We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Medieval Times, (A Show)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Medieval Times Maryland Castle

Medieval Times Maryland Castle
7000 Arundel Mills Circle, Hanover, MD 21076
1-866-543-9637
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Port Republic, MD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's Medieval Times, (A Show)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you like to eat with you hands, watch live horses and jousting, then this is the place. I feel the meal and the show is not worth the admission you pay. Glad I done it, but will try to avoid in the future.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    101
    33
    9
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Family Entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Wonderful time! Fantastic location and couldn't believe that it was located at the end of a HUGE mall. What a pleasant surprise. Parking was a challenge...not much available...because of the mall...had to drive around to get a place to park the car. The grandkids were fascinated by the whole medieval experience. They loved that they could eat using their hands. The food was delicious and there was plenty of it. The waitstaff was great and, also, very entertaining. Before we entered the castle we were able to enjoy a beverage and look at all the suits of armor and other relics of the medieval times and of course all the items that were for sale...pretty pricy, but very much what you would expect...no surprise there. We got very involved with eating and cheering for our knight. The entertainment was great. A very enjoyable time to spend with the family.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun Times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is my family's 2nd trip to Medieval Times, but first time at this one. I was a little surprised that it was in a mall, which seemed to take away from it somehow. The others that I've been to or driven past are self standing and give off more of the Castle vibe. We went because we were on vacation in DC and the kids wanted to go again because they liked the one in FL so much. I don't think that I'd pay full price for a ticket and even w/the "deals" it's a little steep, but for 2 hours of entertainment and good food it's a good "special" thing to do. We didn't do the torture chamber here because we did the one in FL and it was included in the price there, whereas this was a (reasonable) extra $2. The service, entertainment and food is very good - food much better than I expected. Will go to a Medieval Times again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Medieval times, Fun times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We visited here with a huge group from work. We knew what we were getting ourselves in for and it was great fun. My only disappointment was not finding the fishbowl cocktails earlier in the night..

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Teen Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Medieval Times was very fun. I liked the organization of letting people in by crown color rather than saying GO and having a stampede. The torture museum is $2; I found it fascinating and a little disturbing. Nothing super graphic, but think about your kid before going in. The show itself was quite entertaining with jousting and hawks and horses. While I was there, the horses got my allergies a bit, so if you suffer from them, just be careful. The food was pretty good, and there was a lot of it. I'm pretty sure you get an entire half chicken. There are no utensils. You have been warned. Note to all: This does have an element of cheesiness. Good cheesiness, but still. If you want to enjoy yourself, PLAY ALONG! Get into it. Cheer, boo.Eat with your fingers. Develop a British accent. If you are all 'This is stupid", you will not enjoy yourself. Have fun.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medieval Times Maryland Castle also viewed

 

Been to Medieval Times Maryland Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medieval Times Maryland Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.