We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food---poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gunning's Seafood Restaurant - CLOSED

Gunning's Seafood Restaurant
7304 Parkway Dr, Ste A, Hanover, MD 21076-1167
410-712-9404
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
MOON TOWNSHIP
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very good food---poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We got to the restaurant a little before it opened. First we were surprised it was closed, because there were so many cars parked up front....we realized that the employees had taken all the front parking spots...very tacky. They did open the doors a little early and we were the first ones in. Despite that service was very slow. Not sure what else our waitress was doing, but focusing on her customers was not it. We ordered the crab pretzel (very good) and we both had the seafood club sandwiches-----they were outstanding. We did not get our full order and had no pickles as described in the menu and our waitress never came back to see how things were going. The bill took forever to get. Basically a great meal spoiled by poor service.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    38
    18
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good crab cakes, great fish dinners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Good crab cakes, I prefer Timbuktu better, but little difference, great seafood platter, overall, great service and ok atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good local hangout....poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I stopped here for crabcakes after a recommendation from a friend. First, the atmosphere was less than expected considering price of items on menu. It is located in the corner of a strip mall. I would have been ok with this if food was really good and service was great.

Food was average at best. My broiled crabcakes were luke warm. I would have also preferred real french fries instead of the lousy ones from a machine.

Service wasn't very good. Heck, it was a chore just to get the check and get it paid. Waitress was not very helpful with selecting entree items for us. There are other much better restaurants around the same price with better service and atmosphere in my opinion.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A little on the overpriced side.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

While the food is good, for lunch it is a little overpriced. And when ordering the crab cake if you don't want bread and specify crackers our waitress didn't bring the crackers.

Other than that, it was just ok.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“"THE" Best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We lived in Maryland for over 60 years and except for "Mom" NOBODY makes a crab cake like Gunning's! love, love, love them. The second place we go as soon as we come home for a visit! Great Cream of Crab soup, GREAT Stuffed Shrimp, Crab Imperial! I hope they stay right where they are forever!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gunning's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gunning's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.