We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport to your Saves list
Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7035 Arundel Mills Circle, Hanover, MD 21076   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Hanover
Seattle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have to say that some of our time here (two weeks) was truly awful. We won't return but I doubt it would make a difference. This hotel has many negatives but a few shining pluses-

-housekeeping staff was rude in the halls and had an attitude from the first day
-they would glare at us and other guests while we passed by, even though we greeted them kindly
-due to housekeeping's inexplicable hostility, we cleaned the rooms ourselves, and got a vacuum
-we had to switch rooms twice due to overwhelming odors (curry, sweat)
-one room had mold in the shower and trash left underneath furniture
-another room had a broken cabinet, leaky kitchen pipe, and exposed carpet nails
-suite was cramped
-breakfast area congested and poorly laid out (i.e. single waffle maker); guests became feral
-dining staff was rude to some guests, friendly with others
-laundry area unsecured and unkept with a broken washer filled with moldy water (+week)
-fitness room was tiny and filthy
-location was next to the gritty Arundel Mills Mall and seedy MD Live! Casino; high crime/traffic
-the hotel shuttle was driven recklessly and at top speed - they 'drove it like they stole it';
-this property cannot manage high volume - their public spaces are too small for the amount of guests they try to accommodate

On the other hand:

-maintenance tech was efficient and kind
-renovated lobby was clean and bright
-studio was a good size
-hotel room safes worked perfectly
-manager and chef at evening social were welcoming and helpful
-front desk manager was proactive and pleasant
-one evening, the manager's reception was outstanding: sangria, pasta salad, hummus, vegetable purée soup - all delicious
-complimentary laundry use and detergent/dryer sheets available (have to ask)
-location was next to the Arundel Mills Mall and MD Live! Casino, if you're in to that

tl;dr - We don't recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tad s, Manager at Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
I'm very sorry you had a mixed experience while staying at our hotel. We strive to connect and engage all of our guests and ensure they have a problem free stay. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel to further discuss your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    24
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
19
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

No complaints about the hotel itself. It's new-ish and has a nice lobby area. The location is excellent, close to the Arundel Mills Mall, with a free shuttle to get you there. Our problem was with room cleaning. They missed one day after we had specifically asked to have it done on our way out. Nothing worse than coming back late and exhausted to an unclean room and no clean linens. (The night person at the desk was very kind and brought us more linens.)

The next morning I called down and explained our room hadn't been cleaned the day before and asked to have it cleaned early. Again, nothing, and it wasn't until I went down to the front desk and asked again that it got done. How can it be so hard to get a room cleaned over the course of two days?

One of the women at the reception desk had a perpetual frown. Even a request for the free shuttle was met with an unhappy sigh and a muttered, "He just left here and I don't think he's available." However, when called, he was. In all cases she seemed to prefer saying "no" over "yes."

Finally, the beds are terribly uncomfortable. Not much to be done about that.

On the whole, I guess the location outweighs the other negatives, but because of our personal experience, we'll probably stay at the nearby Hampton (which looks quite nice from the outside and also has a free shuttle) the next time we stay in the area.

My husband is a platinum level Marriott member and has spent many, many nights at Marriott hotels to get to that level. It's always a disappointment when one of the hotels does not meet reasonable expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tad s, Manager at Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always helpful to see our service from the guest perspective. I'm very sorry about your concerns with the housekeeping service. I will address these with our Executive Housekeeper. There is no excuse for unfriendly service in the hospitality industry, it's just what we do! One of our key phrases here is "find creative ways to say "yes"!"

Please know that your experience is not typical. I hope you will try our hotel again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed here for 50 odd days and loved every minute of it. Being across the carpark for the Arundel Mills shopping mall was great. It meant I could walk over to the centre without trying to find a carpark as it can be quite difficult on weekends. There are plenty of restaurants that surround the shopping mall and within 5 minutes of the hotel. There is also a casino 5 minutes away.

The hotel has a gym, laundry with plenty of dryers, free breakfast every morning, a supper service as well although I didn't use this as there is a full size kitchen in your room. There is plenty of carparking and and also has free wifi and a printer down stairs.

The rooms were cleaned daily and were very thorough.

Room Tip: Ask to stay near some stairs as the two lifts are soooooooo slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tad s, Manager at Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing Residence Inn Arundel Mills as your "home away from home" while on extended travel! Our team works hard every day to make our extended stay guests feel at home and appreciated. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our excellent location adjacent to Arundel Mills Mall and Maryland LIVE! Casino. We are already looking forward to your return visit! (sorry for the slow lifts!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed at the hotel with friends in June. The hotel is modern and clean. The rooms are spacious and have everything you need and more. Restaurants, a casino and mall are within walking distance. We will definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tad s, Manager at Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review of our award winning hotel! We love to hear from our guests! Our location on the grounds of Arundel Mills shopping, dining and entertainment complex and Maryland LIVE! Casino makes us the perfect choice for a fun and action packed trip. Thank you for choosing Residence Inn Arundel Mills! We'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjemoy, Maryland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the hotel on a Friday night after spending the evening at Maryland Live Casino. the location is very convenient to the casino and shopping. The room was very spacious, clean and cozy. There was a full kitchen. The only negative comment I have is that we went down to the free hot breakfast at 9:30. It ends at 10 am but when we got there they were out of everything. We had to wait about 15-20 minutes for them to make eggs, sausage and potatoes and bring more batter for the waffles. I will say it was worth the wait, the food was really good.. There was a girl that was working in the dining area that was really friendly and tried her best to get us food in a timely manner, the staff at the front desk were also very pleasant. I recommend this hotels and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tad s, Manager at Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and the awesome shopping and entertainment at the Arundel Mills Mall. We hope you were a BIG winner at Maryland LIVE! Casino! Please accept our apologies regarding the delay in food service at the complimentary breakfast. Our busiest time on the weekend is between 9am and 10am so we are constantly cooking food to make sure it's hot and fresh! We look forward to seeing you soon-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I've stayed at over 34 Residence Inn by Marriotts in the past 10 years, and this by far is the best. This hotel is nestled in a secluded and beautiful location and is in walking distance from the Arundel Mills Mall and plenty of restaurants. The staff were great as well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tad s, Manager at Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, MA
Top Contributor
396 reviews 396 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

When traveling by car, we like to stay in a Residence Inn. Having a kitchen and a free breakfast is convenient and the suite allows me to stay up late and read or watch a movie without disturbing my wife. Check in was easy and our room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tad s, Manager at Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We are pleased that you prefer Residence Inn as your "home away from home"! Thank you for staying with us and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport

Address: 7035 Arundel Mills Circle, Hanover, MD 21076
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arundel Mills Bwi Airport Hotel Hanover
Residence Inn Hanover
Hanover Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.