We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timbuktu Restaurant

Timbuktu Restaurant
1726 Doresy Road, Hanover, MD 21076-1100
410-796-0733
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 102 Restaurants in Hanover
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Wayne, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great food, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

service was great, our waitress Lisa was tremendous, recommending all the right things. Crab cakes!!!! Crab Cakes!!!!!! one of the best crab cakes i've had. HUGE size too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    88
    39
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Have been going here for a couple years. So far only for lunch and for their great Crabcakes.
We order the sandwich with no bread. Prices are reasonable for the area; and, it has a reputation for at least 50 miles around. A place for good, honest Baltimore,
Chesapeake food (Crabcakes). The first time we went my wife was concerned since it was busy but, we saw lots of men going inside. We thought that maybe there was something other than food here.
Turns out that it is a popular eating spot for the area. It's near BWI Airport and Fort Meade.
It is located near the intersection of I-95 and Md 100, go east on MD 100, then exit to go to Dorsey Road (which is parallel to Rt 100) and continue east. They also have worthwhile nightly specials. Be prepared for a relaxed but bustling atmosphere. Remember that in this area all the Crabcake places have the world's BEST, Timbuktu Restaurant is a front runner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“The Worst Crab Cakes.... EVER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The wait alone is bananas and because of their recommendation and reputation we endured a wait of a Friday night.. The crab cakes were huge and full of fillers, lite on lump crab.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Out of place & Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We've been going here for over 15 yrs! The crabcakes are unbelieveble! All their seafood is very good and their specials rock! The bar has generous pours and resonable prices. Sometimes there is await, but it s worth it. They bake thier own bread & deserts.Not anything like you would expect in this neighborhood and this close (7 min.) to BWI. When traveling into BWI, I'm "under orders" to not come home without crabcakes! My daugther from the west coast times her flights for meals here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“come in starving, leave stuffed & not broke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Wasn't really wanting to go to this place because the camel theme made me think it was East Indian or turkish food or something ( not into that kind of food at all ). But I was with other people and they were paying so ..........
Got there and nobody could figure out why there is a camel theme all over (not even the employees).
The place is dark and dingy and cheap looking. Like an old converted hall or something where low budget wedding receptions are held.
The menu had a lot of seafood butt standard american cuisine as well.
The prices looked pretty good for value.
We ordered starters and when they arrived everything was delicious !!!
The portions are HUGE ! No wonder the place was so busy.
We were all stuffed before the entrees arrived.
So in summary, if you are hungry and want great food , lots of it, for a good value then COME HERE.
If you are a snob and want fancy and overpriced, stay away.
Would definitely come here again

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timbuktu Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Timbuktu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timbuktu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.