We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills / BWI Airport

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills / BWI Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills / BWI Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1525 Dorsey Road, Hanover, MD 21076   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Hanover
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed for business for a week in January while my company was doing business at Fort Meade. The location in Hanover is nice as it is close to both BWI Airport and Fort Meade. The hotel was very nice place and reasonably priced, very clean and well maintained. The staff was helpful and friendly, especially the maintenance man who came immediately when I needed fresh batteries for the TV remote. The complimentary laundry was nice as well so I did not have to fumble around with change. I have to fly in to the area a few times a year and I'll definitely stay here from now on.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    13
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
15
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed at the Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills with friends while visiting the new Casino and had a very pleasant experience. The room was very clean. I shared a room with 2 queen beds and the room was wonderful and was above average room size. There was a kitchen in the room but I did not use it since we were only here for the night. Also, there was a nice flat screen tv in the room and a dvd player, although it did not appear to be a blu ray player. The location was perfect for us with the Casino and Mall around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked this hotel the day our daughter went into labor as it was located close to the hospital and then her home. We knew that we would be here about 10 days after she gave birth. We called, made the resevation and did not show up until after our grandson was several hours old. Our room was waiting for us. We were warmly greeted when we checked in. The bed was comfortable and the room spotless! The next morning, knowing we were going to be here for a while we asked about a larger room and were shown their one bedroom suite and we upgraded immediately.

What we loved: the people who worked at the hotel; the space in the rooms we had and the large bathroom with lots of storage space; lots of drawers in the bedroom; a very comfortable bed and soft linens; it was quiet in the halls and room to room; the ability to have an aprtment like facility (with kitchen)at a reasonable price.

What needs some work: the heating units (it was hard to keep the temp at a comfortable level - we ended up turning the thermostat in the bedroom off completely); a larger coffee maker; different lighting - it was a bit harsh in the living room and kitchen area; the gym - only one treadmill was working and the other had some issue with the tread and the all-in-one larger piece was not bolted to the floor.

What you need to be aware of: it looks like the hotel is on a quiet side road BUT about a mile beyond the hotel is an industrial park with a Staples fullfillment center and other businesses that have tracker-trailers going by early in the the AM. It will not stop us from coming back, but it is better to be aware of this.

We are planning a trip down in a month and i plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I traveled on government business and just stayed for a few weeks and was very impressed by the quality of the hotel. The rooms are superb and the beds are really nice. There were about 50 channels (all in High definition) including HBO. The kitchens and large room size make it nice for a longer stay. The hotel is a little hard to find and I drove past it the first time I tried to find it, but it is close to the Arundel Mills Mall with lots of stores and restaurants, and very close to the Route 100 Arundel Mills Blvd exit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were hosting thanksgiving at our house and since our house is small but we have a big family we booked a few rooms over the holiday at this hotel since it was a very good deal compared to the other hotels. I was a bit worried as my sister is a bit picky but the whole family was happy with the hotel as it was new and well kept. I was surprised when my sister showed up Thanksgiving morning with a couple of appetizers! She said the room had a kitchen with pots and pans and a cooktop so she went to the local Safeway and made them in the morning. I actually just came back with my husband one weekend and stayed while going out to the Casino nearby one night. We will recommend to others coming to the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We were very impressed by the service the staff provided. The guestroom was also very well appointed and the whole family was happy. The bathroom and kitchen were spotless and it was helpful to have the kitchen with the family. Very good value and If we are in the area we will come again definitely.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel was filled with stink bugs. I flushed 17 of them down the toilet before bed. I asked for another room. The hotel said they were full. I asked for another hotel they said it would be on me. I wouldn't get a refund. The floor was not cleaned. The workspace was not washed. There was food left on it from the last guest. Stay AWAY

Room Tip: Please find another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsarundelmills, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills / BWI Airport, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback on your most recent stay at the Candlewood Suites. As General Manager, I was concerned to read of the challenges you experienced during your stay. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you were faced with due to the stink bugs and cleanliness issues with your room. We do take guest feedback very seriously and have treated the entire hotel for stink bugs after reading your comments. We haven’t had any complaints since then. We have also addressed your concerns with our housekeeping staff. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Candlewood Suites in the future. We hope you will consider providing us with another opportunity to provide you with the levels of service we truly pride ourselves on.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills / BWI Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills / BWI Airport

Address: 1525 Dorsey Road, Hanover, MD 21076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills / BWI Airport 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills / BWI Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills / BWI Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.