We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE Menu” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Parrot Asian Bistro

Red Parrot Asian Bistro
7698 Dorchester Rd, Hanover, MD 21076
+1 410-799-4573
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 104 Restaurants in Hanover
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Red Parrot Asian Bistro in Hanover, MD was established with the concept of revolutionizing your cuisine experience and giving a one of a kind treat to your palates. We introduce variations of South East Asian cuisines offering Thai food, sushi, and Asian fusion for food lovers to enjoy. Here, at the bistro, we offer cocktail drinks, delicious Asian food and bubble tea. And best of all, we have a relaxing and wonderful environment for people to enjoy the atmosphere and the food. All of our entrees and rolls are made from scratch from the freshest ingredients to ensure that you are getting the best meal around. Try some of our favorites like the mountain roll, tempura shrimp with spicy sauce and avocado, or the lobster dynamite roll. We have great happy hour specials on appetizers, rolls, and drinks seven days a week. We define Red Parrot Asian Bistro to be a professional in South East Asian cuisine experience. Our goal is to reach out to the busy lifestyle of our guests. Our steadfast commitment is to serve the freshest, healthiest Asian inspired delicacies ranging from interesting selections of beverages and high quality foods.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“HUGE Menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The menu covered most Asian cuisines, which made me question how good everything was. It was pretty good, but not EXCELLENT. I had the Vietnamese spring rolls, they seemed a little overcooked. The Thai Basil Fried Rice was pretty great, however. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and the My Thailand Ice Tea was smooth for an alcoholic beverage.

Visited July 2014
Thank BriCooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy C, Owner at Red Parrot Asian Bistro, responded to this review, April 3, 2015
We're glad you had such a good time with us and enjoyed your basil fried rice as well. We know it's been a while since you wrote this, but we just wanted to reach out and let you know we appreciate the compliments.

Hope to see you again soon,
Red Parrot Asian Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poor Service - left without our food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Food might be good here but we did not stay to find out. Went for lunch at 1 PM when it was not busy (maybe 1/3 full) and plenty of staff hanging around. It took a long time for a server to come to us. Ordered lunch specials and water to drink. The water tasted a little off. After almost 30 minutes the soup had not even arrived and it looked like we were going to be late to an appointment so we left. We had budgeted 45 minutes for lunch which we thought was reasonable. Staff looked fairly miserable. Maybe this place is trying to distinguish itself from other casual Asian eateries. We will not return.

Visited April 2014
Thank Bob_plus_Four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Love this place -- large menu, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I am always a little skeptical of 'strip mall' restaurants, but can honestly say this place is AWESOME. This restaurant includes a large menu with a number of Thai dishes and sushi options. Add to that salads and some seafood options with Asian flair. There is a decent drink menu including wines, sake and beers.

The Lobster Dynamite roll is to die for. Service is prompt and friendly and the staff make great recommendations -- they actually eat what they serve!

I am headed back tomorrow!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank prs2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
160 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good alternative to Casino/Mall restaurants”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We planned to eat at the MD Live Casino, but the crowds drove us away. We stopped at this Asian bistro, which has a varied menu (Thai, Japanese, Korean, and Chinese options). The Red-feathered Squall drink was tasty, as were the Japanese spring rolls. Entrees of General Tso's chicken and Happy Family were fine, but not memorable. There is a sushi bar and booth or table seating. A nice neighborhood spot in Hanover.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Thank FMCMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I live in the area and this is a go-to. Awesome sushi, great service, and the rest of the food I've tried is amazing as well. Great selection of many different Asian dishes. Highly recommend this place. Order $50 and live closely, and they'll even deliver!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank ayrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Parrot Asian Bistro also viewed


Been to Red Parrot Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing