We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first timer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
7051 Arundel Mills Blvd, Hanover, MD 21075
410-799-2155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 103 Restaurants in Hanover
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“first timer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

although not my first time at JCS (i'm from the gulf coast), it WAS my first time eating shellfish. the waitress, manager, cook, bartender...everybody who passed by, were attentive,- concerned, and went out of their way to make me feel comfortable about 'trying new things'.
i really appreciated this, for 'shrimp' simply does not look like something that should be eaten by humans, and crabs are entirely too much work. Lol. However, i took it in stride and ate everythig that was put before me!
thanks Joes Workers...you made it worth it and memorable

note: i did order salmon that was kinda dry and the potatoes seemingly over cooked, but the "surprise crabs and shrimp and potatoes/corn pot" made up for it!...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    24
    20
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worst experience EVER!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Went to joes and sat at the empty bar thinking we would be joked with and joke with the staff....well we were mistaken!! We were ignored and had bad service and very very very small portions in our crab buckets!! I've never been treated so poorly in my life. These girls focused more on their hair and cleaning up round them to even ask if I wanted another drink. We left there to go to bar across street for a drink that was worth what we were paying for them. Very disappointed!!! VERY!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
1 review
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I never write reviews but the service was just that bad. It took 15 mins to see waitress for first time and the place wasn't busy. Couldn't get refills because the waitress was MIA. Food did come out quick and was so-so. I've had better food at other locations. The quality isn't up to Joe's standards and I will not return to this location

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Crab Daddy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I am not a born & raised Marylander so I do not really find enjoyment in the blue crabs like most Marylanders do. Joes is perfect for me because you can get the crab & or lobster you want without having to pick at a whole crab!!
The food has ALWAYS been awesome!! This is not a place you will go to every month or anything but for a seafood splurge it is worth the money (in my opinion).
The staff is very nice & friendly, it's a fun environment.
My family came to visit from out of state & we brought them to Joe's, they all loved it!!
Expect to spend a reasonable amount on the steam pots, but again worth it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Good if all you want is Seafood.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I'm not a seafood person in any way shape or form but my wife is, so take this with a grain of Old Bay. Her meal was very good in quality and quantity. However unlike just about any other seafood venue if you don't like seafood or have someone in the party who doesn't you really should consider some other place. The facility was quite nice and the staff was very attentive, prices were reasonable and wait time was quite acceptable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.