We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reunion visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Element Arundel Mills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Element Arundel Mills to your Saves list
Element Arundel Mills
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7522 Teague Road, Hanover, MD 21076   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Hanover
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Reunion visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Nice, modern suite hotel. The rooms are spacious and light with full kitchens and spa style showers. The rooms can easily accomodate 4 but there was just the two of us. The bed was very comfortable and the room quiet so had a great sleep! The breakfast was the standard eggs, sausage, pancake and a mix of cold foods. I would easily recommend this hotel to anyone...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny M, AGM at Element Arundel Mills, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Greetings from the Element by Westin at Arundel Mills!

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your sleep on our "Heavenly Beds." We hope that if you attend another reunion that we can take care of you again!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    59
    14
    21
    24
See reviews for
55
48
21
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This property shares a building with the Aloft W Hotel but, they have separate reception and common areas and from what I could see separate gyms. The hotel is close to BWI Airport and a relatively short and quick drive in Baltimore (non rush hour traffic).
The staff at reception was pleasant and efficient- Now the not so good:
I had a one bedroom suite on the 5th floor. The elevator was the first negative- it was dirty and just seemed unwelcoming. On entering the room it looked nice but something seemed off- first I could tell that the only cleaning the room had received had been a superficial wipe down- I don't think they have done a deep clean since the place opened. I was scared to touch anything- nothing looked clean. There was funny odor in the bedroom that I can only imagine was a result of a water leak or a dog "accident"- In any case again the carpet just didn't look or feel clean. The couch in the living room same story dirty looking. Even the glasses and cups in the kitchen are seemed clean but on closer inspection one could clearly see finger prints all over them. Walls were scuffed- furniture also looked like it had seen better days. Overall very disappointed. Also was woken up at 10pm with people talking outside (no sound insulation whatsoever). I was also "behind" the exterior decorative lights that didn't go off until 10 pm so I had light shinning in even though I was try to get to bed early. I also noticed scotch tape on the drapes so I wasn't the first to have an issue with the outside light. Overall very bad experience- I won't be returning and suggest you avoid the place- You can see from my profile that I stay at a lot of hotels around the world and not often do I give such negative marks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny M, AGM at Element Arundel Mills, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Greetings from the Element by Westin at Arundel Mills!

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We noticed from your score and feedback given to us that we did not meet your expectation nor ours. Like any hotel, we strive to make each and every visit a great experience. I hope that you had the chance to share these situations with our staff to give us the opportunity to correct them before your departure. It is always our goal to review all of the issues, addressed every concern, and come up with resolutions that are appreciative and acceptable. I apologize if we fell short in that department. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the Arundel Mills area, that you will visit us again and gives us the opportunity to WOW you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great hotel, when I arrived there was a line to check-in; No big deal 7pm it's shift change & there's a wedding party checking in. I had a studio king and I can say I absolutely loved the room; comfy bed, large couch, huge bathroom, full kitchen. Hotel is easy to find, across the street is a bank & 24hr grocery store. Mall and casino are close by as well. My biggest point of amazement was the noise level, hotel common areas were so noisy with the hotel being full but the moment I closed my door 0 noise. Hotel staff were helpful but, not obtrusive. Will stay here again on my next BWI layover.

