We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocktail Party Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Arundel Mills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Arundel Mills to your Saves list
Aloft Arundel Mills
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7520 Teague Road, Hanover, MD 21076   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 Breakfast Credit
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Laurel, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cocktail Party Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I decided to have a surprise 35th birthday party for my husband. I wanted a place that was chic, yet consistent with my black and white cocktail attire theme. I attended an event at Aloft which led me to contact them in regards to hosting. I was so VERY pleased with their professionalism, attentiveness and support. The venue mirrors an upscale lounge and they have a semi-private area for guests. Sesley and Elizabeth are AMAZING and made my event planning stress free. They corresponded with me constantly to ensure I was in the loop. All of my guests were beyond pleased and they ranged in age from 30 to 65. We stayed there too and the rooms are modern and cozy. I highly recommend this venue for a cocktail party or upscale event. You will not be disappointed. I can't say enough...Thank You Aloft!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    69
    73
    31
    28
See reviews for
68
95
46
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

After only my third day as I was trying to fall asleep on the hard and lumpy bed I felt something fall on to me. Lo and behold there were several, what I found out later, stink bugs all atop my pillows, headboard and desk. I immediately contacted the front desk to ask for a room change. When I told the desk what had happened I didn't get an apology or an ounce of care or concern. The woman only said, I only have a room on the 1st floor. What do I care what floor it's on as long as it didn't have bugs in it. Almost immediately a maintenance man (who was by far the best staff member that hotel has) came to my room, I didn't have a moment to even put clothes on, and I was rushed into packing all my stuff which I was not prepared to do. I was in the area for 2 weeks so I had a lot of things including food in the tiny, inadequate fridge. I was so rushed and that was unacceptable. Not to mention that the room were poorly cleaned. I was then barely helped with all of my stuff to the new room. I couldn't sleep at all as it was by then after 11 and I had to be up at 6am, but all I kept doing was waking up and checking if there were bugs around. I looked up the stink bug online and found that they hibernate when it's cold, so I'm assuming that they had been there for quite sometime and the use of the heater awoke them so I avoided putting the heat on the new room for fear there were more and it was very cold out -in the 20s! This room was also poorly cleaned and the lotion that they give you had clearly been used and was almost empty, I don't want to use lotion that someone else has used! The main light in the room also didn't work and the fridge made an awful noise day and night. The staff at the front desk were hit or miss, some were pleasant enough but mostly just obviously uncaring. I heard inappropriate conversations for the work place, watched the staff text and talk on the phone with people who most likely were their friends while guests waited to be served. I watched them eat their take-out Chinese food in front of guests. The kitchen area was really dirty and I would never eat the food they serve because of how dirty the area was. Overall, I would not reccomend this hotel and will never stay here again. I thought this would be a nice hotel because if its association with Starwood, but this is so far from the Starwood model and class of hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My stay there was fantastic. The manager Harry Hawkins was very professional and helpful. The staff was polite and the hotel itself is wonderful. I would totally recommend this hotel. The ambiance is mellow and the layout is so sexy. I recommend visiting the Aloft at the National Harbor as well.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_aloft, Manager at Aloft Arundel Mills, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Aloft Arundel Mills. First I want to Thank you on behalf of the entire Management team for coming to stay with us . I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and even more honored that I was able to be one of the ones who made it a great one !

Please if your in the area come and see us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed at this location Valentine's weekend 2013, and I was very impressed with the attentiveness of the staff. Everyone was nice and very accommodating. We are SPG members and we stay at Starwood hotels from the full service, pricey hotels to the more reasonably-priced aloft. From a service perspective, we could not tell the difference from the high-priced properties. We would definitely stay here again. Great lobby activities (pool table). Another reviewer commented on Christian, the great bartender. I agree! Awesome Black Russian.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_aloft, Manager at Aloft Arundel Mills, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Aloft Arundel Mills. It is our goal to ensure that every guest receives excellence with caring from the moment they walk in the door until the time they leave
Your feedback is very valuable to us because it allows us to find out how we can continue to serve you best. We would be honored if you stayed with us again so we can continue to show you how much we truly believe in delivering excellent service with a caring heart and a personal Touch!

