We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long overdue compliment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Arundel Mills

Save Saved
You added Aloft Arundel Mills to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft Arundel Mills
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7520 Teague Road, Hanover, MD 21076   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #11 of 13 hotels in Hanover
maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Long overdue compliment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed at Aloft near Arundel Mills Mall a couple of years ago while we were having work done on our house. Not only is it convenient to the mall and many restaurants, but it was convenient for us to get kids to school and us to work while we had to be out of our house. Very modern decor. Clean, neat. There was a problem with the seal on the window while we were there and we had to change rooms as a result of a leak during a very heavy rain storm. The corner rooms are especially nice because they are a bit bigger. I would probably recommend this more for business travelers during the week, as that tended to be the clientele there, but the weekend produced more families. There is large house party/greatroom atmosphere in the lobby. Lots of comfy couches and tables near a fireplace. Small bar, billiards table, computer area. Outdoor courtyard space, as well. Pool had very limited hours during the day. The kids were disappointed they didn't get to swim as much as they had hoped right after school. Good grab and go food. Everyone there was extremely friendly. I wish I could remember all names. One front desk member we encountered was terrible, but she was there only one time during our week-long stay. Everyone else went out of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. Vera took care of us like we were her own family. I believe it was Dave that came to my rescue when my car didn't start one morning. When my daughter left her charger behind in our original room, after we moved to a room without the leaking window, housekeeping went above and beyond to search for it and return it to her. Would definitely stay here again if we have to be out of our home, but still be close to home. Oh, although we did not need it, they had an airport shuttle also.

Room Tip: Rooms at corner of building are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    47
    56
    26
    23
See reviews for
46
64
31
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after making reservations the previous day; when we got there they did not have the room we reserved and they made accommodations with another hotel next door. This was after standing around for like 15 minutes; the person in the lobby also took my license and credit card, then left to go into a different room and left both items UNATTENDED,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Arundel Mills, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear colelc1975,
We apologize for the check in experience you had at our hotel. In situations when we are sold out, we relocate our guests to stay at our sister property next door. Please know that you can always contact me personally at pahmed@ltdhospitality.com in the future should your travel plans ever take you back to Hanover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Picked this hotel due to location to everything + closeness to downtown Baltimore. Aloft was across the street from Arundel Mills mall which contained the Maryland live casino and several chain restaurants and a Wal-Mart. Oh also a Safeway grocery store and a few banks were over there. The staff was excellent and I met the manager ..all staff were very personable and always greeted me when I arrived or went out for the day. The bathroom had a walk in shower with shampoo and soap dispensers in the shower. Decent sized flat screen tv, comfy bed, fridge and iron in the room. Hotel had a bar and pool table..when I arrived they were shooting a photo shoot in the lobby area. Pretty trendy hotel, younger guests and their sister hotel The Element was next door and there was also an outdoor patio in between the hotels. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

well, i was expecting the rooms to be terrible based on my first impression, front staff more interested in gossiping amongst themselves then customer service, blaring techno music and drunk people partying in the lobby. Suprisingly quiet rooms, comfy bed -- ok ish room, but each day snotty staff, it was scraingly consistent! Great location for what we needed, nice running area to get out, would likely hit one of the more reputable brands if back in the area again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Arundel Mills, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Kamala69,
Thank you for taking the time to comment about you recent stay at Aloft. Great customer service is very important to us and we sincerely apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. Please contact me at pahmed@ltdhospitality.com to discuss your experience further. We hope you'll give us another chance should your travel plans bring you back to Hanover. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hip hotel right by mall, grocer, and food! Staff was great to work with especially Tony. It was just my daughter and I so the room was great and my daughter loved how "fashionable" it was. They do have a shuttle which was wonderful! Will stay at an Aloft hotel again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Arundel Mills, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Ashley A,
We really appreciate your comments, thanks for sharing! We're delighted that you and your daughter enjoyed your experience at Aloft - even noting our "fashionable" decor. We'll be sure to share your comments with Tony! We hope you'll come back to see us when you're next in Hanover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Want to see a hotel that has everything going for it, except the apathetic staff? Welcome to Aurndel mills.

Call the front desk staff -- no power to make decisions, no phone numbers for managers, no clue how to call the corporate office and they run the entire hotel with no management until 2PM. Leave a message for a manager. Who cares? they won't call.

Stay at the element next door -- far better experience.

I will NEVER stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Walls are paper thin -- request a location at the end of the halls
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Arundel Mills, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear a11424,
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel. Great customer service is very important to us and we would like to make this experience up to you. Please contact me at pahmed@ltdhospitality.com to discuss your stay further. We sincerely hope the rest of your visit in Hanover was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great hotel and part of the Starwood family! However, if there are available rooms next door at Element, stay there. This holds particularly true if you are traveling with others in your party.

Everything about Aloft is wonderful (rooms, beds, service, lobby amenities) except one: The bathroom is separated by a sliding wood "pocket" door from the bedroom area. The door does not lock, nor does it seal at the top, bottom and sides like a typical bathroom door would. This can lead to some *ahem* interesting situations, unless you are by yourself in the room.

I have stayed at different Alofts by myself, with my father-in-law and with my wife. I would only stay at one again if it was (a) the only option available or (b) I was traveling alone. Again, they are GREAT hotels for traveling alone!

Also, this location, much like Element next door has a complimentary shuttle to Arundel Mills Mall and Maryland Live! Casino.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with others, stay next door at Element. If you are traveling alone, this is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloft Arundel Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Arundel Mills

Address: 7520 Teague Road, Hanover, MD 21076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Arundel Mills 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Aloft Arundel Mills Hotel, located just minutes outside Baltimore and the BWI Airport, is near fantastic shopping at the Arundel Mills Mall, great restaurants and lots of family-friendly fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Aloft Arundel Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Arundel Mills Hotel Hanover
Aloft Hotel Arundel Mills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Arundel Mills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.