We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty kebobs at a fair price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maiwand Kabob

Maiwand Kabob
7698 Dorchester Blvd., Hanover, MD 21076
(443) 755-0461
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #8 of 97 restaurants in Hanover
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Afghan, Middle Eastern, Moroccan, Afghani
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Tasty kebobs at a fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Maiwand Kebob for years and keep coming back. For appetizers try the Mantwo and Pumpkin. The veggie samosas are great as well. Mantwo might be gone so go early to try this. The kebobs portions include about 8 large pieces of meat and the Naan/bread is made there. Try the Naan there as this can get hard if you decide on take out. Chickpee curry is a nice veggie dish too. Be sure to ask for some white rice to go with it. The yogurt sauce with the kebobs is not spicy and goes great with the meat. The rice has cinnamon in it so if you do not want this ask for white rice. Definitely give Maiwand kebobs a chance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    17
    15
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“For a change a pace in food...good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Good selection of food and affordable. I enjoy the atmosphere, and the employees are very nice. The food is a cultural experience and the amount could be shared by two.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Garbage compared to the one in Columbia”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was so bummed out when I tried this location. I met a friend for lunch thinking it would be very good as I go to the one on Dobbin in Columbia quite often and it is awesome. This was not even close to the same experience. First we waited a good 45 minutes for our food, then it was wrong! They gave me a spicy chicken version instead of the regular. Lastly, the meat was really dry, the salad and sides were just crap and small compared to the sides at the Columbia location. Also the wait staff here paled in comparison. The servers at the Columbia location are attentive and bring your food on real plates and there is nice music to listen to. It's pretty inside and calm. Here they just yell out numbers and throw a plastic plate at you with the wrong food on them. I rarely write reviews this bad but I was mortified and embarassed as I had chosen this place for my gal pal catch up. I cannot even believe they are the same restaurant. I will NEVER come to the Arundel location again. Do yourself a favor and hit up the Dobbin rd location.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Descent - hot naan bread”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

ordered 3 combo plates (chicken, lamb and minced beef) and some extra bread. The meet was good, lean and nicely spiced. The kids enjoyed the freshly made bread. Limited menu and waited over 10 minutes for our food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious Middle Eastern food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Not really a sit-down restaurant (you order your food at the counter, then they bring it out to you when it's ready), Maiwand Kabob is one of my favorite places to go for a healthy, tasty meal that I don't have to prepare, and that is very reasonably priced. With both meat and vegetarian options available (lamb, beef, chicken kabobs and curries on the meat side, vegetarian platters and lots of delicious appetizers if you prefer the vegetarian options), we've enjoyed everything there so far. My favorite is their chicken kabob, accompanied by a delicious cinnamon-spiced rice pilaf, fresh salad, and their unbeatable naan, which comes straight from the baker to you. It's some of the best naan I've ever had, and I look forward to that every time I go to Maiwand Kabob! I've also tried their mango and strawberry shakes, which are really tasty.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maiwand Kabob also viewed

 

Been to Maiwand Kabob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maiwand Kabob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.