Yours In service !
Harry H Hawkins III
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The entire staff was extremely helpful and friendly... Made you feel at home the whole time... They offered the free shuttle to the mall if you didn't feel like driving and made sure that the guests were very comfortable.... Even the staff I met on the elevator asked me if everything was okay and if there was anything they could help with... Very Very nice..... will recommend anytime...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_aloft, Manager at Aloft Arundel Mills, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Aloft Arundel Mills. First I want to thank you on behalf of the entire Management team for allowing us to host you as your home away from home. It is our goal to ensure that every guest receives excellence with caring from the moment they walk in the door until the time they leave. I am so honored that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that when your in the area again we will be your first choice !

Yours in Service ,
Harry H. Hawkins III
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I'm a Starwood rewards member and was excited to stay here because the website makes it look really fun and nice. I was soooo wrong and will never stay here again!

IF YOU LIKE YOUR HOTEL TO FEEL LIKE A CLUB/BAR THEN THIS MAY BE FOR YOU

However,
The atmosphere was not what I was expecting! Upon walking in there was a large group playing pool,they were very loud and using profane language. The music was so loud I had to scream at the front desk person all of my info for my reservation. As the large group left the pool table they helped themselves to soda's and did not pay. This is not the kind of first impression you should have.
The room was ok but the large mirror above the sink was held together with duct tape, very unnerving to stand there knowing it could fall at anytime. The room overall was clean, but there were hairs in my bed, I had to get extra sheets from the front desk. The grout in the bathroom was disgusting, looked like it had never been cleaned. The walk in shower grout was just as gross and I had to wear my flipflops in the shower. The bed is hard as a rock and I could not lay in one position very long without hurting. Dont get a room by an elevator you can hear it running all night. Also a few extra pillows and towel couldn't hurt. If you are staying here for more than 1 night there isnt a dresser or closet to hang your clothes. I went downstairs for coffee in the morning, which I was told the night before was always ready for guests. The front desk guy yelled to someone in the back told me there wasn't anymore and I would have to walk to the hotel next door. Luckily one of the ladies that worked there was in the lobby and overheard and went and got it for me.
The next day i took my business over the the Marriott and had a much better and relaxing stay.
I will never stay at this hotel agian, even though I have points I need to use. Very disapointing

Room Tip: Dont get a room by the elevators, you can hear them run all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_aloft, Manager at Aloft Arundel Mills, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Aloft Arundel Mills. First I want to apologize on behalf of the entire Management team for the poor service you received. It is our goal to ensure that every guest receives excellence with caring from the moment they walk in the door until the time they leave and for not receiving such service we apologize.

Your feedback is very valuable because it allows us to find out where we are lacking in our responsibilities to you, our valued guests.

I do hope that you do not allow this incident by our hotel to serve as the
ultimate reflection on us. We do not want to loose you as our customer and would be honored if you stayed with us again so we can restore your faith that we truly believe in delivering excellent service with a caring heart and a personal
touch!

Yours In service ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Element and Aloft locations @ Arundel Mills are exactly what you are looking for in a hotel. They have great quality service, they have two excersize gyms, an indoor pool, wifi, computers with internet access, a bar & lounge area, great food menu, great drinks prepared by your bartendars,(If you get a chance, Go see Christian! He's a great guy and has experience to back it up!) The shuttle bus is 24hrs that will not only take you, but come back to pick you up anywhere within a 5 miles and the shuttle bus is free. Overall, great hotel for an affordable price!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_aloft, Manager at Aloft Arundel Mills, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Aloft Arundel Mills. It is our goal to ensure that every guest receives excellence with caring from the moment they walk in the door until the time they leave
Your feedback is very valuable to us because it allows us to find out how we can continue to serve you best.
I do hope that you do not allow this incident by our hotel to serve as the
ultimate reflection on us. We would be honored if you stayed with us again so we can continue to show you how much we truly believe in delivering excellent service with a caring heart and a personal
Touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aloft Arundel Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Arundel Mills

Address: 7520 Teague Road, Hanover, MD 21076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Arundel Mills 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Aloft Arundel Mills Hotel, located just minutes outside Baltimore and the BWI Airport, is near fantastic shopping at the Arundel Mills Mall, great restaurants and lots of family-friendly fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Aloft Arundel Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Arundel Mills Hotel Hanover
Aloft Hotel Arundel Mills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Arundel Mills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.