We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't make you forget Las Vegas” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maryland Live Casino

Maryland Live Casino
7002 Arundel Mills Cir, Hanover, MD 23607
443-445-2500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 8 attractions in Hanover
Type: Casinos
Attraction Details
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Won't make you forget Las Vegas”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Maryland Live is little more than a slots hall with pricey table games. The casino is in a bland cement building. It's nicer on the inside, but completely lacks character or style. There are an unbelievable number of slot machines, so if that's your thing, you'll have lots of options. There are a few video poker machines with lousy payouts, and they are right by an exit where people go to smoke, so it reeks in this area.

There are table games, but the minimums are $25-$50 at every table (except for one, odd chipless blackjack table with continuous shuffling). This was Tuesday night; minimums are probably higher on weekends. Surprisingly, people still filled the tables. Seems to me that if you can afford to play at $25+ per hand, you can afford to patronize a nicer casino than this.

Aside from the slots and table games, there's not much here. A couple of restaurants (Bobby Flay Burger Palace, Cheesecake Factory, Noodles, a Steakhouse and a buffet), a bar area and did I mention how many slots machines there are?

It's mercifully non-smoking, but I can't give much credit for following the law. Parking is also free and ample.

Save your gambling money for a trip to the Strip. Your bankroll will last longer, you'll eat better and you'll have more fun.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    101
    90
    69
    55
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New JErsey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Its okay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This property opened up over a year ago and since then have added table games was well. There are high table game minimums $25-$50 for blackjack and craps, baccart was $100 min when I was there on a Tuesday afternoon at 12:30 (only imagine what its like on a weekend). After seeing those minimum wagers I refused to play tables and focused on the slots- lost $50. Food selection is okay they have a buffet and an asian place prices are reasonable. There is no free beer or liquor even when gambling you have to pay for it, no smoking, no hotel for free rooms, nightlife is limited, no banquet or convention space. This is just a building with a casino.

I must say though that the level of gambling going on here is crazy. People dropping money like it was water- there was no shortage of players willing to play.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great casino - Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

It may no be Vegas, but when you pull up and the lights and walk through the front door you feel like you are in Vegas. Huge place - great food and the live music venue just adds to fun.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Low Class Players - High Minimums”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Casino has new feel to it and is smoke free. Cheesecake factory and few other upper end restaurants onsite. Those are the positives.

The players are very low class gamblers. I have been there 3 times on 3 different nights. Because of the high minimum 25/50 BJ and 50 crap tables, the play at the tables is very tense and unfriendly. Most of the players are low income/blue collar types who are gambling away their savings/paychecks. Players are swearing, angry, and get up and leave tables in between hands and come back more angry. I witness very poor people losing several thousand in a few minutes. Obviously this place business model is to make 100's of millions of the residence of PG County and bmore until the casinos open in bmore and national harbor. After that, this place will be a ghost town.

They require you to bet the minimum on almost all betting options in craps, so the player could have a 150 riding on throw in craps with normal play. The BJ tables use in game shuffler which gives the house even more advantage.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A 1 only because there are no negatives”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

After my wife and I ate dinner at Bobby's Burger Place (nothing special for the price) we exited the restaurant with our bottled water and headed for the casino. No signs indicating we could not take the water. One employee walked up and indicated I could not take the water in nor could I drink it in the lobby. I returned to the restaurant and finished my water, my wife threw hers away. When we attempted to go to the casino floor another employee refused me entry saying I had been told 3 times (I was told once at which time I did as described above.). They offered to let my wife in but not me. We noticed not too many Caucasians on the floor. We are an interracial couple. Not sure what their issue was, but I will spend my money ANYWHERE other than there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maryland Live Casino also viewed

 

Been to Maryland Live Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maryland Live Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maryland Live Casino to your Saves list