We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MD Live poker room...needs better management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maryland Live Casino

Maryland Live Casino
7002 Arundel Mills Cir, Hanover, MD 23607
443-445-2500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 8 Attractions in Hanover
Type: Casinos
Attraction Details
Columbia, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“MD Live poker room...needs better management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I mainly play poker tournaments and was glad to see a casino close to my house.
The tournament structure for September does not meet the average players needs.
Average meaning costs. the 2 rooms are comfortable , except for the 1-8 tables too close to the casino noise. The biggest problem are the waits for cash games. On a Sunday and Friday morn I had to wait over an hour even though half the tables were empty...Not enough dealers is poor planning..There must be some kind of back up dealers list. the average time (on 3 occasions) to get food was 35 min. The food is expensive for what you get. Quality is OK. Tournaments that start @ 7pm during the week do not accommodate most people who do not want to leave for home at 1am. Octobers tournament structure was an improvement.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    111
    98
    70
    59
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Buffet quality has declined”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I have recently become an avid blackjack player. Prior to this, I looked forward to coming on either a Friday or Saturday for their all you can eat crab legs. When the buffet first opened, everything was fresh. Now it seems that food is overcooked, greasy and salty. The desserts were tasteless (with the exception of the carrot cake). It was just ok. Now back to the crabs. They were a nice size but now they have gotten to be too salty. I've told this to the shift manager but I'm hoping more upper level staff are reading this review so they can adjust the dining standards accordingly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Maryland Live Casino”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We visited the casino on a Sunday late afternoon during Labor Day. We parked in the parking lot, and were immediately greeted by someone offering a ride to the front door. Once inside this is a very nice casino that is non smoking, Cheesecake Factory is attached, and within steps is the Arundel Mills Mall...there is plenty to do if the kids want to shop and you want to gamble. The customer service desk was very accommodating and pleasant to talk to while retreiving our rewards cards. The negative to this casino is...it's in a mall folks, it is NOT Atlantic City, or Vegas, and yet the minimum on the tables is $25.00, and the slots are the tightest I've seen yet.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Poker Room and Live Buffet.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have been to the Casino several times to eat at the Cheesecake Factory. A friend and I stopped by to checkout the poker room and all you can eat snow crab legs. Make sure to get your rewards card you will get a 2 for 1 buffet coupon to use on your next visit and also $10-$15 in free slot money for friends. The buffet on Fri and Sat(5:30 -10) is $35 with all you can eat snow crabs you will get $2 off if you have a rewards card on other nights its $18. The buffet is definitely not like what you will find in Las Vegas is kinda small and some of the food option you should pass up. I enjoyed the snow crabs, mac n cheese, and chilled shrimp. The coconut shrimp, catfish, and fried chicken were all lacking in proper seasoning and flavor. I didn't get a chance to try any desserts as we were paged for our poker table.

The poker room opened up a few weeks ago but the layout and staff are still disorganized. There is small waiting area and a very small bar located in the room which was inadequate given the number of tables and players. There only things comp are soft drinks, water and coffee. For a busy Sat night there were not enough waitress so don't prompt service you might pass out from dehydration. The table play was okay some of the dealers are still inexperienced and the some of the players can get really obnoxious. The room is very loud due the paging system announcing players to open tables kinda like a bingo parlor becames very annoying after a few hours. The games are competitive but management needs to improve the player experience. Its worth a visit especially if you live in the area it definitely doesn't compare to AC and Vegas.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Blowing Off Steam....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Visited Maryland Live Casino Over The Labor Day Weekend….After Returning Home From A Weekend Spent With Family, Wanted To Have A Lil Fun.…This Was my first trip since the tables open and I must say, I love the casino more now than when it first opened….It really has the Atlantic City Vibe, but its right around the corner…..Very Pleasant Evening Spent With Good Company….Will Be Returning When, The Pocket Book Lets Me….

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maryland Live Casino also viewed

 

Been to Maryland Live Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maryland Live Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;