We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How a restaurant should be !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grillfire

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grillfire
7793-A Arundel Mills Blvd., Hanover, MD
410-799-2883
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 99 Restaurants in Hanover
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Milestone Parkway
Pasadena, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“How a restaurant should be !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

After too many bland open spaces with ugly stained suspended tile ceilings finally a place with some ambiance!
Stone walls, wooden beams, fancy light shades, divided dining areas, choice of booths and open tables, this place has it all.
Its not cheap but its worth it.
The Cowboy steak is awesome.
Try the Meatloaf - probably not something you expect to order at this scale of place but well worth it!
This has become our special occasion go to venue!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    29
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great atmosphere
Wonderful staff
Everyone cheerful/helpful
Food delicious
Great wine selection
Late night menu
Fireplace is swagged out

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Overall a keeper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Had four meals there. Breakfast is exceptional, limited menu but hits all of the usual items and does them well. Eggs Benedict both with crab meat and ham versions very good with great breakfast potatoes and above average coffee. Burgers are good, had duck the first night, nice portion, well flavored, could have been more tender but otherwise very good. Service the first night a bit slow, but other visits very fast. Huge house salads, Caesar very good but could have been a little less generous on the dressing. Cobb salad avocados need a little more time to ripen but otherwise very good an sized to biblical proportions. Overall value and quality a real cut above from the usuall found in a hotel. Cotton candy with your check a hoot!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Carrollton, MD
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good lunch, but quite busy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I arrived at 12:30 (obviously prime time) and there was a wait with the exception of two seats at the edge of the restaurant adjacent to the hotel lobby (*The Hotel at Arundel Preserve* is the name of the hotel), so we took one of those tables. It turned out to be a blessing because the restaurant was packed with many people and I wanted to have a quiet conversation with my lunch partner. The table and seat was comfortable and we were able to relax. We ordered the “Japanese Peanuts” (steamed edamame) and munched on them while our lunch was being prepared. I ordered the Seared Tuna Wrap (salsa, black beans, avocado, baby greens & wasabi mayo) and my lunch partner ordered a salad (not sure which one). The server was attentive and polite and he kept our iced tea glasses full. Although we were lost in conversation, lunch seemed to take a bit long to arrive. I was pleased with my tuna wrap. The wasabi and avocado tasted very good and all the components of the wrap were nice. I think they could have put a little more tuna in it for the $16 price, but I was full after eating that and the steamed vegetables that came with the order.

I've been here once before for happy hour and it is a bit pricey, but the atmosphere can be nice if it's not too busy. It's worth a visit if you are in the Arundel Mills area. Free parking is abundant and the location is very easy to get to from I-295.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent variety, not a "chain restaurant".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This restaurant is in a hotel, but it doesn't have the feeling of your typical hotel restaurant. It has its own separate entrance. Not a chain restaurant. This brand does have a couple of restaurants in New York, but this is the only one in Maryland & each of their restaurants are differant. Salads are awesome, steaks cooked perfectly. Inventive menu, something for everyone. Very friendly staff. You get swirl of cotton candy at the end of your dinner for free.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grillfire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grillfire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.