We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best crabcakes ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timbuktu Restaurant

Timbuktu Restaurant
1726 Doresy Road, Hanover, MD 21076-1100
410-796-0733
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 102 Restaurants in Hanover
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best crabcakes ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

These are the best crabcakes I've ever had, seriously. And the crab cocktail is also fabulous. The restaurant itself is nothing fancy...so you're not going to be impressed when you walk in and sit down. But once you take a bite of the crab, nothing else matters.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    90
    40
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Saw other reviews on this place. Worth the trip. It's kind of a hokey looking building and it probably could use updating inside. However, price, service, value, and quality of food were outstanding. Will go back again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great broiled seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

While working in Maryland, I asked the people I was working with where they would recommend to go for seafood. I was told to go to Timbuktu, which turned out to be only a couple miles from my hotel. I went with a coworker and we sat in the bar area. The service was great and the broiled seafood platter was excellent! I will definitely go back when I am in the area. If I could make a change, I would add beer on tap to the many choices of bottled beer, wine and a full bar. I enjoyed a bottle beer with my meal, but local draft beer would have been better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good steak and seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had a good steak and my dining companions found the seafood really good. The place is bigger than it looks on the outside and we were seated quickly. Service was good and friendly. I would visit again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food but Terrible Service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had crab cakes and soft shell crabs for dinner. Love the food!!

The waiter was not helpful and had a bad attitude. It does not make us felt welcome dining at this restaurant.

This is my first visit to the restaurant. I would probably go back and give it another try with a different waiter/waitress.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timbuktu Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Timbuktu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timbuktu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.