We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Medieval Times Castle

Medieval Times Castle
7000 Arundel Mills Cir, Hanover, MD 21076-1282
1 888 935 6878
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 102 Restaurants in Hanover
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went there with my 8 year old, a friend and my husband/her dad. We had a great time!!! We had done the upgrade so we were front row- If front row is important then get there earlier- you are guaranteed front row but the middle section is better. When we do it again, we will look to sit in the middle section and a few rows back- Better to see it all. The girls loved it- It isn't easy to follow the story for them, but there is plenty of action- I think both girls and boys will like it. It is loud and there is fighting so if that is not your bag then don't do it. It may scare some kids. The food is great- you eat it with your hands (they will give you a fork if you ask). We didn't order any of the drinks- BUT did grab the souvenir cups that others had left on the way out..... Ok, don't judge- We got six cups, great for the kids to use and we didn't pay for the drinks. After you can take pictures and talk to the knights- that is fun. We will go again. Service ok- but remember, you are NOT fine dining.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    29
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunkirk, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My Report Card: Entertainment (A-) Service (A) & Food (B-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I read tripadvisor reviews and went with an open opinion. The reviews were stop-on. The entertainment for my grandson & I was great! Paid the extra for Royal seats, which you get a keepsake picture (pay to get in costume--why not). Royal seats get you up close to the action & we received recognition from the Knights.Highly recommend using discount-tickets dont pay full price, Our server was prompt and attentive, service is centered around serving precooked meals quickly and on a schedule. Food warm to hot & A LOT, tomato soup is just good, chicken & rib (1) were tasty good, potatoes wedges were 95% cooked & the all-spice was spotted from light to heavy. Yes you eat with fingers, but you get a wet wipes afterward. For an adult drink, grab the waitress/waiter quickly. they came around twice. There was no pressure to buy souvenirs and the 1 hour recommedation is a "sells" pitch, while you mingle-you buy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun, but don't expect a fantastic meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

They ask you to arrive too early, with a young child. The show started at 7, on the tickets it tells you to arrive by 6. At 6pm, we entered the waiting area, filled with shops and a bar. But for the next forty five minutes we waited standing in a corner. The location, at Arundel mall would have given us options to walk around, however you can't re-enter.

Show was good, once into the arena was very pleased. Although food was just ok, chicken good, soup cold, garlic bread not crispy, and diet soda flat.
Apple pastry was good.

Drinks are not available on menus for children. No milk or juice without getting a bar server to appear. Your wench can't do anything but soda or tea-not good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great entertainment, don't expect good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Fun to watch, first time at this restaurant, but the food was not good. They only offered flat Pepsi (not diet drinks) or unsweetened tea. The chicken was good, but potatoes were not cooked and had odd seasoning. Dessert was an apple turnover, also not cooked. Worth going once, but.....eat before you go! Server was good though, they all deserve a good tip! They did upgrade us to front row seating for military, which we appreciated.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Dinner and a show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a good place to check out . You get dinner and a show. The is a jousting match on horses. During the show they serve you a couple courses of food that you eat with your hands. If you have a ton of money to spend they have a gift shop were they sell over priced swords

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medieval Times Castle also viewed

 

Been to Medieval Times Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medieval Times Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.