We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE Menu” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Parrot Asian Bistro

Red Parrot Asian Bistro
7698 Dorchester Rd, Hanover, MD 21076-1946
410-799-4573
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 102 Restaurants in Hanover
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“HUGE Menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The menu covered most Asian cuisines, which made me question how good everything was. It was pretty good, but not EXCELLENT. I had the Vietnamese spring rolls, they seemed a little overcooked. The Thai Basil Fried Rice was pretty great, however. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and the My Thailand Ice Tea was smooth for an alcoholic beverage.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    21
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Poor Service - left without our food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Food might be good here but we did not stay to find out. Went for lunch at 1 PM when it was not busy (maybe 1/3 full) and plenty of staff hanging around. It took a long time for a server to come to us. Ordered lunch specials and water to drink. The water tasted a little off. After almost 30 minutes the soup had not even arrived and it looked like we were going to be late to an appointment so we left. We had budgeted 45 minutes for lunch which we thought was reasonable. Staff looked fairly miserable. Maybe this place is trying to distinguish itself from other casual Asian eateries. We will not return.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Love this place -- large menu, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I am always a little skeptical of 'strip mall' restaurants, but can honestly say this place is AWESOME. This restaurant includes a large menu with a number of Thai dishes and sushi options. Add to that salads and some seafood options with Asian flair. There is a decent drink menu including wines, sake and beers.

The Lobster Dynamite roll is to die for. Service is prompt and friendly and the staff make great recommendations -- they actually eat what they serve!

I am headed back tomorrow!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good alternative to Casino/Mall restaurants”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We planned to eat at the MD Live Casino, but the crowds drove us away. We stopped at this Asian bistro, which has a varied menu (Thai, Japanese, Korean, and Chinese options). The Red-feathered Squall drink was tasty, as were the Japanese spring rolls. Entrees of General Tso's chicken and Happy Family were fine, but not memorable. There is a sushi bar and booth or table seating. A nice neighborhood spot in Hanover.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I live in the area and this is a go-to. Awesome sushi, great service, and the rest of the food I've tried is amazing as well. Great selection of many different Asian dishes. Highly recommend this place. Order $50 and live closely, and they'll even deliver!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Parrot Asian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Red Parrot Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Parrot Asian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.