tasty food, large portions, quick service, and very reasonable prices. I have eaten here many times and never had a meal that I didn't thoroughly enjoy. Wine is also very reasonably priced---not wine cellar quality, but very good for the price.

It's hard to rate service, because it's a restaurant where you order at the cash register and pick up your meal when your number is called. So it's unfair to compare this kind of service with a traditional restaurant where the wait staff comes to your table to take your order and brings the food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Fast food ordering with restaurant meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

They have an impressive menu with a wide variety - it's a little over priced in my opinion. I don't like the order at the counter feel, but it does save money. I had the gorgonzola chicken with a side salad and wine and it was $20? I guess we are used to if you pay more than $10 for a meal, give us a salad! They have a nice looking room available there and the cannoli was great. If you live in the area, Mondays are cheap pizza pick up option with a side door and special parking.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fresh New Dining Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We have always enjoyed great food here in a simple atmosphere of no frills. They've remodeled and taken away any sense of cafeteria that may have existed before. Traffic flow is optimized with improved and expanded seating to complement the consistently great food. Kudos to the Cantina!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good casual food with a dash of refinery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to Mamma Lucia after landing at BWI. It is less than 10 min from the airport. It occupies a large end of a shopping center. It has plenty of seating with tables and booths of various sizes. You walk up to the ordering counter. They have daily specials and a paper menu available. It is also listed on the wall. I believe the menu mentioned they have a buffet during lunch Monday through Friday. We were there at supper time. My husband ordered the stromboli and I the chicken cheese sub. They were both delicious. The chicken sub was prepared just like a cheesesteak sub. The bread was fresh and soft. The chicken seasoned perfectly. A great mixture of flavors in every bite. The stromboli was prepared fresh. In fact they were making a huge batch of dough when we arrived. The dough was a little yeasty flavored which I like. The sauce that was served on the side was not very herby buy very tomato-y. Even though you ordered at the counter and they called your name when ready, the food was served on real plates with real silverware. The pizza that others were eating looked very tasty.
The ambience was pleasant. There was Italian music playing one of which was Andrea Bocelli, which in my opinion is always good.
Not much in service because you pretty much serve yourself but everyone we saw was pleasant and friendly. We will definitely be eating here again on our next trip to Baltimore.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Mamma Lucia also viewed

 

Been to Cantina Mamma Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantina Mamma Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.