We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Entertainment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Medieval Times Maryland Castle

Medieval Times Maryland Castle
7000 Arundel Mills Circle, Hanover, MD 21076
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Attractions in Hanover
Type: Dinner Theaters, Performances
Attraction Details
Newark, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Family Entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Wonderful time! Fantastic location and couldn't believe that it was located at the end of a HUGE mall. What a pleasant surprise. Parking was a challenge...not much available...because of the mall...had to drive around to get a place to park the car. The grandkids were fascinated by the whole medieval experience. They loved that they could eat using their hands. The food was delicious and there was plenty of it. The waitstaff was great and, also, very entertaining. Before we entered the castle we were able to enjoy a beverage and look at all the suits of armor and other relics of the medieval times and of course all the items that were for sale...pretty pricy, but very much what you would expect...no surprise there. We got very involved with eating and cheering for our knight. The entertainment was great. A very enjoyable time to spend with the family.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    80
    31
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun Times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is my family's 2nd trip to Medieval Times, but first time at this one. I was a little surprised that it was in a mall, which seemed to take away from it somehow. The others that I've been to or driven past are self standing and give off more of the Castle vibe. We went because we were on vacation in DC and the kids wanted to go again because they liked the one in FL so much. I don't think that I'd pay full price for a ticket and even w/the "deals" it's a little steep, but for 2 hours of entertainment and good food it's a good "special" thing to do. We didn't do the torture chamber here because we did the one in FL and it was included in the price there, whereas this was a (reasonable) extra $2. The service, entertainment and food is very good - food much better than I expected. Will go to a Medieval Times again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Medieval times, Fun times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We visited here with a huge group from work. We knew what we were getting ourselves in for and it was great fun. My only disappointment was not finding the fishbowl cocktails earlier in the night..

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Teen Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Medieval Times was very fun. I liked the organization of letting people in by crown color rather than saying GO and having a stampede. The torture museum is $2; I found it fascinating and a little disturbing. Nothing super graphic, but think about your kid before going in. The show itself was quite entertaining with jousting and hawks and horses. While I was there, the horses got my allergies a bit, so if you suffer from them, just be careful. The food was pretty good, and there was a lot of it. I'm pretty sure you get an entire half chicken. There are no utensils. You have been warned. Note to all: This does have an element of cheesiness. Good cheesiness, but still. If you want to enjoy yourself, PLAY ALONG! Get into it. Cheer, boo.Eat with your fingers. Develop a British accent. If you are all 'This is stupid", you will not enjoy yourself. Have fun.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Kibbitz”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I won tickets for a mid week show. We went for a date night. We had great seats. If you don't want to spend a lot of money come right at show time. This place is like Universal Studios hawking wares all night long. They have it all.
The dinner was enjoyable a small bowl of tomato bisque a huge portion of baked chicken one meaty rib 1/2 oven crisped baked potato and a piece of garlic toast. Iced tea and Pepsi products are included anything heavier can be bought at the bar.Dessert was a warm apple turnover
Before during and after dinner you are asked and encouraged to buy pictures, lit flowers banners etc. We waved them away and were never bothered again. The bar girl came around several times.
I did find it hard to watch the show and eat at the same time. FYI if you're not a fan of eating with you hands bring your own cutlery plastic to toss at the end of dinner .
Everyone around use seemed to be having a fun evening. The more alcohol the more fun people seemed to be having.
Surprisingly good food and a fun night was had by all.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medieval Times Maryland Castle also viewed

 

Been to Medieval Times Maryland Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medieval Times Maryland Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.