We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to all the hype” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timbuktu Restaurant

Timbuktu Restaurant
1726 Doresy Road, Hanover, MD 21076-1100
410-796-0733
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 103 Restaurants in Hanover
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not up to all the hype”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We heard and read wonderful reviews, but it didn't live up to them. The waitstaff was very informative and knowledge about the menu. The PEI Mussels and the crab cakes with the broil seafood were awesome, but everything else was just so-so. The seating area was very tight and loud and you are always listening into someone else's conversation. It was more expansive than the quality of the food allowed. We won't go here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    109
    50
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went Sunday about 2;45 P.M. it was a party of 16, it took 30 minutes before we were seated. We never was served dinner until 4:30 P.M ( a whole hour & 15 minutes later) I think the service was horrible, the food was warm not hot. we spent over $500. for terrible service will not go agin.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The food was great. The service was . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

When we first arrived, we asked for separate (4) checks. The server said no problem, but when it came time to bring the checks, she refused to separate them. Some of us wanted to pay with cash, others with credit card. It was quite a hassle. We had to request the manager for assistance and she wasn't much better. On the upside, the crab cakes were very good!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Timbuktu crabcake is all you need!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The food is so fresh I thought I was eating it directly from the sea The crab cakes a huge. Was there for lunch, ordered the sandwich with cold slaw and I could not finish my meal. It was so good, bought another to take home. LOL Great service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Having lived in the surrounding area for many year,I don't know how this gem had escaped us.
A Friend from out of the area invited us to Timbuktu, and I told him we would meet him anywhere
but Timbuktu was a stretch I wasn't a stretch but a Wonderful Surprise. Wonderful Food,Excellent and Attentive Waiter. We were told to bring a cooler as the portions were so big you would be taking some home. Actually we should have brought a bigger cooler, the portions were that big.
Crab Cakes and Crab Imperial that was beyond belief. Will definitely make the trip again. You can't go wrong here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timbuktu Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Timbuktu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timbuktu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.