We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice time worth the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Medieval Times Maryland Castle

Medieval Times Maryland Castle
7000 Arundel Mills Circle, Hanover, MD 21076
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Addison, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice time worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The show and the staff went beyond what I had expected. We all loved it. Show was funny and the horses beautiful and talented!!! GO GREEN KNIGHT :)

Visited March 2013
Thank Saxtonsreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
234 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Live Family Entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Even though this show is part of a mall, as soon as you step into the lobby they try to put you into the medieval environment and they do a good job of it. The show is very entertaining with lots of sword fighting, jousting, performing horses and royalty. They work to pull you into the storyline with each section of the arena rooting for their knight. I didn't give them 5 dots as the food is obviously mass produced, though good enough, and the constant hawking of overpriced goods got distracting. It is rather pricey, especially you bring the entire family. The show was close to 2 hours long but it kept you entertained the entire time.

Visited March 2013
Thank Wyosoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Fun, Entertainment, Food OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you want a grand evening of fun and entertainment, whether it be with your date, friends or family, Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament in Hanover is a great way to spend it. You're up close and personal to the action. There really isn't a bad seat in the house (but the best are mid-court like in a football stadium, so try to get these seats if you can) and when the tournament begins, you can feel the excitement. You become attached to a knight and you cheer and root for your knight as they jostle and joust in their medieval knight regalia. The kids will absolutely love the horses and the excitement and it's great fun for adults too. Now to the food. Not very good, but passable. And frankly, the service isn't very good either. It's clear they do not intend to compete with a stand-alone restaurant, but in this case, it's not the food you go for, it's the entertainment itself that makes the evening great fun. Hopefully, they will take a cue from some of us who give them good marks for entertainment, but not-so-good marks for food. In summary, if you want to relive medieval times, cheer against opposing knights, see good horsemanship, enjoy a good show, and experience what it may have been like this to live during medieval times (from goblets to banners), this pretty well-thought out recreation at Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament will not disappoint. Worth the money.

Visited January 2013
1 Thank WDC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“TOO Much Fun...Ready to go again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Mrs. took our family here on a reward trip for having such an awesome basketball Season and little did I know the treat we were in for. I was not feeling well at all; but this place brought me to life. The line was long but kept moving. The drink glasses/mugs are so cool, even though a little bit pricey. But, here, it's like a once in a lifetime thing.

The staging, characters, and acting are the best and they are all so very friendly and crowd attentive. I was REALLY surprised about the food...GOOD....did I say GOOD. It was. It was a little slow getting drinks after seated; but all of the staff worked really well together.

You GOTTA go...couples or family...We LOVED this place and definitely will go again real soon! A great show for all with live horses, falcon, and all!!! :D

Visited February 2013
Thank Antonio K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, dc
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great fun for preteens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Tagged along with my daughter's girl scout troop who are a bunch of 10-year-olds. They had a great time and I'll admit it was fun for adults too. It's not just jousting. There is some sword fights and several horse riding agility games. I had low expectatations for the food, but it was surprisingly pretty good, especially the chicken and the tomato soup. Don't expect it to be healthy. Nobody ate healthy in the middle ages!

Visited February 2013
1 Thank Shadmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medieval Times Maryland Castle also viewed


Been to Medieval Times Maryland Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing