We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for good crab cakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timbuktu Restaurant

Timbuktu Restaurant
1726 Doresy Road, Hanover, MD 21076-1100
410-796-0733
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 105 Restaurants in Hanover
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Looking for good crab cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at Timbucktu on a Sunday evening. I ordered the single crab cake dinner and it was more than enough food. The crab cakes were Hugh and delish. The onion rings we had as an appetizer were humongous.. Two much for even two to share.. Whew! They were good too and the service was excellent. Surprisingly we walked right in.. No wait..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kingma54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
263 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Unsuspecting from the road, but the parking lot was packed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

1st timer, but took a recommendation from some colleagues. Our business dinner group was 7. We were seated quickly, décor is middle eastern but crab cakes and lobster were on special... our table was quick to order porterhouse steak, mixed seafood platters ( with crab cakes), snapper with crab, chicken parm... all meals came with salad and choices of sides... most of the meals were under $30/ plate.. Cheese cake and bread pudding was bountiful and delicious! Definitely a return visit is in store. Wait staff was very friendly and efficient...glad to see good food not reduced to chain restaurant minimalism...great portions!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pierogyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York,NY
Level Contributor
456 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Over the top great service and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you eat here ask for Beth. She was so friendly, knowledgeable and just great! Crab cake was awesome as well as a chocolate cake with caramel inside. DELICIOUS. If in the area eat at this place. Awesome experience. Thanks Beth!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank StefMillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“FIRST RATE CRAB CAKES - CARRYOUT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

For carryout, the crab cakes were delicious. They were large, moist and full of lump crab meat. Just perfect. We split the platter (two crab cakes and two sides). It was pricey at $27.99 but for two who were in the mood for good crab cakes, it was more than satisfying. By the way, their cole slaw is highly recommended. A trip to Timbuktu is one that will bring a smile to your face as you remember your first and last bite of that crab cake.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyb406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Republic, MD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Maryland's Best Crab Cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Timbuktu is very close to Arudnel Mills Mall, Live Casino, and BWI Airport, so if your in the area, you must stop. I drive 60 miles to eat here, here is that good. The crabs cakes are excellent, completely full of crab, hardy any filler, this makes them pricey, but on the first bit you forget all about the cost. Their crab imperial is just as good, and your going to go home with leftovers because they give you that much. The service is always great, and if there is a line try the bar area, same food and no wait.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie3668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timbuktu Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Timbuktu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing