We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Calories” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Corral

Golden Corral
7047 Arundel Mills Blvd, Hanover, MD 21076
(410) 799-0959
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 99 Restaurants in Hanover
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Golden Calories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you want to put on your toga and have a Roman glutton-fest, then Golden Corral is for you. Of course, I enjoyed pigging out. The food is nothing great but not too bad -- they make up for lack of quality with lots of quanity.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    18
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
asf1
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Some might like it....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I know Golden Coral has its fans. Im not one. Ive seen the commercials, and figured Id give it a shot. They do have lots of choices - salads, chicken, meat, etc... but I was not impressed with the quality. I know, I know buffet = quantity. The service was excellent though. One employee kept refilling my ice tea without me even asking; one employee got me some fried shrimp - they were supposed to be out... but weren't. The salad choices were good ... but if Im going to a chain, I'd prefer Chilis, applebees,etc...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pa.
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A Decent Buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

First off, keep in mind; this is not a fine dining restaurant. It is a down-home, buffet eating house. It can get croweded and loug. With that being said, it was a good experience – nothing great by good. We went to this Golden Corral later on a Saturday evening, and the wear of the day was showing.
The restaurant was not particularly clean, but nothing a good vacuuming and wipe down couldn’t fix. It looked like it was at the end of a very busy day.
The food was good; again nothing out of this world, but good food, and a tremendous variety. The salad bar was well stocked and a great variety of vegetables and dressings. They also had three or four soup choices which was nice. They had a great entrée and side variety from carved ham to pan seared shrimp and everything in between. There was plenty of fish and shrimp to choose from and the steaks were tasty. Not super tender, but decent and with a good flavor. The cotton candy and chocolate fountain was a big hit with the kids.
Our service was pleasant, she kept the table clean and drinks refilled. The staff tending the buffet was also pleasant.
For all of the food that is offered you can’t beat the price. One hint though, soft drinks are not included in the buffet price. We would return if we are in the area again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not My Type of Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband excitedly wanted to go to the All You Can Eat Buffet at Arundel Mills. i am usually not a fan and this trip was no different. My husband loved the place and all the varieties of food, however, i was just the opposite. So please go with my husbands review if you love these type of places and try it...he loved it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Quantity if not top quality!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The buffet includes steak and shrimp and anything else your heart could desire!

Food was good but not great! Steak is not very tender, but a deal at the price!

You won't see any hungry or even any skinny people leaving!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

 

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Corral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;