We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some might like it....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Corral

Golden Corral
7047 Arundel Mills Blvd, Hanover, MD 21076
(410) 799-0959
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 103 Restaurants in Hanover
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
asf1
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Some might like it....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I know Golden Coral has its fans. Im not one. Ive seen the commercials, and figured Id give it a shot. They do have lots of choices - salads, chicken, meat, etc... but I was not impressed with the quality. I know, I know buffet = quantity. The service was excellent though. One employee kept refilling my ice tea without me even asking; one employee got me some fried shrimp - they were supposed to be out... but weren't. The salad choices were good ... but if Im going to a chain, I'd prefer Chilis, applebees,etc...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    20
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pa.
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A Decent Buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

First off, keep in mind; this is not a fine dining restaurant. It is a down-home, buffet eating house. It can get croweded and loug. With that being said, it was a good experience – nothing great by good. We went to this Golden Corral later on a Saturday evening, and the wear of the day was showing.
The restaurant was not particularly clean, but nothing a good vacuuming and wipe down couldn’t fix. It looked like it was at the end of a very busy day.
The food was good; again nothing out of this world, but good food, and a tremendous variety. The salad bar was well stocked and a great variety of vegetables and dressings. They also had three or four soup choices which was nice. They had a great entrée and side variety from carved ham to pan seared shrimp and everything in between. There was plenty of fish and shrimp to choose from and the steaks were tasty. Not super tender, but decent and with a good flavor. The cotton candy and chocolate fountain was a big hit with the kids.
Our service was pleasant, she kept the table clean and drinks refilled. The staff tending the buffet was also pleasant.
For all of the food that is offered you can’t beat the price. One hint though, soft drinks are not included in the buffet price. We would return if we are in the area again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not My Type of Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband excitedly wanted to go to the All You Can Eat Buffet at Arundel Mills. i am usually not a fan and this trip was no different. My husband loved the place and all the varieties of food, however, i was just the opposite. So please go with my husbands review if you love these type of places and try it...he loved it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Quantity if not top quality!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The buffet includes steak and shrimp and anything else your heart could desire!

Food was good but not great! Steak is not very tender, but a deal at the price!

You won't see any hungry or even any skinny people leaving!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Why can't they clean these places?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Food was okay, they did have cotton candy for the kids. Restaurant was rather dirty and very loud. The cook doing the steaks was very personable and made sure yours was cooked the way you liked. Rolls were non existant at this time. No place to sit for awhile until someone cleaned off some tables. Had to walk around a while w/tray. Wouldn't go back there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

 

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Corral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.