Room Tip: Studio rooms have more space & are only $10 more
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny M, AGM at Element Arundel Mills, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Greetings from the Element by Westin at Arundel Mills! Thank you very much for your recent review here on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay! We take pride in our hotel, your home away from home, and we always hope to provide our guests with a wonderful experience. We hope that if your travels bring you to the BWI area once more that we can serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryans Road, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Decided the stay at the Westin recently, because of it's proximity to the local Casino and the Mall. Check in was friendly and fast, room seemed to be clean. I had a studio king, non smoking. No ice machines to be found, front desk advised that I take a bag of ice from the amenities area located near the front desk. Hotel was quiet, bed slept well. Parking was limited during this visit, but available within a moderate walking distance. Breakfast was included in the reservation, it wasn't bad. Good coffee, included all of the basics. Check out was also fast and friendly, overall, a decent stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny M, AGM at Element Arundel Mills, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Greetings from the Element by Westin Arundel Mills!
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will visit us again soon! Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I've stayed at a number of Aloft and Element hotels within the Starwood chain including both of the hotels in the Arundel Mill location when it first opened without any problems. As a platinum member, my expectations of a relatively new hotel/chain would be for a clean room (basically, the standard Element room usually found at each location) with good service. Usually, I stay at this location because there is a nice mall across the ways and its close to the Baltimore area which my family and friends frequent each year. For this trip, my family and my friend's family decided to just make this a pit stop just to rest as we drove from NY on our way to the Great Wolf Lodge in Va. After a long drive of 6+ hrs for both of us we arrived late hoping to rest up for the next mornings drive(rooms 303 and 215 on August 25th, 2012).
Everything was fine, until my friend's wife took out the pull out sofa of the 1 BR suite and saw that there were food particles everywhere, a very visible pee stain, and odor to go along with it. While this was a breakdown in housekeeping protocol, one would think that the problem would be solved readily by a proactive or capable hotel staff. While the staff was relatively friendly, they were not really helpful or able to solve the problem. When I went to the front desk, they mentioned that there were not any other of the same type of rooms available to move into (i.e. there were 2 available, but they were already reserved with guests just not checked-in). We then asked if they could just swap the mattresses from sofabed in another room, but supposedly the security guard had a bad back and was relatively frail, and they were short staffed so that there was no one that could do this. We offered of course, but my friend/attorney did not need to let me know that this wouldn't be allowed due to liability issues regardless of how simple the process might be.
After wasting much time, the kids had fallen asleep and since it was past midnight we didn't want to move them into another room. I made a quick call to corporate which ended up being a long call to corporate where I was placed on hold for 40 mins as they got someone who may have been an AGM from the aloft to come by. We were then told that floors 4-7 were being reconditioned which was the reason for lack of available rooms to swap when the problem was first brought up. We were also told that this relatively fit and strong hotel employee that most of the mattresses were locked to the sofa frame due to the hotels security procedure to prevent people from stealing them (strange and not quite believable as I've never seen it, and the mattress in my friends room was definitely not attached), and that it would take 1.5-2 hours to find a mattress that was "not locked" on one of those floors (again, not really believed..perhaps it was just laziness?). In the end, after standing in the lobby from midnight to 2am while trying to get a clean bed to sleep in, my friend was given a mattress pad and bed sheet to place over the pee stain.
Both corporate and the AGM?(wearing a baseball cap, jeans, etc.) promised some starpoints for both of us due to the problems encountered and the length of time to find a resolution that still wasn't really acceptable. Prior to leaving the hotel, I sent a quick email to the GM (pahmed@ltdhospitality.com) given to me by the front desk at checkout for follow up, but have yet to receive a response. Having just completed my trip, I have confirmed that neither of our accounts have been credited with any of the points promised. There were some other minor issues which didn't matter much in regards to the condition of the room itself but it appears that perhaps we were just unlucky to have gotten a dirty room and bed, while there was no staff willing or able to help solve the problem. Perhaps, the reviews of this area being not so safe or family friendly has lead to the hotel itself falling into disrepair as well.
Luckily we left early the next morning and had no problems during the rest of our trip.

Room Tip: I wish I had read some recent reviews as I assumed the hotel room would be clean based upon previous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny M, AGM at Element Arundel Mills, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to share your recent experience at the Element Arundel Mills. We were in communications with one of your colleagues that was with you on this given night. We reviewed all of the issues, addressed every concern, and came up with resolutions that was appreciative and acceptable. I am sure your colleague has updated you by now. Please accept my apologies if you were not kept in the loop at the time of our communications with your colleague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

In the US, you always seem to get what you pay for. The pics look good in this new hotel but with the low price attracts a dubious clientele. When we arrived late at night there was a cruising traffic jam in the car park full of dubious characters leaning out of windows in furtive discussions blocking the flow. In the lobby are ladies who sit and wait. Have I entered a bizarre suburban bordello? In the carpark are girls in very short dresses doing thing inside trucks ... very suspect place. The suite room was spartan fit for a bogan. Noisy aircon and not very comfortable.
You get what you pay for

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny M, AGM at Element Arundel Mills, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Element by Westin at Arundel Mills. This situation is very disturbing indeed, and we will review more into this matter. Thank you for taking the time out and letting us know so that we may better tackle this problem. This is not something we take lightly, nor will we tolerate. Thank you again for your business and review. We hope that if your travels bring you out to the Arundel Mills area again that you choose the Element by Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Never before have I had hopes for a hotel and been SO disappointed. With the name of Westin, normally you can expect at least decent service. As we were here over a weekend, there was also a very LARGE family gathering down the hall and all over the hotel. This family was loud, rude, obnoxious and down right annoying. Well, Saturday night comes along, and while I don't mind noise, it got to be 12:30, 1:00 am!! After calling the desk THREE times to ask them to be quite in the court yard, and to stop the kids from running and screaming in the halls, I was DISMISSED saying "oh, it's just a party, there's nothing we can do." Finally I had to call Severn P.D. to find out the laws on noise. Turns out 11:00 pm begins "quiet hours." I didn't realize a hotel got to be above the law. When we talked to the front desk in the morning, they were just as dismissive and rude as the girl working the Saturday night shift. While the front desk was rude, we also were skipped over TWICE on room service (including toilet paper, which we ran out of!) Food for breakfast was cold and hard whilst advertised is a nice warm meal! Just completely 100% disappointing.

Room Tip: Go next door to another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny M, AGM at Element Arundel Mills, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Element by Westin in Arundel Mills. It is important for us to know that we did not put our best foot forward during your stay. All feedback is shared with the staff and is used to help build a stronger team. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the Arundel Mills area that you will choose the Element again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Element Arundel Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element Arundel Mills

Address: 7522 Teague Road, Hanover, MD 21076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Element Arundel Mills 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element is Starwood's premiere extended stay hotel brand. Element Arundel Mills is located next to Arundel Mills Mall, minutes from BWI Airport & just a short drive into Baltimore and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Element Arundel Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element By Westin Arundel Mills Hotel Hanover
Element Hotel Arundel Mills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Element Arundel Mills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.