We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good in Bobby Flays, but not a gambler” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maryland Live Casino

Maryland Live Casino
7002 Arundel Mills Cir, Hanover, MD 23607
443-445-2500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 8 attractions in Hanover
Type: Casinos
Attraction Details
Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Food was good in Bobby Flays, but not a gambler”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We ate at Bobby Flays inside the Casino, it was an excellent burger, cooked just right and the price for all was super, the place did not gouge you. The way they take the order, seat you, and bring to table, a nice production process.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    101
    90
    69
    55
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
raleigh nc
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Overall - fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Nonsmoking, slots galore! Table limits need to be lower. We were there day and evening during the week and only a couple $15 tables, the rest higher; not a $10 in the place. I would return when in the area, but would return more if table limits were lower.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bad Overall Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Recently a co-worker decided to celebrate his birthday at the casino. We were all excited and picked Maryland Live because it is the closest casino. However, things just didn't pan out how we had hoped.

First, we attempted to go to the restaurant inside the casino and were told that because one couple had an infant we could not even walk through the casino at all. There was no exterior entrance into the restaurant, which left us with no option and upset our party plans. The security guard wouldn't even simply escort us through the casino so that we could eat. The couple and infant were only joining us to eat, and leaving before we started gambling. We never expected to not be able to eat with them either!

And Secondly, all of the tables that we could find had a $50 buy in! This might be fine if you are a regular gambler, but for the casual player that seemed a little extreme. I was told that the stakes were higher because it was very late in the evening. We killed an hour playing slot machines but it just wasn't the overall experience that we went in expecting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spend You Money Elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

When you walk into any type of casino/gaming hall people know that they should expect a loud and fun environment filled with drinks with the dream of winning big. In this aspect, Maryland Live doesn’t fail. There are a plethora of slots, table games, bars, and restaurants to satisfy just about anyone.

Aside from the environment it provides, Maryland Live fails miserably. By walking around day or night, weekday or weekend you rarely see anyone winning and typically find crowds of unsavory people lurking about. Many of these patrons are downright disrespectful of others with their ignorance and excessively foul language. The casino is filled with folks you wouldn't want to encounter in a dark alley. What gets worse, is that the employees of Maryland Live are just about the same. Nearly none of them are happy and it shows through the lack of customer service and friendliness. I personally experienced this first hand through the trashy thug Maryland Live had manning the main exit. Without being provoked he was ignorant and imposed and mis-treated me….and this was on a Saturday afternoon!

The casino itself seems to tailor to the people that can come in and drop thousands at a shot, instead of allowing the recreational gambler enjoy the establishment too. While many slots allow for a minimum $0.50 bet, the table minimums are ridiculous and even with the high minimum you can't even enjoy the experience because of the people. To make matters worse, they charge you for anything ($10 valet, etc) that can possibly charge you and their comp/rewards program it terrible, rarely offing things like free slot play or food comps (even to people that do drop a ton of money there). I am certain that the volume of patrons will diminish and the quality of patrons will improve in the coming year as MD casinos open at National Harbor and in Baltimore City, I won’t be back because the management of Maryland Live has clearly accepted in terms of customer service/satisfaction.

While if I gamble I’d rather see my money stay in Maryland (my home state), I’d much rather enjoy my gambling experience elsewhere. Take Harrington Casino for example, its a short drive and with excellent comps ($100 meals comps and $25 free slot play weekly (no restrictions)) makes the gas money well worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coraopolis, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Big casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a big casino. Plenty of machines of various denominations. Quite a hike to get to the player's rewards desk. Also beware of the valet parking. If you don't have a reward card it costs you $10. If you have a card, go outside to the valet window and pay $5.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarylandLive, Manager at Maryland Live Casino, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Jeff - Thanks for taking the time to provide this review. There are two Live! Rewards Clubs available, one near the main entrance and one near the R Bar. We hope to see you soon!

Maryland Live! Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maryland Live Casino also viewed

 

Been to Maryland Live Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maryland Live Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maryland Live Casino to your Saves list