We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Element Arundel Mills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Element Arundel Mills to your Saves list
Element Arundel Mills
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7522 Teague Road, Hanover, MD 21076   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Superb value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 6/1-6/3 and was pleasantly surprised by all that it offered. The hotel offers tremendous value -- expansive rooms, free HOT breakfast, lots of amenities and it is very modern. Staff was warm and friendly, and very helpful with special request. They took a genuine concern in making sure all their guests needs were met.

We stayed in a studio room, which was large ,very modern, had free fast wifi (so rare these days), a modern bathroom, a nice living area with pull out couch, a full kitchen area and a comfortable Heavenly bed. The lobby was clean and inviting, and much different than a regular hotel. The pool area was large (indoor) and clean but was shared with the adjoining Aloft property next door. Workout room was very large for this size hotel with a ton of equipment.

Breakfast was HOT and offerings changed each day--pancakes, waffles, eggs, grits, potatoes. I would have liked to see pastries or more fruit, but it was a pretty good breakfast for the price of the room.

Location is excellent--right near I95 and the Baltimore/Wash Xway. Also right near BWI airport and Arundel Mills mall and Live Casino. Lots of shopping and restaurants within minutes.

My only complaints were that the housekeeping needs some work. There was a ton of dust all over the furniture when we arrived. The top of the refrigerator had not been wiped down in weeks and was caked in dust. Other than the dust issue, the room was clean and acceptable. This is something that bothers me and is a telltale sign that something is not right with housekeeping or management. However, despite this minor issues, the hotel still offered great value, overall was very clean and modern, and had a great staff. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Element Arundel Mills, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear WDWFan1977,
We really appreciate your comments - thanks for sharing! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Element and were able to experience many of our hotel features including free hot breakfast and our indoor pool. We'll be sure to share your comments regarding housekeeping during our next team meeting. We hope to see you on your next trip to Hanover. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    74
    19
    26
    26
See reviews for
65
53
25
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
D.C.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Once again, I am biased towards Element Hotels in particular and Starwood properties in general. I just simply like them. This location is no different!

The hotel is located adjacent to the Aloft hotel and just across the street from Arundel Mills Mall (which has all the shopping you can handle, plus a Medieval Times, Best Buy, movie theater, Bass Pro Outdoor World and the Maryland Live! Casino). A complimentary shuttle is provided from both Aloft and Element to the mall and casino.

The beds at Element really stand out as their best feature! Incredibly comfortable and supportive! Additionally, the hotel is located within minutes to BWI Airport, making it incredibly convenient for those catching flights. Finally, Baltimore's Inner Harbor is a short (about 15 minutes) car ride away.

All in all, a true gem!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My experience with the element staff, was an awesome one. I feel as if they were part of my a family. While I spent 6 weeks stay. Two Element staff that stood out Treon and Siyon staff employees that stood out was Treon, and Siyon. They made my stay here in the hotel very comfortable, and stress free, as i prepared for my future deployment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Element Arundel Mills, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Andre S,
We are delighted to hear that your 6 week stay at Element Arundel Mills was a pleasant one and that we were able to be your home away from home. Our team is dedicated to quality customer service and we will be sure to pass along your comment to Treon and Siyon. We wish you all the best on your future deployment and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Clean, comfortable, roomy. Each room has a full kitchen if you're going to be there awhile. Good restaurants in the area. Every employee I encountered was friendly and helpful! Free shuttle service to all commercial venues in the area, and a shuttle service to the airport or train station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Element Arundel Mills, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear ProfesorE,
We are very delighted to hear that your recent stay at Element was a pleasant one. We're glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms, location and local shuttle service. We hope to see you on your next trip to Hanover. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I recently stayed in a 1 bedroom suite this past weekend for my birthday. Check in was painless, I guess they made me sign a "no party" contract since it was a weekend. OMG, the room was nice. Very modern and eco friendly. I love the details like bamboo flooring and rain shower. Speaking of the shower, it was WONDERFUL. The bed was comfortable, i cannot complain. I was on the third floor and was facing a water tower. Its really nothing to complain about, just noting it. I really want to go back for the pool. I did not get a chance to try it out. There were a lot of children but that is expected since it is by a lot child friendly venues. A shuttle ran ALL night from the hotel to the casino, which was nice since my friends and I were drinking. The breakfast was just ok. Pancakes seemed like they were the frozen kind and eggs were the restaurant quick serve eggs. eh. Overall, I recommend this hotel and I cannot wait to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Element Arundel Mills, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Kamilah K,
We really appreciate your review - thanks for sharing. We're glad you enjoyed our one bedroom suite and took advantage of our local shuttle service. We hope you'll come back to experience our pool on your next trip to Hanover. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I normally stay at the Aloft which is right next door but wanted to try something different. I will say the rooms are very spacious and equipped with a small kitchen that you don't get in all hotel rooms, but it was very refreshing that The Element provided those amenities. The bathroom was a great size as well. All in all, the layout of the room was great, I loved it!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny M, AGM at Element Arundel Mills, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Greetings from the Element by Westin at Arundel Mills!
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our suites! We hope to serve you again soon should your travels bring you back to the Arundel Mills area. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Liked the hotel, but the next day I saw two charges to my debit card... One for the normal 50 dollars hold and another for 152 dollars (my original booking was handled through Expedia and paid in full prior to check in). When I called to inquire, the young man who answered the phone had terrible trouble figuring out when I had even stayed there, although I had checked out less than 24 hours before. When he did figure it out, he could not explain the reason for the charge, said it was an error, and told me I would be refunded in a week or so. He said he didn't think I would be paid interest on the 200 dollar loan I was making to the hotel FROM MY CHECKING ACCOUNT. Nice place to stay, but dubious accounting practices. Traveler beware!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny M, AGM at Element Arundel Mills, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Greetings from the Element by Westin at Arundel Mills.
Thank you for your review. I am concerned to hear about these charges. I would love to be able to get more information. Please reach out to our hotel and we will be happy to address your concerns. Thank you for choosing the Element Arundel Mills. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Element Arundel Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element Arundel Mills

Address: 7522 Teague Road, Hanover, MD 21076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Element Arundel Mills 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element is Starwood's premiere extended stay hotel brand. Element Arundel Mills is located next to Arundel Mills Mall, minutes from BWI Airport & just a short drive into Baltimore and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Element Arundel Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element By Westin Arundel Mills Hotel Hanover
Element Hotel Arundel Mills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Element Arundel Mills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.